Chemistry Subject Guide

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

NEW New chemistry books this month NEW


Need help? Contact Bob Buchanan the Subject Specialist Librarian for chemistry.


Contents


[edit] Databases

[edit] Chemistry Databases

SciFinder Scholar

Covers a broad spectrum of the chemical, biochemical and chemical engineering literature since 1907, including journals, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations. See the SciFinder Scholar Download Page to download software needed to run this database. Off-campus and AU Wireless use require a VPN connection. Only available to Auburn University students, faculty and staff.

Beilstein

Extensive property, reaction, spectral, pharmacological and ecological data for over 7 million organic compounds. Contains all of the information from the print version of the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry from 1770 to 1980. Also contains abstracts and property data from major organic chemistry journals since 1980. Search by structure, substructure, reactions, chemical name, and keyword. See the Beilstein & Gmelin Information Page to download software needed to run Beilstein. Off-campus and AU Wireless use require a VPN connection. Only available to Auburn University students, faculty and staff.

Gmelin

The most complete collection of structures, property data, and literature references for inorganic and organometallic compounds. Contains all of the information from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry from 1648 to 1975. Also includes citations and abstracts from major inorganic chemistry journals from 1975 to 1994 and from 2000 to the present. See the Beilstein & Gmelin Information Page to download software needed to run Gmelin. Off-campus and AU Wireless use require a VPN connection. Only available to Auburn University students, faculty and staff.

Cambridge Structural Database

Located behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of the RBD Library. Chemical and primary numerical data from X-ray and neutron diffraction analyses of over 220,000 organic and organometallic compounds.

[edit] Citation Databases

Science Citation Index (aka Web of Science)

Find journal articles in over 5,700 major science and technology journals that have cited a particular reference since 1945. Large multidisciplinary database includes over 150 scientific disciplines. Covers about 500 chemistry-related journals. Also known as Web of Science.

SciFinder Scholar

Find articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents that have cited a particular reference since 1997. Covers about 9,000 chemistry-related journals. See the SciFinder Scholar Info Page to download software needed to run this databaser. Off-campus use requires a VPN connection.

[edit] Related Sciences Databases

Biological Abstracts

Abstracts from journals in biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, clinical medicine, and experimental medicine since 1990.

Engineering Village

Abstracts from engineering journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings since 1970.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

Simultaneously search up to 12 databases including Ecology Abstracts, Health & Safety Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, and Water Resources Abstracts. Covers toxicology, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, and environmental engineering.

Polymers: A Property Database

Search by polymer, physical property, trade name, and application. Browseable indexes on property information. Monomer data is cross-referenced from the relevant polymers.

[edit] Current Awareness Databases

Current Contents / Science Edition

Either browse the table of contents of research journals or do a keyword search on article titles and abstracts (70% of articles have abstracts). Auburn University faculty and graduate students can contact their library specialist for the special URL needed to set up email notification of new articles.

Ingenta

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals. Many articles not owned by AU Libraries can be downloaded by or faxed to AU faculty, graduate students and staff (must first create an account).

[edit] General Databases

Dissertation Abstracts

Citations for U.S. dissertations since 1861. Dissertations with 350-word abstracts since 1980. Twenty-four page PDF preview for most dissertations since 1996. Master's theses with 150-word abstracts since 1988.

[edit] Finding Journals in the Library Catalog

Search the AU Library Catalog to see if Auburn Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access.

Once you find the record(s) in the library catalog for a journal, look carefully at the "holdings" portion of the record to see what years of print ownership or electronic access the library has.

