Beilstein
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Why not just use SciFinder Scholar?
- Property data => Beilstein & Gmelin are designed to locate property data. Search for over 100 properties in Gmelin and over 50 properties in Beilstein.
- Compound preparation => Especially useful to find pre-1960 preparations.
- Substructure searching => Never again be forced to "lock out" rings or bonds.
- Pre-1960 reaction searching => Better coverage of earlier reactions
- Pre-1960 Patents => Better coverage of the early patent literature.
- Combine searches => Not possible in SciFinder Scholar 2006.
- Ligand search fields => Unique way to search inorganic compounds
[edit] Should you up-grade to Version 7?
- It is up to you, unless you have a mac. There is no Version 7 for macs.
- Version 6 and Version 7 offer nearly the same features. Version 7 has a more modern Web-like feel, but it is not that much easier to use. Both versions have a steeper learning curve than SciFinder Scholar. However, you can search the chemical literature with Gmelin & Beilstein in ways you cannot with SciFinder Scholar.
Version 7 Advantages
- Predefined search forms are easier to use. A couple of new predefined search forms have been added and the one for "Identity Data" has been split into the more intuitive "Substance Identification Data" and "Molecular Formula Search" forms.
- It is easier to combine searches with Boolean operators. The Query History tab at the top left is used to combine searches.
- A tab called "Results" replaces the extra window formerly called "Display Hits."
- More web-like feel and appearance.
[edit] What are Beilstein & Gmelin?
- The Beilstein database is the electronic analog of the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry and provides extensive property, reaction, spectral, pharmacological and ecological data for over 10 million organic compounds since 1771. Can be searched by structure, substructure, reactions, properties, and keyword. Unlike the print handbook, it is primarily in English.
- The Gmelin database is the most complete collection of structures, properties, and literature references for 2.5 million organometallic and inorganic compounds. Contains all structural, factual, and bibliographic data cited in the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry from 1648 to 1975. Since 1975, it includes citations, abstracts, and properties from over 65 major inorganic chemistry journals. Unlike the print handbook, it is primarily in English.
[edit] How do I access Beilstein & Gmelin from ...?
[edit] OIT Computer Labs
- From the Start Menu, select Programs, then choose MDL CrossFire Commander V7, and finally choose MDL CrossFire Commander V7 one more time.
- To begin a session, click on the red crossed-arrows symbol.
- To activate the structure drawing window, go to the Options pull-down menu. Select Structure Editors and choose MDL CrossFire Structure Editor.
- Gmelin is the default database. To search Beilstein, put a checkmark next to the Beilstein database in the upper left portion of the screen and remove the checkmark next to the Gmelin database.
[edit] The Library
- Same as OIT Computer Labs (see above).
[edit] On-campus
- You must first download and install MDL CrossFire Commander for either the Windows and Macintosh operating systems on to your computer.
- If you are using AU Wireless, see below.
[edit] AU Wireless
- In addition to installing MDL CrossFire Commander software for either the Windows and Macintosh operating systems on your computer, you must also install VPN software.
[edit] Off-campus
- In addition to installing MDL CrossFire Commander software for either the Windows and Macintosh operating systems on your computer, you must also install VPN software.
[edit] Download MDL CrossFireCommander
- Download and install MDL CrossFire Commander software onto your computer.
- When prompted for a User Name and Password ...
User Name = AU Username Password = OIT password Domain Name = auburn
- No Domain Name box? Then try either ...
User Name = AU Username@auburn.edu Password = OIT password OR User Name = auburn\AU Username Password = OIT password
- Note: Beilstein & Gmelin are available only to Auburn University students, faculty and staff. An Auburn University User ID and password are required to install MDL CrossFire Commander V6 or V7 software onto your computer. If you are Auburn faculty, staff, or a student, and do not have an Auburn University User ID name, contact the Technology Hotline at 844-4944. If you have forgotten your password, you will need to visit the OIT Help Desk to reset it.
- After installation, MDL CrossFire Commander will be accessible from the Start Menu under Programs. A short cut will also be placed on your desktop.
[edit] Problem downloading or installing?
- Technical support from MDL is an excellent resource with FAQ & links
- Or contact Bob Buchanan, Physical Sciences Librarian, 844-1292, buchara@auburn.edu
[edit] How to Search MDL CrossFire Commander
Versions 6 and 7
- Training Exercises UW at Madison
- CrossFire Training Exercises University of Manchester, UK
- CrossFire Beilstein Data Fields Reference Guide 286 pg PDF
Version 7
- Finding Properties & Spectra for Specific Compounds SUNY Buffalo
- Searching Beilstein CrossFire: A Brief Guide SUNY Buffalo
- MDL CrossFire Commander Version 7 Quick User Guide 62 pg PDF
- MDL CrossFire Commander FAQs
Version 6
- Beilstein & Gmelin User Guide University of Michigan
- Finding Properties & Spectra for Specific Compounds SUNY Buffalo
- CrossFire Commander Version 6 Quick Reference Guide 37 pg PDF
- Created by Bob Buchanan © 2007
- Librarian for Veterinary Medicince and Chemistry
- Auburn University Libraries