COMM 3700

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

IBreadcrumbs C0MM 3700 Research Apps

Recorded URLs to help you locate online resources for this class.

AU Docs log-in

Another collaborative tool for sharing research.

Library Resources for the COMM 3700

Tip sheet on searching selected library databases.

[edit] Databases

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a general database that searches a variety of subject areas and allows you to filter by peer-reviewed/scholarly publications.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (AU only)
Opposing Viewpoints' resources are divided into topics which contains full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays both pro & con), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.
CQ Researcher (AU only)
The CQ Researcher explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
CQ Public Affairs Collection (AU only)
Covers 22 key topics in public policy
Gallup Brain (AU only)
The Gallup Brain is searches more than 60 years of public opinion. It includes current Gallup Poll News Service articles that feature the latest in-depth poll analyses and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the surveys.
Lexis/Nexis Academic (AU only)
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business and medical information, federal and state laws, and polls and surveys among others.
Lexis/Nexis Congressional (AU only)
Information published by and about the United States Congress providing a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources.
Lexis/Nexis Statistical (AU only)
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information for federal, state, local, private and international organizations.
Ethnic NewsWatch (AU only)
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press that helps provide the other sides of the stories.
Gender Watch (AU only)
GenderWatch focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas like business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more.

[edit] Print

The Reference Shelf (PN 4181 .R33)
Each book brings together articles from a wide range of national publications.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Desk Reference)
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Current and older editions are available online.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present (Desk Reference)
The desk reference copy is the Millennial Edition, the earlier Bicentennial edition is available online.

[edit] Online

Google/UncleSam
Google/UncleSam filters your results by limiting them to U.S. Federal, State and some large local government agencies. The results should all show up in the following domains: .gov, .mil, .us.
Debatepedia
Debatepedia is a wiki encyclopedia of debates, arguments, and supporting quotations. It was created through a collaboration between Georgetown University and the International Debate Education Association.
National Debate Topics for High Schools
“Each year the NFHS Speech, Debate & Theatre Association announces the national high school debate topic. According to 44 USC 1333, the Library of Congress is responsible for preparing compilations of pertinent excerpts, bibliographical references, and other appropriate materials relating to the annual topic. The compilation is then printed as a Senate document and disseminated by GPO.”
Homeland Security Digital Library
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
Pew Research Center
“The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues.”
Stateline.org
Covers state-level issues such as healthcare, tax and budget policy, the environment, welfare reform among other issues
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Internationally comparable series of surveys aimed to gauge attitudes of every region of the world toward globalization, trade, democracy, terrorism, and the United States.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Investigates how the Internet impacts children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life.
The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Looks at religion and public affairs.
Pew Hispanic Center
Demographic, economic and public opinion research into the U.S. Hispanic population’s impact on the U.S.
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
Studies citizen attitudes about the press, politics and public policy issues.
Project for Excellence in Journalism
Evaluates and studies the performance of the Press.
Public Agenda Online
Short, fact-based reports on public opinion and public policy issues. Compiled by "Public Agenda, a non-profit research organization. Provides regular coverage of 19 topics: abortion, alcohol abuse, America's global role, crime, the economy, education, the environment, the family, the Federal budget, gambling, health care, illegal drugs, immigration, internet speech/privacy, Medicare, race, right to die, Social Security, and welfare. Emphasis on current news and short-term trends. Based primarily on the results of surveys sponsored by other organizations, but occasionally includes original survey results as well."
National Issues Forum
National Issues Forums "...are structured deliberative discussions, led by trained moderators. Using nonpartisan issue books, participants weigh possible ways to address a problem. They analyze each approach and the arguments for and against."

[edit] Other Resources

[edit] Citations

Help with Citations
APA Citation Guide (Ohio State University)
Zotero: The Next-Generation Research Tool
Downloadable Firefox extension to help manage your research resources.

[edit] Assignment Calculator

Assignment Calculator (University of Minnesota)

[edit] Contact me for help

Barbara A. Bishop
Second Floor, Reference
RBD Library
334-844-1690