Four ways to search the Library Catalog for journals
  • Journal Abbreviation search in "Basic Search" Type the journal abbreviation in the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage. Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By" and click on Go to start the search. This works for most, but not all, journal abbreviations. If this does not find the record(s) for journal, you must try the methods listed below before concluding that AU Libraires does not have the journal.
  • Journal Title search in "Basic Search" Type the unabbreviated name of the journal in the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage. Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By" and click on Go to start the search. It is often not necessary to type in the entire journal title because a "Basic Search" automatically right truncates (i.e., "chemistry a" will find the record for Chemistry: A European Journal, along with 26 other journal titles). The biggest challenge is to correctly translate a journal title abbreviation to the corresponding full journal title -- see the section below called Mystery Citations for how to do this.
  • Title search in "Keyword Search" First, in a Keyword Search, chose "Set more limits". Under the pull-down menu for "Item Type" select "serial". Click on "Set Limits" to return to the Keyword Search screen. Second, select "Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By". This restricts the search only to title keywords. Finally, type in full words from the journal title or partial words ended with a question mark, such as chem?. This type of search usually finds more records than just one(s) for the desired journal. For example, "chemistry european" finds 35 titles, while "chem? eur?" finds 66 titles. Both searches find the desired records for Chemistry: A European Journal.
  • ISSN Number search in "Keyword Search" Every journal is assigned a unique 8-digit number of the form xxxx-xxxx. In a "Keyword Search" select "ISSN" from the pull-down menu for "Search By". Type in the ISSN Number. If you have the journal ISSN, this is the almost alsways the best way to search.
Still can't find the journal in the AU Library Catalog for the year(s) you need? Submit an Interlibrary Loan request for a copy of the article.
Lists of journal titles available at AU Libraries
Note: If you don't see a journal you need on these two lists, AU Libraries may still have the journal either in print or electronically. Search the Auburn University Library Catalog as describe above to find all print and electronic access to journals.

[edit] Mystery Citations

Is there something wrong with your reference? Did Interlibrary Loan return your request because the article or book does not seem to exist? If the advice in the section below and the preceding section do not help, contact Bob Buchanan, the Chemistry Librarian, or Interlibaray Loan for more assistance.

Online Resources to "Unravel" Journal Title Abbreviations
CAS Document Detective Service Title Search
Keyword search on journal title words (automatic right truncation on all words). For example Zh Neoorg Khim finds Zhurnal Neorganischeskoi Khimii. But Recl Trav Chim Pays-Bas does not find Recueil des Travaux Chimique des Pays-Bas (Recueil does not truncate to Recl, but to Recu).
Medline and National Library of Medicine Abbreviation LocatorPlus
Search on part, or all, of the journal abbreviation.
Print Resources to "Unravel" Journal Title Abbreviations
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) Ref Desk QD 1 .C473
This is the best resource to convert abbreviations into full titles. Contains most journals, conference proceedings, and book series indexed by Chemical Abstracts (aka SciFinder Scholar).
Periodical Title Abbreviations: By Title Ref Desk Z 6945 .A2 W34 2001
Less informative than CASSI, but easier to use.

[edit] Reference Books

Located either on the 2nd floor near the reference desk or on the 4th floor with other books. Larger reference works, such as Beilstein and Gmelin, are usually shelved on the 4th floor.

Finding Aids

There is a great deal of property data that is summarized in books, such as those listed below. These can be especially helpful if you need data on more than just a single compound. Unless you know which books to look in, it can be a challenge to find them without help. Use the three links below to identify books that contain specific types of physical property and spectral data (i.e. dielectric constant, thermal conductivity, crystal structure, etc.). Then check the AU Library Catalog to see if Auburn Libraries has a copy of the book.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Analytical Reagents Ref QD 77 .D498 1993
Dictionary of Organic Compounds Ref QD 246 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds Ref QD 411 .D53
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry QD 71.5 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science Ref QD 71.5 .E53 1995
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry QD 39.3 .E46 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry Ref QD 148 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis Ref QD 77 .E53 1995
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Ref QD 5 .C5 2002
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref TP 9 .E685 1991
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Chemistry Ref QD 5 .M36
Patterson’s German-English Dictionary for Chemists Ref QD 5 .P3 1992
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Ref TP 9 .U57 2003

Handbooks and General Reference Books

ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors Ref Desk QD 8.5 .A25 1997
Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra Ref QD 96 .N8 P68
Analytical Chemistry Handbook Ref QD 78 .D3 1995
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry QD 251 .B4
Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry Ref QD 400 .C65 1984
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis Ref QD 262 .C535 1991
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref Desk QD 65 .H3
Desk Reference for Organic Chemists Ref Desk QD 257.7 .E28 1995
Gmelins Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry QD 151 .G52
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds Ref QD 257.7 .H36 1994
Landolt-Bornstein Numerical Data ... QC 61 .L33
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Ref Desk TP 151 .H25
Merck Index Ref Desk RS 51 .M4 2001
Names, Synonyms, and Structures of Organic Compounds Ref QD 291 .N36 1995
Physical and Thermodynamic Properties of Pue Chemicals Ref TP 200 .D39 1989
Sadtler Standard Carbon-13 NMR QD 271 .S3
Sigma-Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data Ref T 55.3 .H3 S54 1985
Solubilities of Inorganic and Organic Compounds Ref QD 543 .M7213
Thermodynamic Properties of Individual Substances QD 504 .T4371

Guides to the Chemical Literature

How to Find Chemical Information Ref Desk QD 8.5 .M34 1998
Chemical Information Sources QD 8.5 .W54 1991
Chemical Publications: Their Nature and Use QD 8.5 .M44 1982

[edit] Library of Congress Call Numbers

Call number ranges for browsing. Also search AubieCat for more books and subjects.

