ENGL1120 Olsen

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Contact for Help

Tim Dodge

History and Political Science Librarian

dodgeti@auburn.edu

334-844-1729


Karen Tatarka

English Literature and Language Librarian

kvt0001@auburn.edu

334-844-7681

[edit] Library Session 1

[edit] Opposing Viewpoints

How to search Opposing Viewpoints:

  • Enter your search terms. Remember to use the word "AND" between your search terms to look for articles that contain multiple words
  • Select the "Keyword" radio button beneath the search box.
  • Check off "Magazines" in the "content type" box.
  • Click the Search button.


Click here for a brief video tutorial.


[edit] Academic Search Premier

How to search Academic Search Premier:

  • Enter your search terms. In this database, the words "and," "or," "not" are provided for you in drop down boxes.
  • Select "Full Text" under the "Limit Your Results" option.
  • Click the Search button.
  • When your results are displayed, you can narrow your results to just articles from magazines by clicking on "Magazines" under "Source Types" on the left side of the screen.


Click here for a brief video tutorial.


[edit] Academic OneFile

How to search Academic OneFile:

  • Enter your search terms. Remember to use the word "AND" between your search terms to look for articles that contain multiple words.
  • Click the radio button next to "Entire document".
  • Click the check box next to "documents with full text".
  • Click on the Search button.
  • One your results are returned, click on the "Magazines" tab at the top of the page to view only articles appearing in magazines.


Click here for a brief video tutorial.

[edit] Library Session 2

[edit] Scholarly and Popular Periodicals

For this assignment, and for your research as you continue your studies, it is important to know if the article you are reading is popular or scholarly.

Generally, scholarly articles are seen to have more authority since they are written by experts in the field you are researching. These articles often present original research and have most likely gone through a review process by other experts in the field before they were published.

Popular articles do not go through a review process and are meant to appeal to a broad audience. These articles may address your topic, but are written with a more general approach.

Need help determining if an article is scholarly or popular? Click here for help.

[edit] Databases by Subject

This link is a way for you to identify more specialized databases arranged by discipline. Not all of the article citations will be scholarly but due to the more specialized nature of these databases, it's pretty likely you will encounter more scholarly articles here.

[edit] Library Session 3

[edit] Interpreting Journal Citations

Being able to interpret journal citations is important because it will tell you some key information about the article you are reading, such as its currency, the title of the journal, and the volume and issue number. Information such as the title, volume and issue number will be especially important if you need to find the article in print format.

Need a refresher on the parts of a journal citation? Try the tutorial provided by the University of Missouri-St. Louis Library here.


[edit] Troubleshooting ArticleLinker

Remember that not every article you want will come up full-text through ArticleLinker. If the article does not come up full-text, follow these steps:

  • Review your citation. Are you looking for a journal or a book? If you are searching for a journal, make note of the volume, issue number, and date of publication.
  • Search the Library catalog for the title of the book or journal that you are looking for. Remember to select "Title" or "Journal Title" from the drop down box.
  • If your search for a journal title pulls up multiple records in the catalog, find the record that includes the year of publication for your article in the line labeled "Available."
  • If your book or journal is available in print in the Library, make note of the call number. Books and older journals are shelved together in the Library.
  • If there is no match in the catalog for the book or journal you need, consider using InterLibrary Loan.

Click here for a quick tutorial on ArticleLinker.