About SciFinder Scholar

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Need to use SciFinder Scholar? See the SciFinder Scholar page.

Problems installing or connecting to SciFinder Scholar? Contact: Bob Buchanan, Physical Sciences Librarian, 844-1292, buchara@auburn.edu


Contents

[edit] Search Tips

CAS provides online examples of sample searches and search strategies. Also, take a look at the New Features in SciFinder Scholar 2007 listed below and at New Features from previous versions (2006 and 2004) for more examples of how to use SciFinder Scholar.
SciFinder Scholar Support Information
SciFinder e-Seminars
How to Guides
SciFinder Strategies


[edit] What is SciFinder Scholar?

It is ... an online version of Chemical Abstracts.
the major resouce to find chemical references and information.
a references and abstracts database (CAPLUS)
a structure database (REGISTRY)
a reaction database (CASREACT)


It is six chemistry-related databases rolled into one search engine.

  1. References & Abstracts (CAPLUS) Online version of Chemical Abstracts which indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and patents (1907 to present)
  2. Structures (REGISTRY) Search by chemical structure, chemical name, and CAS Registry Number (1966 to present)
  3. Reactions (CASREACT) Reaction searching "1907" to present
  4. MEDLINE National Library of Medicine database (1958 to present)
  5. Commercial availablity (CHEMCATS) Commercial sources: 600 suppliers & 700 catalogs
  6. Regulatory Information (CHEMLIST) Regulated chemical listings for the U.S. and other countries


Reaction searching "1907" to present

For reaction searching, SciFinder Scholar searches the CASREACT database which is consists of three reaction databases whose coverage is summarized below. Please note that of over 7 million reactions, only about 350,000 reactions pre-date 1985. To do a more complete reaction search, it is recommended that you also search Beilstein or Gmelin.


SciFinder Scholar Reaction Database Coverage

Reactions from Chemical Abstracts
~7 million reactions
Journals = 1985 to present
Patents = 1991 to present
Reactions from VINITI / ZIC
~300,000 reactions
Journals = 1974 to 1991
Patents = 1982 to 1991
Reactions from INPI
~ 50,000 reactions
selected reactions: 1907 to 1985
  • VINITI = All-Union Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of the Academy of Science of the former USSR
  • ZIC = Zentrale Informationsverarbeitung Chemie
  • INPI = Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle


[edit] New Features in SciFinder Scholar 2007

Combine answers sets

This is a big improvement that allows you generate more complete searches. Often small changes in a SciFinder Scholar search produces slightly different results. With the combine feature, you can combine the results of such searches to produce a more complete search.
The combine feature allows you to combine a previously saved answer set with a currently active answer set. Both answer sets must be of the same type: reference, substance, or reaction.
  1. Run a search and select the results you want to save.
  2. Save the results.
  3. Run another search and select the results you want to combine with a saved search.
  4. Click on the Combine icon.
  5. Browse to find your previously saved search. Click Open.
  6. The combine options are shown. You can do Boolean OR, AND, or NOT operations. The "estimate" icon gives you an approximate idea of the results.

Save answer sets for combined searches later

Saving searches is nothing new, but the ability to use a saved search as a starting point for a new search (i.e., planning to combine the saved search with a new search) is a powerful option to create a more complete and up-to-date set of results.

Categorize results

From a keyword search, click on the Analyze/Refine button. In addition to analyze and refine, there is now a "categorize" option. Categorize allows you to sort and evaluate the results of a search.

Print structures in a grid layout

Print substances in a grid of 1 to 4 columns. This can consolidate the results of your search in a more compact way.

Explore from substance displays

From a substances search result page, click on a substance to launch a Chemical Stucture substance search based on that substance.

Export commercial chemicals records into Microsoft Excel

Create reports listing commercial sources, including contact information and pricing, for substances of interest. Catalog information is exported into Excel for sorting, manipulation, and reference.


[edit] New Features in SciFinder Scholar 2006

New structure and reaction search tools

Repeating Group (i.e. simultaneously search 5 and 6 membered rings)
Variable Attachment makes it easier to search for variable attachments.

Structure Similarity Searching

Similarity searching is complementary to the other structure searches because it returns many answers that are neither exact nor substructure answers. Uses the Tanimoto algorithm to compare all substances in the database with your query structure, and then determines which are the most similar.

Easier to interpret Reaction Searches

Highlights the structure which is responsible for the reaction's retrieval.

Easier to look up references

Search for a specific reference based on journal title, author, title words, etc.

Better access to additional reaction information

Reaction answers can more easily allow you to access retro-synthetic information, commercial availability, regulatory information, and references for each compound.

Duplicate detection & removal

Remove duplicate references from CAplus and Medline reference answer set. However, de-dupping works imperfectly. If you do not want any references from Medline, it is better to uncheck the box for the Medline database in your Preferences.


[edit] New Features in SciFinder Scholar 2004

Substructure searches

Pre-search Example
Limit to
  • Alloys
  • Coordination Compounds
  • Incompletely Defined Substances
  • Mixtures
  • Polymers
  • Organics & Others Not Listed.
Post-search Example
Refine by
  • Chemical Structure
  • Commercial Availability
  • Isotope Containing
  • Metal Containing
  • Property Availablity
  • Property Data
  • Reference Availability

Reaction Searches

Pre-search
Limit to
  • Number of Steps
  • Reaction Classification
  • Patents
  • Publication Year
  • Language
Post-search Example
Analyze by
  • Catalyst
  • Solvent
  • Number of Steps in Reaction
  • Product Yield
  • Author, Company / Organization
  • Journal Name
  • Language
  • Publication Year

Substance Searches

Post-search Example
Get Reactions with the following roles
  • Product
  • Reactant
  • Reagent
  • Reactant or Reagent
  • Catalyst
  • Solvent
  • Any Role


Created by Bob Buchanan © 2007
Librarian for Veterinary Medicince and Chemistry
Auburn University Libraries