Curriculum and Teaching

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
Education Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Ask A Librarian ~ Chat Email Phone
Spring 2009 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 11 - 1 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 5 - 9 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment


Contents

[edit] SUGGESTED SUBJECT HEADINGS

Browse the Shelves

L Education
LB 5 to 3640 Theory and Practice
LB 1025 to 1050
Teaching (principle and practice of Education)

Search the library catalog

Curricula Active Learning
Curriculum Planning Learning Objectives
Education Lesson Plans
Instruction Lesson Planning
Instructional Objectives Objectives, Educational
Instructional Systems


[edit] Databases & Indexes

Academic OneFile

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, most of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.


Britannica Online

Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (tenth edition); the Britannica Book of the Year; and links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.


Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

ERIC via Ebsco

Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 950,000 articles and documents from 1966 onward.


ERIC ~ Education Resources Information Center

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, ERIC provides free access to bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.

Kraus Curriculum Development Library

This searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.


MasterFile Premier

Provides full text for over 1,810 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.


Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.


Professional Collection

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour online access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator.


[edit] Journals

American Secondary Education*

Childhood Education**

Children’s Literature in Education**

Children & Schools*

Scholastic Choices**

Curriculum Inquiry**

Curriculum Review**

Education**

Education Digest**

Education Week**

Elementary School Journal**

Instructor**

International Journal of Instructional Media**

Journal of Curriculum Studies

Journal of Curriculum and Supervision**

Teacher Magazine**

The High School Journal*

[edit] Organizations & Associations

National Center for Education Statistics

This web site is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

Phi Delta Kappa International

This site is an international association of professional educators.

ALABAMA'S COUNTERPART Department of Public Instruction

The U. S. Department of Education

Ensures equal access to education and promotes educational excellence for all Americans.

[edit] Websites

Apple Learning Interchange

An online resource for teaching, learning, research, and collaboration, which includes K-12 and higher education.

Brain POP

Animated movies and activities in math, science,social science, health, English and technology.

CEC Columbia Education Center

Lesson plans created by teachers

Discovery Education

Dedicated to making teaching and learning an exciting, rewarding adventure for students, teachers, and parents. A division of the Discovery Communications.

Education World

A web site with multiple resources for people in education that offers recent news, support, lesson plans, and reference.

Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators

A division of the Discovery Communications

MarcoPolo

Provides high quality standard-base internet content and professional development to K-12 teachers and students.

PBS: Slavery and the Making of America

Lesson plans and activities created in conjunction with their award winning TV specials.