Architecture
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Contact Information
Boyd Childress, Librarian and Head
Phone: 334-844-1752
Website: AU Library of Architecture, Design and Construction
Dudley Hall
[edit] AU Buildings
Buildings of the Auburn University Campus : Includes images, history, and floor plans of the buildings listed.
[edit] Historic American Building Survey (HABS)
Surveys of the following states' historic buildings are available in the Microfiche Collection on the 1st floor of the Ralph Brown Draughon Library.
- Alabama
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Alabama microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England, Teaneck, N.J. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1981.
- Description: 128 microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm.
- Florida
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Florida microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 21 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- Georgia
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Georgia microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 32 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- Kentucky
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Kentucky microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 15 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- Louisianna
- Title: Historic American Buildings Survey, Louisiana microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 29 microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm.
- Mississippi
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Mississippi microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 17 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- North Carolina
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, North Carolina microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 22 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- South Carolina
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, South Carolina microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 39 microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm.
- Tennessee
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Tennessee microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 14 microfiches : ill. ; 10 x 15 cm.
- Virginia
- Title: Historic American buildings survey, Virginia microform.
- Publication Information: Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] : Chadwick-Healy ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1980.
- Description: 101 microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm.
The Microfiche Collection also contains a collection of measured drawings from the Historic American Buildings Survey.
Collection of Measured Drawings
Title: Collection of measured drawings [microform] / Historic American Buildings Survey.
Publication Information: [Washington, D.C.] : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1974.
Description: 67 microfilm reels : chiefly ill., plans ; 35 mm.
[edit] Images Scanning
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type in your Global ID.
[edit] Academic Search Premier
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
[edit] Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. 1930-present.
[edit] InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present
[edit] Ingenta
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries.
[edit] Dissertation Abstracts
1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.
[edit] WorldCat
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Useful for identifying sources not held by Auburn University Libraries. Requires library ID for off campus access.
[edit] Journals
Selected Architecture Journals at AU Libraries
These are selected titles to which the Auburn LADC is currently subscribing.
[edit] Reference Tools
- Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .H32 2000]
- A Dictionary of Architecture
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .C86 1999]
- Dictionary of Architectural and Building Technology
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .C63 1998]
- Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
- [LADC Auburn - Reserve: Reference Desk, NA 31 .B83 1998]
- The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
- [LADC Auburn - Reserve: Reference Desk, NA 31 .F55 1998]
- International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 40 .I48 1993]
- The Concise Dictionary of Architectural and Design History
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .J62 1992]
- A concise Dictionary of Interior Design
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NK 1704 .J6 1990]
- Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering , and Construction
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .E59 1988]
- Illustrated Dictionary of Historic Architecture
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, NA 31 .H56 1983]
- Profile: The Sourcebook of U.S. Architectural Design Firms
- [LADC Auburn - Reference Shelves, Oversize NA 53 .P7]
- Contemporary Architects
- [LADC Auburn - Desk Reference, folio NA 680 .C625 1994]
- Contemporary Designers
- [LADC Auburn - Desk Reference, NK 1166 .C66 1997]
- Architects' Handbook of Professional Practice
- [LADC Auburn - Desk Reference, NA 2570 .A62]
[edit] Special Topics Bibliographies
Architects-Biographical Sources
Borderland's Architecture
[edit] Videos
A comprehensive list of videos that can be found in the Library of Architecture, Design and Construction.
[edit] Web Sites
- Advanced Buildings: Technologies and Practices
- AIA Homepage
- Alabama APA Online
- Alabama Building Commision
- American Society of Landscape Architects
- Amico: Art Museum Image Consortium
- Amiens Cathedral Project
- Archibot.com
- Architec Cyberspace
- ArchitectJobs.com
- Architectural Digest
- Architectural History from Geocities.com
- Art Libraries Society of North America
- Auburn, Alabama Homepage
- Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens
- BBC Audio Interviews with Architects
- Board of Registration for Architecture, state of Alabama
- Canberra House: Modern Residential Architecture in the Australian Capital Territory
- Census Bureau Web Site
- A Collection of Searchable Links About Architecture
- Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts
- The Courbusier Site
- Cyburbia.org: Internet Resources for the Built Environment
- Dave Rumsey Map Collection: Cartography Associates
- DecorateToday.com
- DesignWithinReach.com
- A Digital Archive of American Architecture
- Digital Archive of the Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence
- e-Architect: For Architects and the Architectural Profession
- ESRI: GIS and Mapping Software
- Fed Stats
- Frank Lloyd Wright, Architect
- Frank Lloyd Wright: Designs for an American Landscape
- The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
- Frederick Law Olmstead National Historic Site: A Guide from the National Park Service
- Gallery of NPS Birds-Eye Views
- General Code Advantage
- The Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts
- GreatBuildings.com
- Home Builders Association of Alabama
- Historic USGS Maps of New England and NY
- Inside Arch: The Inside View into Firms and Professional Culture
- The International Archive of Women in Architecture
- Municode.com
- The National Association of Planning Councils
- The National Building Museum on the Web
- The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
- The Official Website of EDAW
- Panstadia International: Quarterly Report
- PATH: Partnership for Advancing Technology in Housing
- Renaissance and Baroque Architecture
- The RIBA Library Online: From the Royal Institute of British Architects
- Rutgers University Department of Landscape Architecture
- SBCCI Evaluation Reports
- Selected Internet Sources from the UCLA Arts Library
- Skyscraper Museum
- Structurae
- SULIS: Sustainable Urban Landscape Information Series
- Terraserver Home Page
- University of Nevada Las Vegas Libraries: Architecture and Building Resources
- University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections: Cities and Buildings Database
- Web Images from Boston University's Mugar Memorial Library
- World Wide Web Sources for Landscape Architecture
- The Wright Web Guide
For additional information or to comment about this page, please send email to childgb@auburn.edu.