Business Databases by Category
From SubjectGuides
[edit] Finding Business Articles and News
- Business Source Premier
- Search business articles from journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. (More info)
- ABI/Inform Complete
- Search business articles from journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. (More info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- A database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. (More info)
- Regional Business News
- Coverage for regional business publications from all US metropolitan and rural areas. (More info)
- EconLit
- EconLit provides a way to search for economic and finance literature. (More info)
- ScienceDirect
- Despite it's name, has a large number of full-text scholarly business journals. (More info)
- Emerald
- Search across a small collection of scholarly business journals from Emerald Press, formerly known as MCB Press. (More info)
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
- Has about 30 scholarly business, economics and finance journals back to first volume. (More info)
- Berkeley Electronic Press (BE Press) Journals
- This is a small collection of scholarly economics, business and marketing journals. (More info)
- NBER Working Papers
- The National Bureau of Economic Research working papers series offers access to the latest empirical research in economics. (More info)
- PsycINFO
- Psychology database that includes information on consumer behavior, attitudes, organizational behavior, etc. (More info)
- ProjectMuse
- A very small collection of business and economic journals, mostly from the Johns Hopkins University Press. (More info)
- SSRN: Social Science Research Network
- Contains abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and a large Electronic Paper Collection. (More info)
- Springer Link
- A database of scholarly journals in business and economics. (More info)
- Web of Science
- Use to find articles citing another author or publication, i.e. "cited reference search". Used heavily by other disciplines to locate articles. (More info)
- Wiley Interscience
- A database of scholarly journals in business and economics. (More info)
[edit] Finding Books and Journals
AUBIECat Library Catalog (More info)
Dissertations and Theses (More info)
Book Collection: Nonfiction (More info)
Berkeley Electronic Press (BE Press) Journals (More info)
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive (More info)
Wiley Interscience (More info)
[edit] Accounting & Tax
[edit] Accounting
- CCH Accounting Research Manager.
- A full-text database of official accounting pronouncements. (More info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- A full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature. (More info)
[edit] Tax
- CCH Tax Research Network
- A comprehensive federal, state, and international tax database which includes primary source literature, journals, treaties, commentaries, topical indexes, practice aids and tools. (More info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Legal Research)
- A full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Legal Research section offers primary and secondary resources for tax research. (More info)
- Campus Research by WestLaw
- Contains the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states. It includes Reports of the US Tax Court; Reports of the US Board of Tax Appeals; Tax Court Memorandum Decisions; and Board of Tax Appeals Memorandum Decisions. (More info)
- Total Kleinrock Office-
- Subscription canceled. Upgraded to CCH Tax Research Network.
[edit] Business Law
- LexisNexis Academic (Legal Research)
- LexisNexis Legal Research provides access to legal articles from magazines, journals, and law reviews. It also includes all US Federal case law and the states’ high court and appellate court decisions. This database provides access to US federal and state codes and regulations, including the US Constitution and Code of Federal Regulations. Included is a section that allows users to search US Tax Law. Some international legal materials are included in this database, particularly legal guides for Canada and the European Union.
- Campus Research by WestLaw
- This database contains the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states; all federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia; KeyCite® (a resource to help determine what is still considered "good law"); American Law Reports; and a collection of articles from a wide range of law reviews and journals.
[edit] Career Information
Auburn University Career Development Services
- ReferenceUSA
- Search for businesses and get brief company information. (More info)
[edit] Company Information
[edit] Company Overviews
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries. (More info)
- Europages
- This directory includes 550,000 companies in 35 European countries. It allows searches by company name, product, or business sector to get the address, phone number, line of business, and general workforce size of a company. It is similar to the Thomas Register database of companies in the United States.
- Hoover's Online
- Provides basic to in-depth company information. (More info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- LexisNexis is a full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature. LexisNexis offers access to more than 7000 English language publications and broadcast transcripts, as well as international resources in French, Italian, and German. This database requires that you select criteria from each step on their search page in order to complete a search.
- Company Profiles (via Business Source Premier Database)
- Locate detailed company information. Reports feature: business description, history, major products and services, locations and subsidiaries, top competitors, SWOT analysis.
- ReferenceUSA
- Search for businesses and get brief company information. (More info)
- SWOT Analysis (via Business Source Premier Database. Use the Browse search box.)
- SWOT Analysis are an analysis of a company's Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. These reports are all done by the Datamonitor market research group.
- ThomasNet (Thomas Register)
- This is an enhanced web site for Thomas Register, the world's most comprehensive directory of U.S and Canadian manufacturers, listing over 168,000 industrial product and services companies. The most comprehensive resource for industrial information, this is a free service but you must register. You can search by Keyword, Product/Service, Company or Brand and location.
