ENGL1127 Bertolet
From SubjectGuides
|
Contact for Help Karen Tatarka English Literature and Language Librarian 334-844-7681 |
[edit] Library Session 1
[edit] Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier (ASP)/Newspaper Source/MasterFILE Premier
How to search ASP/Newspaper Source/MasterFILE Premier:
- After entering ASP, click on "Choose databases" near the top of the search screen.
- From the pop-up menu that appears, click on "Newspaper Source" and "MasterFILE Premier" and then "OK."
- Enter in your search terms. Remember to use synonyms and linking words (and, or, not)!
- Under "Limit Your Results," click on "Full Text."
- At the bottom of the page, you will see a "limiters" section for each database. For ASP, select both "Periodical" and "Newspaper." For MasterFILE Premier, select both "Periodical" and "Newspaper." For Newspaper Source, select both "Newspaper" and "Magazine."
| ASP/Newspaper Source/MasterFILE |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] LexisNexis Academic
How to search LexisNexis Academic:
- Select the "News" tab at the top left hand side of the search screen.
- Enter in your search terms. Remember to use synonyms and linking words (and, or, not)!
- From the drop down menu below each search box used, select "In headline, lead paragraphs & indexing."
- At the bottom of the search page next to "Specify date," select a date range that you think will work best for your search. You can always expand or narrow the date range based on your results.
| LexisNexis Academic |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] NewsBank
How to search NewsBank:
- Enter in your search terms. Remember to use synonyms and linking words (and, or, not)!
- Select "Lead/First Paragraph" from the drop down menus to the left of each search term.
- Click "Search."
| NewsBank |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] Internet Resources
Cosmopolitan Magazine (through MasterFILE Premier)
Entertainment Weekly (through MasterFILE Premier)
People (through MasterFILE Premier)
Vogue (through LexisNexis Academic)
[edit] Does the Library have my source in print?
- Go to AUBIECat.
- In the Basic Search screen, type in the name of your source and choose "Journal Title" from the menu to the right of the search box.
- Scan through the list and look for the title that is followed by the words [print] or [print/microform]. Don't be fooled! Magazines, journals and periodicals change names all the time. For the most current print or print/microform record, look for ones that have "9999" as the end date in the far right column.
- Check to see if the Library is still currently receiving issues.
| AUBIECat |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] Library Session 2
[edit] Is the website I want to use reputable?
Be skeptical, be cautious!
Questions to ask yourself:
- What can the URL tell you?
- Who wrote the page?
- Is it current or has it not been updated in awhile?
- If it cites information, are the citations authentic?
- Is the information presented in a reliable manner or is it overrun with advertisements, spelling errors, grammatical errors, etc.?
- Can you detect a bias?
- Could the page have been produced as a satire or spoof?
For more detailed information on evaluating web pages, refer to your handout or visit:
Finding Information on the Internet from UC Berkley.
Evaluating Web Sites from Cornell.
[edit] Library Session 3
[edit] Finding Articles To Support Your Point Of View
For your fourth paper of the term, you will need to take a position on an issue that is important to you. To support your position, you will need to conduct research to find articles that support your point of view and maybe even some articles that disagree with your point of view so that you can refute them and make your argument stronger.
Some good general databases to get started in for this assignment are:
[edit] Academic Search Premier
How to search Academic Search Premier:
- Enter your search terms. In this database, the words "and," "or," "not" are provided for you in drop down boxes.
- Click the Search button.
- When your results are displayed, you can narrow your results by publication type to magazines, newspapers, or journals on the left hand side of the screen under "Source Types".
| Academic Search Premier |
Click here for a brief video tutorial. and
[edit] Opposing Viewpoints
How to search Opposing Viewpoints:
- If you are conducting a search and have already come up with keywords and synonyms, click on "Advanced" in the light blue bar near the top of the screen.
- Enter your search terms. In the advanced search mode, the words "and," "or," "not" are provided for you in drop down boxes.
- Select "keyword" from the drop down box next to each search field.
- Click the Search button.
| Opposing Viewpoints |
Click here for a brief video tutorial.
You may find that these databases do not cover the topic on which you wish to write. Where do you go? The Library has broken down its large database collection into more manageable lists by subject.
[edit] Databases By Subject
Generally, the databases at the top of the list are the ones that are used most heavily in a subject area and/or have the most in-depth coverage.
[edit] Searching Lexis/Nexis For Campus Publications Only (e.g. The Plainsman)
Lexis/Nexis Academic has a way that you can search just for articles within University and College Newspapers. Click here for a brief video tutorial.
[edit] Help With Citations
Purdue University has a handy web-based guide to citing in a variety of formats: