Business Research Guide

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact for questions about research:

Amia L. Baker
Business Librarian
RBD Library
334-844-8268


[edit] Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Includes dictionaries for accounting, business & management, economics, finance & banking, human resource management, and international financial terms. It also includes bilingual business dictionaries.


Encyclopedia Britanica-
AU Electronic Resource


Encyclopedia of Small Business-
AU Electronic Resource


The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics-
Online only at http://www.econlib.org/library/CEE.html

[edit] Company Directories and Annual Reports

ABI/INFORM
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation. Also includes PDF versions of annual reports for public companies going back to 1986.


Annual Report Gallery (by Cornerstone)
Close to 1,000 online annual reports included from this Website.


EDGAR SEC Filings -
Access and download free links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR.


Free Edgar -
Free real time SEC Filings A free Service provided by WILink and EDGAR-Online. The Annual Reports Service provides quick access to annual reports and other information on select companies.


Hoovers Online
More than 14.6 million companies in the US & Canada and more than 1.9 million international companies with important data points such as contact information, industry classification, and annual sales. These profiles, featuring companies with over $1 million in revenue and more than 9 employees, will help you gain broader insight into the global marketplace.


Kompass International
Find information about companies and what they do - More than 23 million references to the products and services of over 1.8 million companies.


Lexis-Nexis Business
Featuring company financial reports, profiles, directories, EDGAR filings, annual & quarterly reports, and proxy statements. Also included are business articles from several business journals and the ability to compare companies.


Public Register's Annual Report Service
Over 2,100 online annual reports included. Also provides the option of ordering free hard copies of the annual reports.


ReferenceUSA
A directory of U. S. businesses covering over 10 million locations (headquarters & satellite offices). It provides the type of business, SIC code, size (sales or employees), type of company, and key contact.


Thomas Register of American Manufacturers Industrial Product/Service Search -
comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.


Alabama Business Directory –
Reference Collection – HF 5065.A37 A34


American Big Business Directory –
Reference Collection – HF 5035. A49


D&B Million Dollar Directory -
Reference Collection – HF 5035.M5


Directory of Corporate Affiliations. "Who Owns Whom" U.S. Public and Private Companies –
Reference Collection – HG 4057 .A217


International Directory of Company Histories –
Reference Collection -HD 2721. I63


LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (Public, Private, International) –
Reference Collection – HG 4057.A219


Standard & Poor’s Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives –
Reference Collection – HG 4057.A4


Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies –
Reference Collection – HG 4057.A575



[edit] Industry Information

Current Industrial Reports of the U.S. Census Bureau
Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.


Hoover's Industries
More than 14.6 million companies in the US & Canada and more than 1.9 million international companies with important data points such as contact information, industry classification, and annual sales. These profiles, featuring companies with over $1 million in revenue and more than 9 employees, will help you gain broader insight into the global marketplace.


Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios –
Reference Collection – HF 5681. R25 T68
[older copies on the 3rd floor with same call number]


Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios –
Reference Collection – HF 5681. R25 I52
[older copies on the 3rd floor with same call number]


RMA Annual Statement Studies –
Reference Collection – HF 5681. B2 R6
[older copies on the 3rd floor with same call number]


Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys –
Reference Collection – HG 4921. S66



[edit] Industry Classification Systems

NAIC Codes: North American Industrial Classification System


SIC Codes: Standard Industrial Classification Search



[edit] Business Statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy including the Gross Domestic Product.


Bureau of Labor Statistics
This independent national statistical agency collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statisitical data in the broad fields of labor economics and statistics. Includes current data on the Consumer Price Index, Unemployment Rates, Average Hourly Wages, etc.


CIA World Fact Book
Geographic, political, and economic data on the countries of the world


CountryWatch
Provides up-to-date, critical country-specific data and daily news coverage on 192 countries. Also provides economic forcasts for each country.


County Business Patterns
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.


FedStats
Compilation of statistical data from over 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government. A great one-stop-shopping site for governmental statistics.


Statistical Abstracts of the United States
An invaluable compilation of statistics mostly provided by governmental agencies. Although it contains more than business statistics, fully two-thirds of the material can be characterized as economic or industrial.


Statistical Universe
Can be used to find all statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through the American Statistics Index (ASI); some 1,000 of the best statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward through the Statistical Reference Index (SRI); and approximately 2,000 indispensable titles from some 100 international intergovernmental organizations, all published annually since 1983 through the Index to International Statistics (IIS).


U.S. Census Bureau
The preeminent collector and provider of timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States.



[edit] Other Business Resources

Dictionary of Business -
Reference Collection –HF 1001 .C63


Encyclopedia of Business -
Reference Collection –HF 1001 .E466


International Encyclopedia of Business and Management -
Reference Collection – HF 1001 .I53


Advertising Agencies used by Companies
A search engine that you can use to find out which companies use which advertising agencies or conversely, which companies are the clients of a certain Advertising firm. *Note: Users must register individually.


InvestorWords
Contains over 5,000 definitions; Web-based financial glossary offers 15,000 links between related terms.


Megasite
Helpul Finance Related Links


Occupational Outlook Handbook
Compiled by the Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides an excellent source of current, concise information on nearly250 different occupations, including the nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training, qualifications and advancement, job outlook, earnings, related occupations and sources to consult for additional information. Updated every 2 years.


Quicken's Glossary of Business Terms
Hundreds of online business terms provided by Quicken.



[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles

All databases are available on campus and remotely (unless otherwise noted). To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID and password.


ABI/INFORM
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation.


Business & Company Resource Center
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.


Business Source Premier
Provides full text from journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Also provides access to company profiles from the Datamonitor Company Profile Authority database.


EconLit
Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.


LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.


Newsbank
Provides hard-to-find local and regional business newspaper articles from over 400 U.S. cities. Covering private and public companies, its monthly updates provide current full-text articles and index citations to specific company and industry issues and events.


Regional Business News
Collection of full text newswires from around the world. Includes information about business, politics, economics, and international news.

[edit] Auburn University Department Pages

College of Business



For additional information about Business or to comment about this page, please send an email to Amia Baker.