COMM 1000

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

CMJN Library Stuff

[edit] Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk: 334-844-1737

For appointments:

Barbara A. Bishop

[edit] Databases and Websites

Library Resources for the Informative and Persuasive Speeches

Tip sheet showing ways to effectively search LexisNexis, Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher.

[edit] Informative Speeches

MasterFILE Premier (AU only)
The most general of all the EbscoHost databases, it includes more newsstand type publications than Academic Search Premier.
General OneFile (AU only)
The Gale counterpart of MasterFILE Premier, it contains citations to more than 64,000,000 articles from all subject areas and types of publications.
LexisNexis Academic (AU only)
Click on the News tab to get access to hundreds of newspapers, including the Auburn Plainsman.

[edit] Persuasive Speeches

CQ Researcher (AU only)
The CQ Researcher explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (AU only)
Opposing Viewpoints' resources are divided into topics which contains full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.
Debatepedia
Debatepedia is a wiki encyclopedia of debates, arguments, and supporting quotations. It was created through a collaboration between Georgetown University and the International Debate Education Association.
Google: U.S. Government Search
Searches across U.S. government websites for content located on U.S. federal, state and/or local government sites.

[edit] Statistics & Public Opinion Data

Census Data
Alabama Demographics
US Demographics
International Statistics
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
LexisNexis Statistical (AU only)
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
Gallup Brain (AU only)
The Gallup Brain is searches more than 60 years of public opinion. It includes current Gallup Poll News Service articles that feature the latest in-depth poll analyzes and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the surveys.
ABC News: The Polling Unit

[edit] Images

AP Images (AU only)
An electronic archive of sounds and images from the Associated Press' 50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the their graphics portfolio.
Flickr
The Library of Congress' Photostream
Other Flickr photostreams
Image Search Engines

[edit] Other Resources

[edit] Public Speaking

Includes information on speech indexes, audio and video as well as transcripts.

[edit] Visual Aids

Digital Resource Lab (MDRL)
MDRL Handout
Guide to Creating a Visual Aid with PowerPoint

[edit] Citations

Help with Citations
APA Citation Guide (Ohio State University)
CheckCite (James Madison University)

[edit] Assignment Calculator

Assignment Calculator (University of Minnesota)