Citing Sources

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

The primary reason for citing information sources is to acknowledge and credit the work of others. If you consult books, other print resources, or electronic resources (e.g., web pages, journal articles retrieved from library databases, etc.) during the course of your research, you should cite these sources in your bibliography or “Works Cited” page.


Automatic Citation Generators

KnightCite
Landmarks Citation Machine

Note: A number of the library’s research databases automatically generate citations or provide tips for citing their resources. Consult the database menu, under Help, or look for "How to Cite" links.


Online Citation guides

Duke University Citing Sources guide
Provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and CSE (formerly called CBE) styles. Sample citations provided.


Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA and APA styles.
MLA style | MLA style for electronic sources
APA style | APA style for electronic sources


Research and Documentation Online
Provides guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources in MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE (formerly called CBE) styles. Sample citations provided. Select "Documenting Sources" from the online menu.


Ask for the following style manuals at the Reference Desk (RBD Library, 2nd floor) or the Service Desk (RBD Library, 1st floor) :

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 G53)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (BF 76.7 .P83)
Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (T 11 .S386)
The Chicago Manual of Style (Z 253 .C57)
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations [Turabian] (LB 2369 .T8)

Additional copies of these style guides are located in the general collection under the call numbers indicated. (Note: These may be older editions.)