Agronomy and Soils

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
RBD Library 2nd Floor



[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common Names, Scientific Names, Eponyms, Synonyms and Etymology Ref QK 13 Q 38 2000
Dictionary of Generic Names of Seed Plants Ref QK11 W 52 1995
Elsevier's Dictionary of Horticultural and Agricultural Plant Production:In Ten Languages, English, Dutch, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin Ref SB 45 E 42 1990
Elsevier's Dictionary of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering: In Five Languages, English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and German RefTA 710 A 15 .T 85 1989
Encyclopaedia of Seed Production of World Crops SB117 E 45 1998
Glossary of Crop Science Terms Ref SB 45 G 57 1992
Multilingual Dictionary of Agronomic Plants Ref SB45.5 M 85 1994
Plant Identification Terminology: an Illustrated Glossary RefQK 9 H 37 1994


Handbooks and General Reference

Agrochemicals Desk Reference Ref TD 196 A 34 .M 661997
Biological Control of Weeds: a World Catalogue of Agents and their TargetWeeds SB 611.5 B 55 1998
CRC Handbook of Alternative Cash Crops Ref SB 111D 85 1993
FAO Fertilizer Yearbook HD 9483 A 1 .F 65
Geochemical Reference Material Compositions: Rocks, Minerals, Sediments, Soils, Carbonates, Refractories and Ores used in Research and Industry RefQE 438 P 67 1992
Grower's Weed Identification Handbook Ref SB 611G 76 1990
Handbook of Soil Science S 591 H 23 2000
Nomenclatorial Compilation of Plant and Soil Nematodes RefQL 391 N 4 .T 83
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC Ref S 587 A73 2000
Pesticide Manual: a World Compendium: incorporating the Agrochemicals Handbook Ref SB 951 P 434 1994
Publications Handbook and Style Manual Desk Ref S494.5 A 96 .P83 1998
Rules for Testing Seeds Ref SB 114 A 1 .A75
Soil and Plant Analysis Laboratory Registry for the United States and Canada Ref S 593 S 7424 1999
World Economic Plants: a Standard Reference Ref SB107 W 59 1999
World List of Seed Sources = Liste Mondiale de Sorces de Semences =Lista Munial de Fuentes de Semillas Ref SB 113.4 F 661996


Subject Profile Call Numbers

QK Botany
S 583 - S 599.9 Soils, Soil Science
S 600 - S 600.7 Agricultural Meteorology, Crops and Climate
S 604.5 - S 604.64 Agricultural Conservation
S 622 - S 627 Soil Conservation
S 631 - S 667 Fertilizers and Improvement of the Soil
SB 119 - SB 123.75 Propagation
SB 818 - SB 945 Pest Control and Treatment of Diseases
SB 950.9 - SB 970.4 Pesticides
TP 963 Manufacture, Fertilizers


Top of Page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your username and password.

Subject Databases

AGRICOLA
National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1979 - Present
Public access at AGRICOLA
(For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)
CAB Abstracts
CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1910 - Present
Biological Abstracts
Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present
(For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)
Business and Industry Database
Covers public and private companies, industries products and markets. Approximately60% of the database is full text. 1994 - Present
Chemical Abstracts Scifinder Scholar
Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering from 1907 - Present.
Environmental Sciences
Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from 1967 to the present.
GeoRef
American Geological Institute 's database indexing technical literature on geology and geophysics. 1785 - Present.


General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and featuresfull text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articlesin over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present
Dissertation and Theses
1861 – Present. This database contains over 2 million records of dissertations and theses from over 700 universities worldwide. For dissertations and theses at Auburn, search also the Library Catalog and the Auburn University Dissertations and Theses database.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents
Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from currentissues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present
Reveal
An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicalsor results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Availableto AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.
Ingenta Uncover Plus
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.


Citation Database

Science Citation Index Web of Science
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited referencesfrom over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1945 - Present.


Top of Page


[edit] Journals

List of Current Print Agronomy and Soils Journals

E-journalsat AU Libraries

This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, notjust Agronomy and Soils.
Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check the library catalog. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the callnumber for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription. To search for articles, see the [#indexes Indexes and Databases]section of this guide


Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

AgHort 100 Plant Images
JPEG gallery of approximately 150 economically important plants
AgNIC (Agriculture Databases)
Guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities and other institutions
ARS Pesticide Properties Database
Compendium of chemical and physical properties of pesticides
Agriculture Virtual Library
Agriculture Links
Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
Arranged by area, world or continent and subdivided by region or country
Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service
CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.
EPA Office of Pesticides Programs
Includes links to safety programs
FAO Statistical Data
Contains information about harvests of foodstuffs by country or continent in a searchable database
FAO World Agricultural Information Centre
Three parts
"Documents" for full-text; "FAO Documentation Catalogue" for bibliographic information from the FAO library; "WAICENT" to search indexed web-pages on the FAO site.
Forage Information System
Global forage information resource, including a glossary of forage-related terms
Grain Genes
Genetic database for wheat, barley, rye, oat and sugarcane
Internet Directory for Botany
Searchable, browsable gateway for botanical information
National Resource Conservation Service
Formerly known as the Soil Conservation Service, the NRCS works to conserve natural resources on private lands
New Crop
Source for information on less common crops by the Center for New Crops and Plant Products at Purdue University
Plant Genonme Data and Information Center
Provides access to many aspects of plant and animal genome mapping
Transgenic Crops: An Introduction and Resource Guide
Information and links to resources on the technology and issues surrounding transgenic crops
Turfgrass Information Center
Comprehensive collection of publicly available turfgrass educational materials
USDA Current Research Information System
Reporting system for research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition,and forestry
Virginia Tech Weed Identification Guide
Identification of common weeds and weed seedlings found in Virginia and the southeastern U.S.
Web-agri.com
An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages


Top of Page


[edit] Research Guides

Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical SciencesRefQK 45.2 D 38 1996

Literature of Crop Science Ref SB 45.65 L 58 1995
Literature of Soil Science Ref S 590.45 L 581994


Top of Page


[edit] Associations and Societies

ASA/CSSA/SSSA
American Society of Agronomy/Crop Science Society of America/Soil Science Society of America
ASAE
American Society of Agricultural Engineers
SON
Society of Nematologists
SWCS
Soil and Water Conservation Society
SWSS
Southern Weed Science Society[#top Top of page]

[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Network for Biology


Top of page


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Department of Agronomy and Soils
Alabama Land Resource Information Center

Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Agronomy and Soils
ACES Publications


Top of Page


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
Claudine Jenda