Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
RBD Library 2nd Floor


[edit] Reference Tools

Handbooks and General Reference Resources

Agricultural Statistics


Census of Agriculture


CRB Commodity Yearbook

Ref. HF 1041 C 56


County and City Data Book

2nd floor Desk Ref. C 3.134/2:C 83/2/


Economic Survey of Europe
HC 240 A 1. U477


FAO Yearbook. Production.
HD 1421 F 585


FAO Yearbook. Trade.
HD 9000.4 F 58


Guide to Rural Data
HB 2385 S 26 1995


International Marketing Data and Statistics
HA 42 I 56


Sustainable Agriculture: Directory of Expertise: Profiles of more than 700 Organizations and Individuals who can help you meet your Farming Stewardship and Profitability Goals
Ref S 441 S 964 1996


USDA AMS Market News


World Food Marketing Directory
HD 9000.3 W 676 1999


World Tables
Ref HC 59.W669


[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
HB Economic Theory. Demography.
HD 1401 - HD 2210 Agricultural Economics.
HF 5716 Tables of Cost, Weights of Particular Commodities.
HG 2041 - HG 2051 Agricultural Credit.
HJ 4165 - HJ 4449 Land. Taxation Practice.
HN 978 - HN 989 Social Problems. Developing Countries.
HT 401 - HT 485 Rural Sociology.
KF 1681 - KF 1773 Agricultural and Forestry Law.
S 494.5.D3 Data Processing in Agriculture.
S 560 - S 570.3 Farm Economics. Farm Management.
T 57.6 - T 57.9 Operations Research. Systems Analysis.

Top of page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a database or electronic journal from home, use your Auburn University identification or call the Reference Desk at (334) 844-1737.

Subject Databases

ABI/INFORM
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing and transportation. Coverage is from 1971 forward and approximately 60% of the database is full text.
AGRICOLA
National Agricultural Library's database indexing agriculture journal articles, book chapters,agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1970-present.
Business and Industry Database
Covers public and private companies, industries, products, and markets. Approximately 60% of the database is full text.
CAB Abstracts
CAB is an International database covering literature in all fields of agriculture, forestry, animal sciences, nutrition and food science, etc. from 1910-present.
EconLit
Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books. dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains records from 1969-present.
Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Statistical Universe
Statistical Universe is used to find all statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through the American Statistics Index (ASI), private and state government sources from 1980 forward through the Statistical Reference Reference Index (SRI); and other titles from the Index to International Statistics (IIS).

General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Contains abstracts of papers from over 8,300 scholarly journals and features full electronic fulltext articles in PDF for over 4,500 journals back to 1975 and sometimes earlier. Academic Search Premiercontains papers from a variety of subject areas to include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, english language and literature, education, art, philosophy and religion, etc.
Academic OneFile
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 11,000 popular magazines and scholarly journals and features some full text articles for some back to 1980. This is a general interest database that covers current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities and some sciences.
Dissertations and Theses
Covering the years 1861 – Present, the Dissertations and Theses database contains over 2 million records of dissertations and theses from graduate schools worldwide. All records have abstracts. Some records from around 1997 to present allow previews of the first 24 pages. A small number of records have the full document available in PDF. The majority are available in paper or microfilm which can be requested from Inter-Library Loan.

Current Awareness Resources

Ingenta
Ingenta,a database of articles from over 18,000 journals, allows FAXing of articles not owned by Auburn University Libraries. This is a library-subsidized service that is available to Auburn faculty, staff, and graduate students who register.

Citation Database

Web of Science (Science Citation Index)SCI
Web of Science is an authoritative database of over 11,000 high impact journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. The database provides references and their citations going back to 1945 for the sciences, and to 1984 for the other areas.


Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

AgDB (Agricultural Databases)
(Searchable directory of databases, datasets, and information systems.)
Ag Econ Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
(Full-text reports of scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics.)
Agricultural Law Center
(The NCALRI provides current information concerning the complex legal issues that affect American agriculture today.)
Auburn Libraries Economics Links
(Links to economics sites.)
FAOSTAT Agricultural Statistics Database
(Information about harvests of foodstuffs by country or continent in a searchable database.)
Farm Service Agency
(FSA operates the USDA farm loan and conservation programs.)
Farmland Information Library
(Resources for preserving and protecting farmland from threats ranging from erosion to suburbia.)
Foreign Agricultural Service
(FAS provides information of interest to US Food Exporters.)
Sustainable Agriculture and Organic Gardening
TVA Rural Studies
(Focuses on rural economic growth ideas.)
USDA Economics and Statistics System
(A collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, containing 2500 reports and statistical data on agricultural topics)


Top of page


[edit] Research Guides

Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology: the Contemporary Core Literature
HD 1415 O 47 1991

Commodities Futures Trading: a Guide to Information Sources and Computerized Services
HG 6046 N 53 1985

Data Sources for Business and Market Analysis
HF 5415.124 F 7 1994

Marketing Information: a Professional Reference Guide
HF 5415.124 M 37 1995

Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

ARA
(ARA: Agricultural Retailers Association)
AAEA
(AAEA: American Agricultural Economics Association)
AEA
(AEA: American Economic Association)
IRSA
(IRSA: International Rural Sociology Association)
NAMA
(NAMA: National Agri-Marketing Association)

Top of page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

Marketing Mailing Lists
Rural Electronic Discussion Groups

Top of page


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Departmental and Faculty Web Pages
Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
Department of Economics
Alabama Cooperative Extension System
Agricultural Economics
Community & Economic Development

If you have any comments about this information page, please contact
Claudine Jenda

Top of page