QC 170-197 Atomic Physics
QC 311.5 Statistical Thermodynamics
QC 450-467 Analytical Spectroscopy
QC 454 Molecular Spectroscopy
QD 1-69 General Chemistry
QD 71-145 Analytical Chemistry
QD 146-196 Inorganic Chemistry
QD 241-449 Organic Chemistry
QD 380-388 Polymers (organic)
QD 399-405 Heterocyclic Compounds
QD 415-431.7 Biological chemistry
QD 450-731 Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
QD 911-999 Crystallography
QH 212-239 Microscopy
QK 861-899 Biochemistry of Plants
QP 501-801 Biochemistry
TP 156 .P6 Polymerization
TX 553 .P7 Proteins - Food Constituents

[edit] Websites

[edit] Property Data & Spectra

Aldrich - Sigma Chemicals provides basic physical properites without references to the original literature. Many with FT NMR and FT IR spectra. Provides references to Merck Index and Beilstein.
Beilstein has data for over 7 million organic compounds with literature references.
Gmelin has data for over 1 million inorganic compounds with literature references.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank offers extensive chemical and physical property data on 4,500 compounds, most of which are produced industrially. Includes references to the original literature.
Knovel Databases Type "knovel" without the quote into the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage to access this resource. Contains property data and interactive tables and graphs.
NIST Chemistry WebBook should be one of the first places to look. Physical property data, IR spectra, and mass spectra on 40,000 compounds. Includes references to the original literature. Search by name or formula.
SciFinder Scholar is rapidly adding property data to substance records. Look for the link to "experimental values". Original literature references.

[edit] Safety & Heath

TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network) is a group of 11 free databases on toxicology and safety information offered by the National Library of Medicine. Search one or more databases simultaneously. The Hazardous Substances Data Bank has extensive data on 4,500 substances. TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online) has over 3 million abstracts for biochemical, pharmacological, physiological and toxicological effects of chemicals.
Vermont SIRI MSDS collection is an online collection of Material Safety Data Sheets.
Where to Find MSDS on the Internet provides links to manufacturer’s MSDS websites, FAQs, and other safety websites.

[edit] Societies & Associations

ACS American Chemical Society
AIChE The American Institute for Chemical Engineers
IUPAC International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
RSC Royal Society of Chemistry

[edit] Miscellaneous Chemistry Websites

ACS Publications ACS journals and publications. Some full-text and searchable journals.
ChemDex Comprehensive list of chemistry resources
Chemical Education Resource Shelf Locate chemical education information -- print and electronic sources.
CHEMINFO Chemical Information Sources provided by Indiana University and on the Web.
ENZYME Search by EC number, class, name, compound, and cofactor.
Enzyme Structures Database Over 1600 enzymes listed and organized by enzyme classification.
F.A.C.T. Web Sites in Inorganic Chemical Thermodynamics is an archive of Java applets, software, and full-text useful for chemical thermodynamics.
NIST Homepage The National Institute of Science and Technology website points to chemistry resources and databases, many of which are free to the public.
Periodic Table of Elements is a clickable table made available by Los Alamos National Laboratory.
RSC Search page Search within RSC Journals, books, and more. Links to titles subscribed by Auburn University.
Table of the Nuclides provides a chart of nuclides with critical atomic data.
WWW Chemicals Fine and bulk chemical information and Material Safety Data Sheets.
WWW Virtual Library: Chemistry lists some chemistry resources on the Internet.
WWW Virtual Library: Chemical and Process Engineering organizes chemical engineering Internet sites by subject.

[edit] Sources for Chemicals

Aldrich - Sigma Chemicals Catalog Search by chemical name, molecular formula or CAS Registry Number. Provides some data and spectra.
Chemcyclopedia is a directory of chemical suppliers and manufacturers
ChemFinder Search for chemicals by name, formula, etc.
Chemical Industry Homepage provides information from and about industry, research, and academia.
Sourcereris a U.K. database of chemical suppliers and producers. Search by CAS Registry Number, formula, or chemical name.
Created by Bob Buchanan © 2007
Librarian for Veterinary Medicince and Chemistry
Auburn University Libraries
Updated July 2, 2007