Communication Disorders
From SubjectGuides
|
Follow the Libraries on Twitter
|
[edit] NEED RESEARCH HELP? Contact your librarian here.
[edit] BROWSE FOR BOOKS & JOURNALS
*Browse Virtually
1. Change Journal Title to Browse Subjects in the drop-down menu above.
2. Type a subject in the search box. Examples of broad subjects:
Articulation Disorders
Audiology
Audiometry
Communication Disorders
Communicative Disorders
Deafness
Deglutition Disorders
Hearing
Hearing Disorders
Hearing Impaired
Language Disorders
Otolaryngology
Phonology
Sound
Speech Disorders
Speech-Language Pathology
Speech Pathology
Speech Therapy
Voice Disorders
3. Browse the results
*Browse Physically by the Library of Congress Classification Outline. Suggested topics are listed below:
- RC346-429 (specifically RC423-RC429) Internal Medicine. Neurosciences. Neurology. Diseases of the nervous system including speech disorders (4th Floor)
- RF110-320 Otorhinolaryngology. Otology. Diseases of the ear (4th Floor)
- RF460-547 Otorhinolaryngology. Laryngology. Diseases of the throat (4th Floor)
[edit] SEARCH FOR BOOKS & JOURNALS
To conduct title or author searches for books, change the drop-down menu below to Author or Title.
To conduct title searches for journals, use the search box below.
To conduct Keyword searches, or any search not listed in the drop-down menu below, go straight to the Library catalog, AUBIECat.
[edit] FIND ARTICLES
To find magazine/journal articles, search the Library databases. Those with significant holdings on topics related to Communication Disorders/Speech-Pathology/Audiology are described below. NOTE: If you are searching off-campus, you will need your AU global ID and password.
Communication & Language
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (via EBSCO) includes indexing and abstracting of over 500 journals along with fulltext for nearly 380 journals. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State). 1915-present. EBSCO Tutorial
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (via CSA) indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences from over 1,500 publications. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. It also includes book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. 1973-present. CSA Tutorial
Education
- ERIC (via EBSCO) is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.3 million articles and links to more than 317,000 full text documents. 1966-present. EBSCO Tutorial
Medical
- MEDLINE (via Ovid) provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,200 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present. PubMed is a free website that includes MEDLINE plus. Ovid Tutorial PubMed Tutorials
- CINAHL (via EBSCO)provides indexing, abstracts, and some full text of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields from 2,960 journals. 1982-present. CINAHL Tutorial
Multidisciplinary
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCO) and Academic OneFile (via Gale) are large multidisciplinary databases containing full text for thousands of publications, most of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, these databases offer indexing and abstracts for many more journals. These scholarly collections provide information in nearly every area of academic study. EBSCO Tutorial Academic OneFile Guide
- LexisNexis Academic provides full text access to medical news and medical & health journals. It also covers current news and newspapers, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, and legal cases. LexisNexis Tutorials
Psychology
- PsycINFO (via EBSCO)contains indexes, abstracts, and some full text of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology. 1887-present. EBSCO Tutorial
[edit] REFERENCE TOOLS
All located in 2nd Floor Reference section (near Reference Desk) 2nd Floor Map
- RC 423.C644 1996 Communication disorders sourcebook : basic information about deafness and hearing loss, speech and language disorders, voice disorders, balance and vestibular disorders, and disorders of smell, taste, and touch edited by Linda M. Ross.
- RC423.G64 1998 Sourcebook for medical speech pathology by Lee Ann C. Golper.
- RC423.H338 1996 Desk reference of assessment instruments in speech and language by Lonnie G. Harris and Ivy Skaife Shelton.
- RC423.H3827 2008 Hegde's pocketGuide to communication disorders by M.N. Hegde.
- RC423.H38286 2008 Hegde's pocketGuide to assessment in speech-language pathology by M.N. Hegde.
- RC423.H38288 2008 Hegde's pocketGuide to treatment in speech-language pathology by M.N. Hegde.
- RC423.R586 1998 Speech-language pathology desk reference by Ross J. Roeser, Donise W. Pearson and Emily A. Tobey.
- RF290.R64 1996 Roeser’s audiology desk reference : a guide to the practice of audiology by Ross J. Roeser.
- RF290.T93 2004 The encyclopedia of deafness and hearing disorders by Carol Turkington and Allen E. Sussman.
[edit] CITING SOURCES
APA Formatting and Style Guide (courtesy of Purdue University)
Citation Applications (that will do the citation for you)
[edit] ASSOCIATIONS & ORGANIZATIONS
American Academy of Audiology (AAA)
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSSLHA)
[edit] CAMPUS LINKS
Auburn University Department of Communication Disorders
Auburn University Libraries on Facebook
Auburn University Libraries on Flickr