Biosystems Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
Reference Department


[edit] ReferenceTools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Elsevier's Dictionary of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering: In Five Languages, English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and German Ref TA 710 A 15 T 85 1989
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology : Fermentation, Biocatalysis,and Bioseparation TP 248.3 F 57 1999
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation Ref TD 145 E 53 1998
Environmental engineering dictionary and directory Ref TD 9 .P36 2001
Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science RefTD 9 W 74 2001
International Encyclopedia of Heat & Mass Transfer RefTJ 260 I 579 1997
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science & Engineering GE 10 M 38 1993
Water Encyclopedia Ref TD 351 V 36 1990
Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment RefTJ 163.235 W 55 1997
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology RefTP 368.2 E 62 2000

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Applications of Remote Sensing in Agriculture S494.5 R 4 .A 66 1990
ASME Steam Tables Ref TJ 270 A 4 1997
CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering S676 C 55 1999
CRC Handbook of Engineering in Agriculture S675 C 73 1988
Engineering Formulas Ref TA 151 G 4713 1990
Engineering Mathematics Handbook Ref TA 332T 85 1998
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals TA151 E 8 1990
Field Engineer's Manual Ref TA 151 P 35 1995
Fluid Power Handbook & Directory TJ 950 F 5 1994/5
Handbook of Energy Engineering Ref TJ 163.2T 49 1997
Handbook of Energy for World Agriculture S494.5 E 5 .S 77 1990
Handbook of Structural Engineering Ref TA 633H 36 1997
Industrial Electronics Handbook Ref TK 7881I 52 1997
Pneumatic Conveying Design Guide TJ 1015 M 52 1990
Sourcebook of Methods of Analysis for Biomass and Biomass ConversionProcesses TP 360 M 54 1990
Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations RefTA 332 S 73 1995
Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering Ref TD145 S 72 1999
Wood Engineering Handbook Ref TA 419 W 78 1990

Standards and Codes

Annual Book of ASTM Standards 2nd Floor Low Bookshelves Ref TA 401 A653
ASAE Standards Ref S 671 A 32 1999
ASHRAE Handbook, Fundamentals Desk Ref TH 7011 A 422
National Electrical Safety Code TK 152 A 53 1996
OECD Standard Codes for the Official Testing of Agricultural Tractors S 711 O 7 1988
S. A. E. Handbook Ref TL 151 S 62
Standards: A Resource and Guide for Identification, Selection, and Acquisition T 59 R 35 1990
Welding Codes, Standards and Specifications RefTS 227.2 M 69 1998

Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
G 70.2 Geographic Information Systems.
G 70.3 Remote Sensing.
G 109.5 Global Positioning System.
S 494.5 Special Aspects of Agriculture.
S 600 - S 604 Agricultural Meteorology.
S 604.5 - S 605.5 Agricultural Conservation.
S 606 - S 621.5 Special Classes of Land and Reclamation Methods, including Irrigation.
S 622 - S 627 Soil Conservation.
S 671 - S 760 Farm Machinery & Farm Engineering.
S 770 - S 790.3 Agricultural Structures.
SB 186 Field Crops. Harvesting, Drying, Storage.
SB 189.73 - SB 190 Grain. Cleaning, Drying, Grading, Storage.
SB 319.73 - SB 319.77 Horticultural Crops. Harvesting, Grading, Storage.
SD 388 - SD 390 Forestry Machinery & Engineering.
TC 801 - TC 957 Irrigation Engineering.
TC 970 - TC 978 Land Drainage.
TD 930 Agricultural Waste.
TH 4911 - TH 4975 Building Construction. Farm Buildings.
TJ 900 - TJ 935 Pumps and Pumping Engines.
TJ 1480 - TJ 1496 Agricultural Machinery.
TK 4018 Applications of Electric Power to Agriculture and the Farm.


Top of page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotelyunlessotherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you willneed totype your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two,zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A personwith the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

ASAE Technical Library

Full-text of American Society of Agricultural Engineers standards, conference proceedings, annual meeting papers 2001 - Present; full-text of journal articles 2000 - Present. (For researching agricultural engineering literature prior to coverage in the ASAE Technical Library refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print journals, standards, and conference proceedings (meeting papers are on microfiche) corresponding to titles covered in the ASAE Technical Library.)

