Communication

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Class Guides

COMM 1000       COMM 2400
COMM 2410       COMM 3700
   RTVF 4310


Database List

Communication Databases by Subject


CMJN Library Stuff

[edit] Help

Reference Desk:

334-844-1737


Contact me:

Barbara A. Bishop
334-844-1690


My Desk Hours:

By appointment

[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications, (Ref P 87.5 .E533 2003)

Published by Academic Press (Elsevier), this four volume set provides coverage on the following subject areas: media types, formats, outlets genres interrelationships, issues, and concepts; geopolitical studies, historic views, and future projections.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information, (Ref P 87.5 .E53 2001)

Published by Macmillan Reference, this encyclopedia covers the following topics: careers, information science and technologies, literacy, institutional studies, interpersonal communication, library science, and media effects.

International Encyclopedia of Communications, (Ref P 87.5 .I5 1989)

This four volume encyclopedia is jointly published by the University of Pennsylvania's Annenberg School of Communications and Oxford University Press. The articles are signed and include selected bibliographies. Volume 4 has an index.

Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communication, (Ref P 87.5:W 45 1990)


[edit] Indexes and Databases

[edit] Subject Databases

[edit] Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete(AU only)

This database not only replaces NCA's CommSearch and Penn State's Media Articles Index but expands coverage to include indexing and abstracting of over 300 journals along with fulltext for nearly 200 journals, some beginning as early as 1915. The indexing includes selected volumes of Gale's Dictionary of Literary Biography and Greenwood Press' Historical Guides to the World's Periodicals and Newspapers.

Communication Abstracts (AU only)

Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts from 1977, it is international in scope including books, major periodical articles and reports. Paper copies are available on 2nd floor Index Shelves; P 87. C58.

ComAbstracts(AU only)

Part of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, ComAbstracts (for a listing indexing coverage go to http://www.cios.org/www/abinfo.htm|target='_new') gives access to primary scholary literature of the communication field. Full text content includes runs of the following journals: Australian Journal of Communication, Communication Reports, The International Journal of Listening, The Journal of Communication and Religion, and Women's Studies in Communication. You will need to download the free DejaVu plugin to view contents on CIOS. This replaced Index to Journals in Communication Studies Through 1995, (Ref PN 4071 .M3).

Science Direct

Science Direct provides full-text access to over 500 journals mostly in the sciences, however there are some articles that deal with communication studies. Access to almost all the publications is available after setting up a personal a profile. A good way to get into Science Direct is to search it using the SCIRUS interface that searches selected web pages as well as scholarly articles.

[edit] Psychology

PsycInfo(AU only)

Covers over 1300 journals in the following subjects: sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.

PsycArticles(AU only)

The APA Full-Text Article Database contains the full text of articles from APA journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1988 to the present.

[edit] Sociology

Sociological Abstracts(AU only)

A primary resource for research sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

[edit] Language and Linguistics

LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)(AU only)

Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Selectively covers books and periodicals that are communications-related. Journals that are selectively indexed include Communication Monographs, Human Communication Research, and Western Journal of Speech Communication. Some of the subjects covered, besides language and linguistics, include anthropology, communication sciences, ehtnology, information science, psychiatry, psychology, and speech.

MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography)(AU only

Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present.

[edit] Other Disciplines

ERIC(AU only)

Comprehensive in its indexing of communication and speech journals going back to 1966. ERIC through the .gov site provides full text for the majority of ERIC documents beginning in 1996. Documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader.

ERC: Education Research Complete (AU only)

The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. It also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Ethnic NewsWatch(AU only)

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native presses available through ProQuest.

Gender Watch(AU only)

GenderWatch, also available through ProQuest, is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas like business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

[edit] General Databases

Academic Search Premier(AU only)

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Lexis-Nexis Academic(AU only)

Indexes newspapers, business, legal, and medical resources. Also includes sections on quotations, and polls and surveys.

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP(AU only)

Indexes over 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Articles in over 500 journals are full text.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AU only)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

[edit] Web Sites

[edit] Communication

Online Communication Studies Resources

Index of online resources maintained by the University of Iowa's Department of Communication Studies.

[edit] Public Relations

Ad*Access Project

Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955

The Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920

A selection of images from the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History

Advertising World: The Ultimate Marketing Communications Directory

"Resources for advertising & marketing professionals, students, and teachers. The most extensive collection of advertising-related links on the Web!"

[edit] Public Speaking

COMM 1000

Links to a page with information and help on library resources for your speeches.

American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States

"Presents both full and partial texts of speeches with accompanying audio clips (Mp3 format) on a wide variety of subjects. Includes a database of over 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. Includes audio clips from well-known speeches, movies, sermons, popular songs, and media events by politicians, actors, preachers, athletes, singers, and other public figures. Also includes a full text, audio, and video database of over 50 Hollywood movie speeches, as selected by audiences of American rhetoric. Included are military movie speeches, sports-oriented movie speeches, forensic movie speeches, and social-political movie speeches."

Public Speaking Website

This website contains six modules that you can use along with the Allyn and Bacon textbook, Public Speaking, to learn about the process of public speaking and to help you prepare your speeches.

Speech and Transcript Center (George Washington University)

Includes both transcripts and/or audio business, television/radio programs, government officials, organizations, and historical speeches

[edit] Film & Television

AFI--American Film Institute

The nation's preeminent arts organization dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of the moving image.

America at Work, America at Leisure Motion Pictures from 1894-1915

Collection of motion pictures covering work, school, and leisure activities in the United States from 1894 to 1915.

Brandon Gray's Box Office Mojo

Find domestic and international box office receipts broken down daily, weekend, seasonal, yearly, and all time.

The Internet Archive: Movie Archive

Includes documentaries, commercials, and civil defense films from 1916 through the present.

The Internet Movie Database

Currently covers movies, television, and entertainment news.

Metacritic

Reviews, quotes, and scores from major critics for film, video, and DVD.

National Film Preservation Board (NFPB)

Mandated by Congress the NFPB is charged with preserving the moving image in the United States.

[edit] Television Shows: Streaming Video

ABC.com Full Episode Player
CBS.com InnerTube
NBC.com Direct
In2TV AOL Television
Hulu
Yahoo Directory: Television Shows Downloads and Streaming Video