Agriculture

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda

jendaca@auburn.edu

334-844-1658

RBD Library 2nd Floor


Contents

[edit] Reference Tools

Handbooks and General Reference Resources

Agricultural Statistics

Web Link
http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm
Census of Agriculture
Web Link: http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp[# #]
'CRB Commodity Yearbook
Reference HF 1041 C 56
County and City Data Book
2nd floor Desk Ref C 3.134/2:C 83/2/
Economic Survey of Europe
HC 240 A 1. U477
FAO Yearbook. Production.
HD 1421 F 585
FAO Yearbook. Trade.
HD 9000.4 F 58
Guide to Rural Data
HB 2385 S 26 1995
International Marketing Data and Statistics
HA 42 I 56
Sustainable Agriculture: Directory of Expertise: Profiles of more than 700 Organizations and Individuals who can help you meet your Farming Stewardship and Profitability Goals
Ref S 441 S 964 1996
USDA AMS Market News
Web Link: http://www.ams.usda.gov/marketnews.htm
World Food Marketing Directory
HD 9000.3 W 676 1999
World Tables
Ref HC 59.W669

Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
HB Economic Theory. Demography.
HD 1401 - HD 2210 Agricultural Economics.
HF 5716 Tables of Cost, Weights of Particular Commodities.
HG 2041 - HG 2051 Agricultural Credit.
HJ 4165 - HJ 4449 Land. Taxation Practice.
HN 978 - HN 989 Social Problems. Developing Countries.
HT 401 - HT 485 Rural Sociology.
KF 1681 - KF 1773 Agricultural and Forestry Law.
S 494.5.D3 Data Processing in Agriculture.
S 560 - S 570.3 Farm Economics. Farm Management.
T 57.6 - T 57.9 Operations Research. Systems Analysis.

Top of Page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

ABI/INFORM http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ABI
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing and transportation. Coverage is from 1971 forward and approximately 60% of the database is full text.
Agricola http://www.lib.auburn.edu/cgi-bin/db/ovidlink.cgi?pg=ip&db=agra
National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters,agriculture extension bulletins, etc. 1970-present.
Business and Industry Database http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BIDB
Covers public and private companies, industries, products, and markets. Approximately 60% of the database is full text.
CAB Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/cgi-bin/db/ovidlink.cgi?pg=ip&db=caba
CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973-present.
EconLit http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ECON
Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books. dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains records from 1969-present.
Sociological Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA
CSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. .
Statistical Universe http://www.lib.auburn.edu/STATUNIV
Statistical Universe is used to find all statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through the American Statistics Index (ASI), private and state government sources from 1980 forward through the Statistical Reference Reference Index (SRI); and other titles from the Index to International Statistics (IIS).

General Databases

Academic Search FULLTEXT Elite http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles from over 1,200 journals since1990.
InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are in full text. 1980 � Present
Dissertation Abstracts http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/
1861 � Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Current Awareness Resources

Ingenta (Formerly UnCover) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/UNCOVER
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows FAXing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Web of Science Citation Index (http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI)
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present. Available only on campus.
Top of Page

[edit] Web Sites

AgDB (Agricultural Databases) http://www.agnic.org/agdb/
(Searchable directory of databases, datasets, and information systems.)
Ag Econ Search
Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics http://agecon.lib.umn.edu
(Full-text reports of scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics.)
Agricultural Databases for Decision Support http://www.adds.org/CGI-BIN/om_isapi.dll?clientID=15988&softpage=defaultADDS
(The ADD is a list of links organized by subject to agricultural information.)
Agricultural Law Center [1]http://www.nationalaglawcenter.org/
(The NCALRI provides current information concerning the complex legal issues that affect American agriculture today.)
Auburn Libraries Economics Links http://www.lib.auburn.edu/socsci/docs/business/general_economics.htm
(Links to economics sites.)
FAOSTAT Agricultural Statistics Database http://apps.fao.org/lim500/Agri_db.pl
(Information about harvests of foodstuffs by country or continent in a searchable database.)
Farm Service Agency http://www.fsa.usda.gov/pas/default.asp
(FSA operates the USDA farm loan and conservation programs.)
Farmland Information Library http://www.farmlandinfo.org
(Resources for preserving and protecting farmland from threats ranging from erosion to suburbia.)Foreign Agricultural Service http://www.fas.usda.gov/
(FAS provides information of interest to US Food Exporters.)Sustainable Agriculture and Organic Gardeninghttp
//www.caff.org/programs/faq.shtml
TVA Rural Studies http://www.rural.org/
(Focuses on rural economic growth ideas.) USDA Economics and Statistics System http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/usda/usda.html

Top of Page


[edit] Research Guides

Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology: the Contemporary Core Literature
HD 1415 O 47 1991

Commodities Futures Trading: a Guide to Information Sources and Computerized Services
HG 6046 N 53 1985

Data Sources for Business and Market Analysis
HF 5415.124 F 7 1994

Marketing Information: a Professional Reference Guide
HF 5415.124 M 37 1995

Top of Page


[edit] Associations and Societies

ARA http://www.aradc.org/
(ARA: Agricultural Retailers Association)
AAEA http://www.aaea.org/
(AAEA: American Agricultural Economics Association)
AEA http://www.vanderbilt.edu/AEA/
(AEA: American Economic Association)
IRSA http://www.irsa-world.org/
(IRSA: International Rural Sociology Association)
NAMAhttp://www.nama.org/
(NAMA: National Agri-Marketing Association)

Top of Page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General
Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University
http://www.auburn.edu/helpdesk/internet/listserv.html
(Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists)
Subject-Specific
Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
http://www.n2h2.com/KOVACS/S0006.html
Other suggestions: news:clari.biz.industry.agriculture
news:clari.web.biz.market.commodities.agricultural
news:sci.econ.research

[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Departmental and Faculty Web Pages
Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
http://www.ag.auburn.edu/dept/aec/
Department of Economics
http://www.business.auburn.edu/departments/economics/
Alabama Cooperative Extension System
Agricultural Economics
http://www.aces.edu/pubs/docs/indexes/anraeco.tmpl
Community & Economic Development
http://www.aces.edu/pubs/HM/makemenu.php?mlevel=5

If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: jendaca@auburn.edu