Animal and Dairy Science

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda

jendaca@auburn.edu

334-844-1658

Reference Department


[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Cattle Breeds: An Encyclopedia Vet. Med. folio SF191.4 F 45 1995
Dictionary of Agriculture Ref S 411 D 573 1998
Dictionary of Dairy Terminology: in English, French, German, and SpanishRefSF 229 D 5 1996
Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science S 411 E 713 1994

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Animal Health Yearbook SF 600 F 2
Animal Science SF 61 E 5 1991
Animal Science and Industry SF 61 A 3 1998
Beef Cattle Science SF 207 E 5 1997
FAO Yearbook. Production HD 1421 F 585
Feed Additive Compendium Ref SF 97 F 43
Handbook of Milkfat Fractionation Technology & ApplicationsRefSF 275 M 56 .K 38 1995
Horses and Tack SF 285 E 55 1991
Modern Livestock and Poultry Production SF 61G 5 2002
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC Ref S 587A 73 2000
Science of Animal Husbandry SF 61 B 56 1990

Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
QL 700 - QL749 Zoology-Mammals
QL 750 - QL795 Animal Behavior
S Agriculture
SF Animal Culture
SF 95 - SF 100 Feeds and Feeding-Animal Nutrition
SF 191 - SF 275 Cattle
SF 207 Beef Cattle
SF 208 Dairy Cattle
SF 209 Draft Cattle
SF 215 Cattle Shows
SF 250 - SF 275 Dairy Processing
SF 277 - SF 359 Horses
SF 371 - SF 379 Sheep
SF 380 - SF 388 Goats
SF 391 - SF 401 Swine
SF 481 - SF 507 Poultry
SF 600 - SF 1100 Veterinary Medicine

Top of Page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotelyunless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you willneed to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

Agricola
National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, bookchapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1979 - Present
Public access
(For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)
CABAbstracts
CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present
(For researching animal science literature before 1973, consult
Animal Breeding Abstracts SF 1 A 63,
Dairy Science Abstracts SF 221 D 36,
Helminthological Abstracts QL 392 H 4
Nutrition Abstracts & Reviews RM 214 N 8)
BiologicalAbstracts
Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present
(For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)
Medline(from OVID)
Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research,clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present
Public access
OLDMEDLINE (1958-1965)
(For researching medical literature from 1941-1959, consult Current List of Medical Literature Z 6660 C 8 .)
Chemical Abstracts
Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information includingchemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Onlyavailable on campus.
(For researching chemical literature from 1907-1966, consult Chemical Abstracts
QD 1 A 51.)
Environmental Science
Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energyresources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967.
For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.
Zoological Record
This database covers animal behavior, biochemistry, genetics development,morphology, physiology, parasitology, immunology, and taxonomy. 1993 -Present.
(For researching zoological literature from 1864 to1993, consult Zoological Record
QL 1 Z 675.)


General Databases

Academic Search FULLTEXTElite
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and featuresfull text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
InfoTrac's Expanded AcademicASAP
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articlesin over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present
Dissertation Abstracts
1861 – Present. The most current two years are available off campus, butearlier years are only available on campus.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents
Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from currentissues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present
Reveal
An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicalsor results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Availableto AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.
Ingenta Uncover Plus
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Science Citation Index
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited referencesfrom over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1984 - Present.
(For researching citation literature from 1961-1983, consult Science Citation Index
Ref Q 1 S 3693.)

Top of Page


[edit] Journals

[a&d-jrnls.html Listof Current Print Animal & Dairy Science Journals]E-journalsat AU Libraries
This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, notjust Animal & Dairy Science.
Please note: If you don't see the journal that you needon the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the callnumber for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

Top of Page


[edit] Web Sites

AgNIC (Agriculture Databases)
Guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities and other institutions
AgNIC Swine Page
Iowa State University Library Swine Home Page
Agricultural Databases for Decision Support
The ADD is a list of links organized by subject for agricultural information
Agripedia
Centralized, general agricultural information including a Glossary and Subject Index
Animal Resources
Internet resources in veterinary medicine and zoology
Center for Animal Health Monitoring
USDA links to publications on the health of cattle, pigs, and livestock
Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service
CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.
FAO Statistics
Contains information about foodstuffs by country or continent in a searchabledatabase
Food Safety Research Information Office
Database of food safety research projects for the research community and the general public
Horse Breeds of the World
Created by the International Museum of the Horse, Kentucky Horse Park
Information Systems for Biotechnology
Provides information on agricultural and environmental biotechnology research,product development, regulatory issues, and biosafety
Livestock Library
Collection of links related to livestock
Comprehensive site for agriculture information
An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages
World Wide Web Virtual Library Agriculture
Nonprofit, ag-related organizations
World Wide Web Virtual Library: Genetics
Subject Catalogue covering genetics

Top of Page


[edit] Research Guides

General
Key Guide to Electronic Resources: AgricultureVet.Med. Ref S 494.5 A 39 .K 49 1995
Literature of Animal Science and Health Vet. Med. RefSF 22.5 L 58 1993
Reference Sources in Science, Engineering, Medicine, and AgricultureRefQ 158.5 M 278 1994

Top of Page


[edit] Associations and Societies

AASP (American Association of Swine Veterinarians)
ADSA (American Dairy Science Association)
AFIA (American Feed Industry Association)
AMSA (American Meat Science Association)
ASAS (American Society of Animal Science)
Biotechnology Associations
NCBA (National Cattlemen's Beef Association)
NPPC (National Pork Producers Council)

Top of Page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University
Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.
Subject SpecificKovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology

Top of Page


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Departmental and Faculty Web Pages
Department of Animal and Dairy Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
Alabama Cooperative Extension System Animal Science

Top of Page


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
Claudine Jenda