ENGL4380
From SubjectGuides
|
Contact for Help Karen Tatarka English Literature and Language Librarian 334-844-7681 |
[edit] Oxford Dictionary of National Biography(OXNB)
What it can help you do:
- Provide a sense of the historical context in which the author worked.
- Learn about the author's life and personal and political factors that may have impacted his/her work.
- Provide you with "Sources" to help get you started in your research.
- Link you to "Themes" related to your author.
| OXNB |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] British Periodicals From The 18th Century
What they can help you do:
- Provide information about the author that was published during or shortly after his/her life.
- Provide historical context for life and work (e.g. What was happening the first time School For Scandal was performed?)
- Provide you with special information that can help further your research (e.g. variant spellings: Lennox and Lenox; Quixote and Quixotte)
Ways to access British periodicals from the 18th Century:
Microfilm:
- English Literary Periodicals: microfilm PR 1 .E54, Guide
- Early English Newspapers: Call numbers vary by newspaper title, guide PN 5113 .E262
- Burney Collection: microfilm PN 5113 .E26
| 18th Century Periodicals On Microfilm | ||
Digital:
Historical Newspapers Online: Covers the Times of London full text from 1800-1870.
| Historical Newspapers Online |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
What it can help you do:
All of the features provided by 18th Century periodicals PLUS
- Find multiple editions of an author's work.
- Find other, lesser known, works by an author.
- Find other works inspired in some way by the author you are researching.
- Find that your author subscribed to certain publications.
| ECCO |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] JSTOR
What it can help you do:
- Find modern (as opposed to 18th Century) scholarly articles, recent research, and brief reviews of books on you topic.
- Full text journal articles.
- OCR'd for full text search capability.
| JSTOR |
Click here for a video tutorial.
[edit] Nineteenth-century Collections Online (NINES)
What it can help you do:
- Clue you in to important Internet resources.
- Help you conduct your research against several databases simultaneously (federated searching).
- Help you find resources that the Library may not own, but you can request through Interlibrary Loan.
| NINES |
Click here for a video tutorial.