- ValueLine Investment Survey
- Analysis and recommendations on corporate stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy. (More info)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
[edit] Financial Statements/Stock Info.; Market info
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries. (More info)
- Compustat (via WRDS) http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu
- It is a database containing about 340 annual and 120 quarterly income statement, balance sheet, flow of funds and supplemental data items on a large number of companies. Data is available for the most recent 20 years or 48 quarters. It is updated once a year (in the summer) when data from the last calendar year is added.
- CRSP (via WRDS) http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu
- Produced by the University of Chicago's Center for Research in Securities Prices, the CRSP database contains daily and monthly price, volume, and return data for NYSE, ASE, and NASDAQ stocks. Daily stock data is available from 1962 and some monthly stock data goes back to 1926. It is updated once a year (in the summer) when data from the last calendar year is added.
- Hoover's Online
- Provides basic to in-depth company information. (More info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- LexisNexis is a full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature. LexisNexis offers access to more than 7000 English language publications and broadcast transcripts, as well as international resources in French, Italian, and German. This database requires that you select criteria from each step on their search page in order to complete a search.
- ValueLine Investment Survey
- Analysis and recommendations on corporate stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy. (More info)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
[edit] SEC Filings
- EDGAR (US Securities & Exchange Commission)
- This is the free database of public company filings collected by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Find the full-text of company annual 10-K reports, quarterly 10-Q reports, proxy statements, prospectus, etc. The EDGAR Archive allows you to find filings for companies from 1994-present. Filings prior to 1994 are not available in electronic format, but may be purchased by contacting the Public Reference Room at the SEC.
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- LexisNexis is a full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature. LexisNexis offers access to more than 7000 English language publications and broadcast transcripts, as well as international resources in French, Italian, and German. This database requires that you select criteria from each step on their search page in order to complete a search.
[edit] Annual Reports
- ABI/Inform Complete
- This database provides a way to search business articles from journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. Notably, it contains the full-text of the Wall Street Journal from the most recent issue back to 1984. (More info)
- Annual Reports.com
- This free website provides access to the largest collection of the full text glossy annual reports companies prepare for current and prospective stock holders (as opposed to the 10K report which is a required filing by the SEC). The focus here is on current reports rather than historical but there is a lot of information about corporate image, branding, and the story the company wants to tell about their history and their direction for the future. You can search for reports by company name, ticker symbol, exchange, industry, and industry sector.
[edit] Country Information
- Country Reports (via Business Source Premier. Click on Country Reports. Then use the Browse search box.)
- Includes Country Commerce, Country Profiles and Country Reports from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Business Monitor International (BMI). Reports include analysis of current trends and some forecasts. Includes statistics. (More info)
- International Financial Statistics
- Approximately 32,000 financial time series data covering more than 200 countries. (More info)
- STAT-USA/Internet
- STAT-USA is the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the U.S. Federal Government. It gathers together in one database information from over 50 Federal agencies. Included are U.S economic data as well as the calendars for the next releases of key economic indicators, industrial and manufacturing data, consumer credit reports, exchange rates and other data collected and disseminated by the U.S. Government. Its international section includes trade opportunity leads, information on industries internationally, and guide for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
- World Development Indicators Online
- Produced by the World Bank, World Development Indicators provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available.
- World Factbook
- US Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies, but not on sub-national administrative units within a country or supranational entities like the European Union.
- WTO International Trade Statistics
- The World Trade Organization's International Trade Statistics database contains interactive access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics, and annual publication including detailed analysis and tables (leading traders, trade by sector and product, regional trade, LDCs, etc.). It includes time-series data.
[edit] Economics
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- EconLit
- EconLit provides a way to search for economic literature. (More info)
- Country Reports (via Business Source Premier. Use Browse search box.)
- Includes Country Profiles and Country Reports from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Business Monitor International (BMI). Reports include analysis of current trends and some forecasts. Includes statistics. (More info)
- FRED
- FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database of U.S. economic time series from a multitude of government agencies. Data can be downloaded into Excel or viewed as HTML. Includes charts of data series. FRED includes data on banking and finance, but also has statistics on labor, consumer price index, GDP, imports/exports, etc. This widely used free database is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
- FRASER
- FRASER™ The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a site that currently features historical material from seven publications: All Bank Statistics 1896-1955 (published 1959), Annual Statistical Digest (issues from 1970-2000), Banking and Monetary Statistics 1914-1941, Banking and Monetary Statistics 1941-1970, Business Statistics Supplement to the Survey of Current Business (issues from 1932-1965), Concordance of Statistics (issues from 1978-2000), Economic Indicators (issues from 1948-present) and more. On this web site you will find links to scanned images (in Adobe® Acrobat® PDF format) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
- International Financial Statistics
- Approximately 32,000 financial time series data covering more than 200 countries. (More info)
- NBER Working Papers
- The National Bureau of Economic Research working papers series offers access to the latest empirical research in economics. (More info)
- STAT-USA/Internet
- STAT-USA is the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the U.S. Federal Government. It gathers together in one database information from over 50 Federal agencies. Included are U.S economic data as well as the calendars for the next releases of key economic indicators, industrial and manufacturing data, consumer credit reports, exchange rates and other data collected and disseminated by the U.S. Government. Its international section includes trade opportunity leads, information on industries internationally, and guide for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
- World Development Indicators Online
- Produced by the World Bank, World Development Indicators provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available.
- WTO International Trade Statistics
- The World Trade Organization's International Trade Statistics database contains interactive access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics, and annual publication including detailed analysis and tables (leading traders, trade by sector and product, regional trade, LDCs, etc.). It includes time-series data.
[edit] Industry Information
- Encyclopedia of Associations
- Find information on nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. Entries for each organization include contact information, descriptions of the organization, number of members, budget and other information. The database allows searching by association name, keyword, location, etc.
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries. (More info)
- Hoover's Online
- Provides basic to in-depth company information. (More info)
- Industry Profiles (Use Browse search box.)
- Locate detailed industry information, such as market overviews, value, segmentation, share, and forecasts, competitive landscape, and leading companies. (More Info)
- LexisNexis Academic (Business Search)
- LexisNexis is a full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature. LexisNexis offers access to more than 7000 English language publications and broadcast transcripts, as well as international resources in French, Italian, and German. This database requires that you select criteria from each step on their search page in order to complete a search.
- STAT-USA/Internet
- STAT-USA is the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the U.S. Federal Government. It gathers together in one database information from over 50 Federal agencies. Included are U.S economic data as well as the calendars for the next releases of key economic indicators, industrial and manufacturing data, consumer credit reports, exchange rates and other data collected and disseminated by the U.S. Government. Its international section includes trade opportunity leads, information on industries internationally, and guide for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
- ValueLine Investment Survey
- Analysis and recommendations on corporate stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy. (More info)
[edit] International Finance
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- Country Reports (via Business Source Premier. Use the Browse search box.)
- Includes Country Profiles and Country Reports from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Business Monitor International (BMI). Reports include analysis of current trends and some forecasts. Includes statistics.
- International Financial Statistics
- Approximately 32,000 financial time series data covering more than 200 countries. (More info)
[edit] Investment Analyst Reports
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries. (More info)
- ValueLine Investment Survey
- Analysis and recommendations on corporate stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy. (More info)
[edit] Market Research Reports
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries. Market Research reports are under the "Industry Overview" tab for a company. (More info)
[edit] Marketing
- Business & Company Resource Center
- The database provides information on companies and industries, including brand and market share information under the "Rankings" tab for a company. (More info)
- Gallup Brain
- The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 60 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935. This unparalleled poll database also houses current Gallup Poll News Service articles that feature the latest in-depth poll analyses and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the surveys.
[edit] Mergers/Acquisitions, Venture Capital Info.
- Bloomberg (Available in the Lowder Business Building)
- Locate real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide. (More info)
[edit] Statistics
- FRED
- FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database of U.S. economic time series from a multitude of government agencies. Data can be downloaded into Excel or viewed as HTML. Includes charts of data series. FRED includes data on banking and finance, but also has statistics on labor, consumer price index, GDP, imports/exports, etc. This widely used free database is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
- FRASER
- FRASER™ The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a site that currently features historical material from seven publications: All Bank Statistics 1896-1955 (published 1959), Annual Statistical Digest (issues from 1970-2000), Banking and Monetary Statistics 1914-1941, Banking and Monetary Statistics 1941-1970, Business Statistics Supplement to the Survey of Current Business (issues from 1932-1965), Concordance of Statistics (issues from 1978-2000), Economic Indicators (issues from 1948-present) and more. On this web site you will find links to scanned images (in Adobe® Acrobat® PDF format) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
- LexisNexis Statistical
- LexisNexis Statistical contains statistical information from over 130,000 publications. Includes statistics from the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Users may limit searches to include economic, demographic, and geographic information, or by data published on daily, weekly, monthly, or annual bases.
- STAT-USA/Internet
- STAT-USA is the Internet source for business and economic information produced by the U.S. Federal Government. It gathers together in one database information from over 50 Federal agencies. Included are U.S economic data as well as the calendars for the next releases of key economic indicators, industrial and manufacturing data, consumer credit reports, exchange rates and other data collected and disseminated by the U.S. Government. Its international section includes trade opportunity leads, information on industries internationally, and guide for U.S. companies doing business in different countries.
- World Development Indicators Online
- Produced by the World Bank, World Development Indicators provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available.
- WTO International Trade Statistics
- The World Trade Organization's International Trade Statistics database contains interactive access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics, and annual publication including detailed analysis and tables (leading traders, trade by sector and product, regional trade, LDCs, etc.). It includes time-series data.