EI Village 2

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conferenceproceedings. Documents are available for directordering. At this time, AU Libraries subsidizes all documents orderedby AU faculty, graduate students and staff. 1970 - Present. (For researching engineering literature from 1919-1967, consult Engineering Index Z 5851 E 62.)

GeoRef

American Geological Institute's database indexing technical literature on geology and geophysics. 1785-present.

Agricola

National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. 1979-present.

Public access

(For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)

CABAbstracts

CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973-present.

Environmental Sciences

Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energyresources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from 1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967.

For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.

INSPEC

Indexes journal, conference and report literature in physics, electronicsand electrical engineering, and computer science and information technology.1988 - Present

(For researching science literature from 1898-1988, consult Science Abstracts Q 1 S 3.)

Business and Industry Database

Covers public and private companies, industries, products and markets.Approximately 60% of the database is full text. 1994 - Present.


General Databases

Academic Search Premier Fulltext Elite

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and featuresfull text articles from over 1,200 journals since1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded AcademicASAP

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles inover 500 journals are in full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts

1861 – Present. The most current two years are available off campus, butearlier years are only available on campus.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from currentissues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Reveal

An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicalsor results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Availableto AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.

Ingenta Uncover Plus

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.


Citation Database

Science Citation Index

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited referencesfrom over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1984 - Present.

(For researching citation literature from 1961-1983, consult Science Citation Index Ref Q 1 S 3693.)


Top of page


[edit] Journals

Listof Current Print Biosystems Engineering Journals
E-journalsat AU Libraries

This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Biosystems Engineering.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you needon the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the callnumber for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

To search for ARTICLES, see the "Indexes and Databases" section ofthis guide.


Top of page


[edit] WebSites

AgDB Agricultural Databases

Searchable directory of databases, datasets, and information systems

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service

CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.

International Directory of Agricultural Engineering Institutions

Contact list of people and institutions around the world dealing in agriculturalengineering and sponsored by the FAO

National Agriculture Safety Database

Database to laws, regulations and standards governing worker protectionin agriculture

National Library for the Environment Online

Site contains daily environmental news, upcoming conferences, educationalresources and cogressional research reports

National Resource Conservation Service

Formerly known as the Soil Conservation Service, the NRCS works to conserve natural resources on private lands

Precision Farming Megalinks
(NESPAL homepage)Standards

Auburn Library Standards links

United States Patent and Trademark Office

Searchable database of U. S. patents from 1790. Requiresinstallation of TIFF viewer

USDA Agricultural Research Service

Main in-house research arm of the United States Department of Agriculture

USDA Current Research Information System

Reporting system for research projects in agriculture, food & nutrition,and forestry

Virtual Technical Reports Center

The Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web

Web-agri.com

An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages

WWW Virtual Library: Forestry

Provided by the Library Information Services and Information Systems Servicesat the Finnish Forest Research Institute.


Top of page


[edit] ResearchGuides

Encyclopedia of Environmental Information Sources Ref TD 170E 53 1993
Keyguide to Information Sources in Agricultural Engineering RefS 675 M 67 1985
Literature of Agricultural Engineering Ref S 674 3 L 58 1992
Literature of Soil Science Ref S 590 45 L 58 1994


Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

ASAE

(ASAE: American Society of Agricultural Engineers)

CIGR

(CIGR: International Commission of Agricultural Engineering)

CSAE

(CSAE: Canadian Society for Engineering in Agricultural, Food and BiologicalSciences)

EMI

(EMI: Equipment Manufacturers Institute)

IA

(IA: The Irrigation Association)

IFT

(IFT: Institute of Food Technologists)

NGWA

(NGWA: National Ground Water Association)


Top of page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University

(Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists)

Subject-Specific

Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences


Top of page


[edit] AuburnUniversity Department and Course Pages

Departmental and Faculty Web Pages

Biosystems Engineering
National Soil Dynamics Laboratory

Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Agricultural Engineering
Animal Waste Management


Top of page


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
Claudine Jenda