Counseling Psychology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Subject Headings

Child abuse
Cognition
Cognitive psychology
Cognitive science
Developmental psychology
Memory
Neuropsychology
Perception
Psycholinguistics
Psychological tests
Psychology—Mathematical models
Psychology—Research
Psychology—Statistics
Psychology, Applied
Social psychology


[edit] Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Yearbooks

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling REF 31 B25

A Dictionary of Psychology Print and Electronic Access

Oxford Reference Online

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral ScienceREF BF 31 .E52 2001

Print & Electronic Access

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology 1983. (eds. Harre and Lamb) BF31 .E555 1983

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior 4 vols. REF BF 31 .E5 1994

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family 2 vols. HQ 9 .E52 2003

Handbook of Cross-Cultural Psychology 2nd edition, 1-2, 4-6 vols. GN 502 .H361

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders: DSM-IV RC 455.2 .C4 D76 2004

DSM-IV (PsychiatryOnline)

[edit] Tests and Measurements

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business 4th ed. REF BF 176 .T43 1997

Test Critiques 10 vols. REF BF 176 .T419

Tests in Print V: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests (The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements) BF 698.5 .B87

Fourteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook (The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements) REF 153.94 M549 2001

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.


[edit] Databases

PsycINFO 1887-Current. Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations, books and book chapters. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. Approximately 40% of the articles in this database are full text through this interface.

PsycARTICLES Provides access to full text articles from the American Psychological Association journals and selected Educational Publishing Foundation journals, mostly from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES is a sub-set of PsycINFO, so you will find all articles from PsycARTICLES when searching PsycINFO.

PsychiatryOnline Provides full text access to the main publications of the American Psychiatric Association including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR®). In addition to various psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools this database provides online versions of the following journals: The American Journal of Psychiatry (AJP), Psychiatric Services , Academic Psychiatry, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences , and Psychosomatics.

Google Scholar Searching Google Scholar in the Advanced Search mode has become the preferred method of searching for articles and books in many disciplines. Sometimes our full-text journals can be linked directly from Google Scholar (such as the Science Direct journals) and other times you'll need to search the journal title, or book title, in our catalog to gain electronic (or paper) access.

ScienceDirect A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also, provides full-text access to all the American Psychological Association journals. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation. All the APA journals are included in ScienceDirect.

[edit] Journals

Adolescence Refereed/Peer Reviewed
American Journal of Psychiatry Refereed/Peer Reviewed
American Psychologist Refereed/Peer Reviewed
American Journal of Forensic Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Annual Review of Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Assessment Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Behavior Today Refereed/Peer Reviewed (currently known as Mental Health Weekly)
Child & Family Behavior Therapy Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Families in Society: The Journal of Contemporary Human Services Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Infant Mental Health Journal Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Abnormal Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Applied Behavioral Science Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Consulting Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed (currently known as Psychological Assessment)
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed (currently known as Psychological Assessment)
Journal of Counseling Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Family Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Family Psychotherapy Refereed/Peer Reviewed (previously known as Journal of Psychotherapy & the Family)
Journal of Marital and Family Therapy Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Marriage & the Family Refereed/Peer Reviewed (currently known as Journal of Marriage & Family)
Journal of Pastoral Care
Journal of Pediatric Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Psychology and Christianity Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Journal of Psychology & Theology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Law and Human Behavior Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Mental Health Weekly(previously known as Behavior Today)
Neuropsychology Review Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Neuropsychological Rehabilitation Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Pastoral Psychology Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Psychiatry Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Psychoanalytic Social Work Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Psychological Assessment Refereed/Peer Reviewed (previously known as Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology)
Psychological Science: A Journal of the American Psychological Society Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Psychology for Living
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Psychology Today
Social Service Review Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Social Work: Journal of the National Association of Social Workers Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Social Work Research Refereed/Peer Reviewed
Youth & Society Refereed/Peer Reviewed

[edit] Web Sites

National Council on Alcoholism & Drug Dependence, Inc.

Contains a wealth of information on prevention and treatment programs, fact sheets, and links to similar organizations.


The National Center on Addiction & Substance Abuse at Columbia University.

The only national organization which brings together under one roof all the professional disciplines needed to study and combat abuse of all substances.


Social Psychology Network

Hosted by Wesleyan University. Links to thousands of social psychological and psychology related resources. Either select a topic or type in a keyword. There is a link to resources for classroom discussions. Links to information on the social psychological aspects of current events.


Internet Mental Health

Lists descriptions and treatments of disorders. Contains a glossary of terms. Gives information on medications including warnings, precautions, and adverse effects.


National Institute of Mental Health

A government agency that conducts and supports research nationwide on mental illness and mental health. You can type your search topic. Leads you to quick links on health information written in an easy to understand language.


Psych Web


American Psychological Association

Information about careers, conferences, full-texts of selected articles from APA journals. Considered to be an “outstanding source of information about psychology and psychological resources on the Internet” by Choice, August, 2006.