Consumer Affairs
From SubjectGuides
[edit] Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley:
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
(334)-844-1768 RBD Library 2nd Floor
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.
[edit] Subject Databases
ABI/INFORM : http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ABI
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics,finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation. Coverage is from 1971 forward and approximately 60% of the database is full text.
Academic Universe : http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ACADU
An index and database of business news and information, legal news, cases, and general news from many regional and national newspapers. Much of the material is full text.
Business Newsbank : http://www.lib.auburn.edu/NEWSBANK
Provides hard-to-find local and regional business newspaper articles from over 400 U.S. cities. Covering private and public companies, its monthly updates provide current full-text articles and index citations to specific company and industry issues and events.
Business Source Premier: http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BSP
Provides full text for nearly 930 journals covering business, management,economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.
Emerald Intelligence: http://www.lib.auburn.edu/MCB
Emerald - the Electronic Management Research Libray Database- puts all the resources of a full management library on to a standard PC. Brought to you by MCB University Press, it delivers multi-user access to over 130 journals.
Ergonomics Abstracts: http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ERGAB
Ergonomics Abstracts is an abstracting service spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, Ergonomics Abstracts is a rich source of information for any professional needing information not only on mainstream ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
PsycINFO: http://www.lib.auburn.edu/PI
PsycINFO indexes decades of Psychological Research. Particularly useful to Consumer Affairs researchers are the papers related to customer motivation and choices.
Textile Technology Index: http://www.lib.auburn.edu/TEXTILE
Provides international coverage of textile literature and related subjects. The database covers over 650 journals as well as books, theses, patents, standards and conferences. Subjects include dyeing, mill operation, man- made fibers, preservation, apparel design, marketing and statistics.
World Textile Abstracts (Print Only):
A comprehensive index of textile abstracts located on the 4th floor of the RBD Library. [TS 1300 .W6].
[edit] General Databases
Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present
Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA
1861 – Present.The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.
Current Awareness Resources
Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA
A database of article information taken from over 20,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students, and staff.
[edit] Industry Information
[edit] Industry Overviews
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys [DESK REF HG 4921. S66]
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook [DESK REF HC 101. U54]
TradeStats Express Home http://tse.export.gov/
This page provides links to ITA websites which provide coverage of key industrial and services clusters: Technology and Aerospace, Tourism, Basic Industries, Environmental Technologies, Service Industries and Finance, and Textiles-Apparel and Consumer Goods.
Current Industrial Reports of the U.S. Census Bureau http://www.census.gov/ftp/pub/cir/www/
Best searched by CIRs by Subsector.
Corporate Information http://www.corporateinformation.com
[edit] Industry Norms & Business Ratios
Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios [DESK REF HF 5681 .R25 I5344]
RMA Annual Statement Studies [DESK REF HF 5681. B2 R6]
Troy's Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios [DESK REF HF 5681. R25 T68]
Market Share
Market Share Reporter [REF HF 5410. M35]
World Market Share Reporter [REF HF 5410. W67]
Ward's Business Directory - Volume 5 [organized by SIC] [REF HG 4057.a575 1999 v.1-8]
[edit] Classification Systems
Standard Industrial Classification Search http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html
North American Industrial Classification System http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
[edit] Reference Tools
Apparel contractors, manufacturers, importers & exporters [Ref HD 9940 .A2 A66 1997]
Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide [Ref G 1019 Q3 R2 1999, on atlas stand near second floor reference desk]
Doing Business in [use this much as a title when searching in AubieCat and you get over 170 entries on various countries across various call numbers: some are in Reference and some are in regular stacks]
Exporters' Encyclopedia (updated with monthly supplements) [Ref HF 3011 .E9]
Financing Operations in (volumes for almost 50 countries) [Ref HG 4538 .B813]
Illustrated Book of World Rankings [Ref HA 155 .K87 1997]
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics [Ref HC 59 .Y42]
Investing, Licensing & Trading in (volumes for over 50 countries) [Ref HG 3881 .I75]
Political Handbook of the World [Ref JF 37 .P6]
Political Risk Yearbook (multi-volume set for various regions) [Ref HD 2755.5 .P632]
Principal International Businesses [Ref HF 54 .U5 P74]
State of the World [Ref HC 59 .B766]
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook [Desk Ref (MADD) C 61.34/2][Ref HC 101 .U54]
The World Economic Factbook [Ref HC 59.15 .W669]
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life [Ref GN 333 .W67 1998]
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations [Ref G 63 .W67]
The most recent editions of these are held in the Reference Collection on the Second Floor.
There may be older circulating editions in the same call numbers. These you may check out.
[edit] Company Information
[edit] Company Profiles and Financial Information
Hoovers Online http://www.lib.auburn.edu/HOOVERS
Database of information on more than 50,000 of the largest or fastest growing public and private U.S. companies. Information provided includes company address, number of employees, key people, financial data, news items and selected Web links to company Web sites, SEC filings, and current stock prices.
Edgar - From the SEC EDGAR Filings http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
The online database of all official reports that publically held corporations file with the SEC.
[edit] Company Histories
International Directory of Company Histories [REF HD 2721. I63]
[edit] Annual Reports
Public Register's Annual Report Service http://www.prars.com
Over 2,100 online annual reports included. Also provides the option of ordering free hard copies of the annual reports.
Annual Report Gallery (by Cornerstone) http://www.annualreports.com/
Close to 1,000 online annual reports included from this Website.
[edit] Company Directories
Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Directory: America's leading Public & Private Companies [REF HF 5035.m5 1999 v.1-4]
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies [REF HG 4057.a575 1999 v.1-8]
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers http://www.thomasnet.com
A directory of 160,000 U.S. and Canadian manufacturers. Search by product category, company, or brand name.
[edit] Business Statistics
Statistical Abstracts of the United States http://www.census.gov/statab/www/
An invaluable compilation of statistics mostly provided by governmental agencies. Although it contains more than business statistics, fully two-thirds of the material can be characterized as economic or industrial.
Bureau of Economic Analysis http://www.bea.gov/
Key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S.economy including the Gross Domestic Product.
Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov
This independent national statistical agency collects, processes, analyzes,and disseminates essential statistical data in the broad fields of labor economics and statistics. Includes current data on the Consumer Price Index,Unemployment Rates, Average Hourly Wages, etc.
County Business Patterns http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/cbptotal.html
The divisions of the economy covered are agricultural services, forestry, and fisheries; mining; contract construction; manufacturing; transportation and other public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services.
Statistical Universe http://www.lib.auburn.edu/STATUNIV/
Statistical Universe can be used to find all the statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through the American Statistics Index (ASI); some 1000 of the best statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward through the Statistical Reference Index (SRI); and approximately 2000 indispensable titles from some 100 international intergovernmental organizations, all published annually since 1983 through the Index to International Statistics (IIS).
[edit] Journals
E-journals in Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Arts & Crafts. (Includes fashion magazines)
E-Journals in Business & Economics: Commerce: Marketing & Sales
Fashion Periodicals in the Auburn Library Catalog.
Auburn University Libraries subscribes to hundreds of consumer-related journals, many which are available full-text via computer. To find out which journals we own, and which are available full-text, search AUBIECat: http://aubiecat.auburn.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=hbSearch
[edit] Web Pages
Costume Collection at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History
[edit] Auburn University Department Pages
Auburn University Department of Consumer Affairs
http://www.humsci.auburn.edu/cahs/index.php
If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849
Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387