Counselor Education

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] SUGGESTED SUBJECT HEADINGS

The following is a list of suggested subject headings for use in searching the library catalog for materials dealing with Counselor Education:

Achievement tests, Behavioral assessment, Group counseling, Child study, Grief, Children, Counseling of Handicapped, Health counseling, Counselors, Training of Counselors, Mainstreaming in education, Professional ethics, Minorities, Cross-cultural counseling, School-to-work transition, Educational counseling, Teenagers, Educational tests & measurements, Vocational guidance, Study guides, national counselor examinations, occupational aptitude tests


[edit] REFERENCE SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Educational Research. LB15 .E48 1992 3rd Floor

Encyclopedia of educational research. waiting for newer edition

Counseling and the Therapeutic State. HV 95 C675

Handbook on Testing. LB3051 .H3199 1997

Educational Testing Service. LB3051 .E79 1992

Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law. (1981-). KF4102 .D47 (1984, 1986, 1989, 1996, 2000)

Dictionary of Developmental and Educational Psychology. BF712.7 .D53 1986

Assessing adolescents in educational, counseling, and forensic settings. Electronic Book and BF 724.25 .H64 1999

Counselor Preparation. L 901 .C85 v.1-2

Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. 14th ed. Z 695.1 .E3 E34 2001 (Located at the Reference Desk)

Educational research, methodology and measurement an international handbook. LB1028 .E3184 1997 3rd Floor.

Tests a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business. BF176 .T43 1997 order new edition

Assessing Young Children. LB 1131 .M6146 2007 3rd Floor

International Encyclopedia of Educational Evaluation. LB2822.75 .I57 1990


[edit] INDEXES (Printed)

Reading tests and reviews; including a classified index to The mental measurements yearbooks. LB1050.46 .B87

Vocational tests and reviews: a monograph consisting of the vocational sections of the seven Mental measurements yearbooks (1938-1972) and Tests in print II (1974). HF5381.7 .V58

Education Index. v.1 (1929/1930)-v.43 (1992/1993) L 11 .E228 3rd Floor

Mental Measurements Yearbook. 1940 - 2005 BF 176 .M46 Print and online access available.

Tests in Print: an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. BF 176 .T45


[edit] Indexes & Databases

Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Dissertations & Theses

Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

EdResearch Online

Australian Council for Educational Research's database; includes more than 12,000 research documents and articles Covers much of what is indexed in the Australian Education Index (AEI) 9,000 freely available in full text, mostly post-1996. Remainder available for a fee ($22 Australian)


Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.


ERIC (via EBSCO)

ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.2 million articles and documents from 1966 onward. ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is a digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal and non-journal literature. Currently, more than 650 journals are indexed in ERIC. In addition, ERIC displays more than 100,000 full-text materials (Eric Documents) in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. Updated Monthly.


ERIC~ Education Resources Information Center.

Updated Weekly.


JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Health & General Science Collection.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.


Professional Collection

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour online access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator.


Professional Development Collection

Provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.


PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports.Covers nearly 2000 periodicals in over 25 languages.


Psych Articles

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.


Social Sciences Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.


Social Sciences Full Text

Indexes, abstracts and full-text from periodicals covers areas that include addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, policy sciences, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies.


Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.


Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.


[edit] JOURNALS

Adolescence Peer reviewed/Refereed

AIDS Education and Prevention Peer reviewed/Refereed

American Psychologist Peer reviewed/Refereed

Career Development Quarterly

Child Abuse & Neglect Peer reviewed/Refereed

Child Development Peer reviewed/Refereed

Child Therapy Today (Previous title Child Therapy News)

Contemporary Educational Psychology Peer reviewed/Refereed

Counseling Psychologist Peer reviewed/Refereed

Counselor Education and Supervision Peer reviewed/Refereed

Educational and Psychological Measurement Peer reviewed/Refereed

Elementary School Guidance and Counseling Former titles: Elementary School Guidance and Counseling, School Counselor, Elementary Counselor) Peer reviewed/Refereed

International Journal of Reality Therapy Peer reviewed/Refereed

Journal for Specialists in Group Work Peer reviewed/Refereed

Journal of Addictive Diseases Peer reviewed/Refereed

Journal of Adult Development Peer reviewed/Refereed

Journal of Applied Behavioral Science Peer reviewed/Refereed

Journal of Applied Rehabilitation Counseling

Journal of Career Development Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Psychotherapy & the Family Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Counseling and Development Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Counseling Psychology Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Educational Psychology Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Employment Counseling Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Mental Health Counseling Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Rational emotive & Cognitive Behavior Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of sex education & therapy Peer reviewed/refereed

Journal of Sex Research Peer reviewed/refereed

Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development(MECD) Peer reviewed/refereed

Professional Psychology: Research and Practice Peer reviewed/refereed

Professional School Counseling (Formed by the union of: Elementary School Guidance & Counseling, and School Counselor.) Peer reviewed/refereed

Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin Peer reviewed/refereed

Small Group Research (Formerly Small Group Behavior). Peer reviewed/refereed


[edit] WEB SITES

National Library of Education
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI)