English 1120 Fall 2009 Collins

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Here you'll find links to some of the research databases that we've talked about in our ENGL 1120 library sessions. If you have questions about using any of these resources, or if you need help finding additional resources:

Stop by the RBD Library Reference Desk (2nd floor) or call 844-1737
Chat/Email with a librarian at www.lib.auburn.edu/chat
Or contact Suzy or me directly: Juliet Rumble at rumbljt@auburn.edu or 844-0236 OR Suzy Westenkirchner at 844-2817 or suzywest@auburn.edu

[edit] Library Session Two

For Essay Three, you will need to locate 2 scholarly (or peer-reviewed) articles that address your film or themes addressed by your film. Click here for a guide to types of periodicals (popular, scholarly, or trade).

Interdisciplinary Databases:To locate articles that provide scholarly reviews and analyses of your film, you may want to start with these interdisciplinary databases:

Academic Search Premier
Project Muse


Subject Databases: You can use subject databases to retrieve articles in journals that focus on a specific discipline. From the library homepage, go to Find--> Articles and Databases--> Databases by Subject

You may find the following subject databases particularly helpful when searching for articles that provide analyses of your film OR address themes raised by your film. These databases may be accessed from the Databases by Title list (or click on the links below):

Film Review Index:indexes articles in journals related to film and television. Coverage: 1976-2001
Communication and Mass Media Complete: indexes articles in journals focused on communications and mass media (including film)
MLA International Bibliography: indexes articles in literature journals
ERIC and Education Research Complete : index articles in education journals
America: History and Life: indexes articles in American history journals
PsycINFO: : indexes articles in psychology journals
Ethnic Newswatch: indexes articles in newspapers, magazines, and journals that address minority and ethnic issues
Sociological Abstracts: indexes articles in sociology journals

[edit] Library Session One

The databases listed below are accessible from the library's homepage (http://lib.auburn.edu) under Find--> Articles and Databases--> Databases by Title


Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier indexes articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals. Many articles are available full-text online. You may limit your search to scholarly journals. Multi-disciplinary coverage.

The sample search illustrated below would retrieve magazine and journal articles that discuss the relation between obedience and authority and conscience (or morality).


Image:obedience_authority_conscience_ASP.jpg