ENGL 4140 -- Sabino

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Contact for Help

Karen Tatarka

English Literature and Language Librarian

kvt0001@auburn.edu

334-844-7681


[edit] LexisNexis Academic

What it can help you do:

  • Find up-to-date information on the Official English Movement in newspapers, magazines, newswires, legal journals, etc.
  • Articles are available full-text.

Click here for a video tutorial.


[edit] MLA International Bibliography

What it can help you do:

  • Locate bibliographic records for articles, book reviews, etc. from thousands of journals that publish scholarly research relating to the study of English Language and Literature.
  • Some articles or book reviews may be full-text.
  • Others you will have to locate using ArticleLinker, the Library's catalog, or request through Interlibrary Loan.

Click here for a video tutorial.


[edit] Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

What it can help you do:

  • Provides access to abstracts of dissertations, articles in scholarly journals, books, and book chapters.
  • Will contain abstracts of articles on the Official English Movement as well as on the relationship between language and ethnicity.

Click here for a video tutorial.


[edit] Finding Books in the Library

[edit] Searching by Library of Congress Subject Heading

(choose "Browse Subject" from drop down box when searching the Catalog on the Library's home page).

  • Language and languages--Variation
  • Linguistic change
  • Sociolinguistics


[edit] I want to browse for books on my topic

What is the call number range for books on my topic? Visit the Library Of Congress subclass listing for Linguistics here.


[edit] I want to search for a book by keyword

like we did in the databases. How do I do that?

Go to the Library's home page and click on "Keyword Search" under the general search box. You can search in the catalog just as you would in a database, but remember that instead of using "*" for truncation, use "?".