English 1120 Fall 2009 Guidry
From SubjectGuides
Here you'll find links to some of the research databases that we've talked about in our ENGL 1120 library sessions. If you have questions about using any of these resources, or if you need help finding additional resources:
- Stop by the RBD Library Reference Desk (2nd floor) or call 844-1737
- Chat/Email with a librarian at www.lib.auburn.edu/chat
- Or contact Suzy or me directly: Juliet Rumble at rumbljt@auburn.edu or 844-0236 OR Suzy Westenkirchner at 844-2817 or suzywest@auburn.edu
[edit] Library Session Two
Class Exercise: What are the differences between articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals? Examine the two sample articles below. Are they popular or scholarly? List at least 3 reasons why you think so.
Compelling Yet Unreliable Theories of Sustainability
Click here for a guide to types of periodicals (popular, scholarly, or trade).
Subject Databases: You will be using subject databases to retrieve articles in journals that focus on a specific discipline. From the library homepage, go to Find--> Articles and Databases--> Databases by Subject
You may find the following subject databases particularly helpful when searching for articles on sustainability topics. These databases may be accessed from the Databases by Title list (or click on the links below):
- GreenFILE: indexes articles that address all aspects of human impact on the environment. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: indexes articles in environmental, life sciences, and engineering journals.
- Business Source Premier: indexes articles in business journals.
- Engineering Village: indexes articles in engineering journals.
- Sociological Abstracts: indexes articles in sociology journals
Newspaper Databases: try these databases for local news coverage of your topic.
- NewsBank Access World News
- Newspaper Source
- LexisNexis Academic: Select the "News" tab at the top of the database search page. You may select "University Wires" from the "Sources" drop-down menu. This will enable you to retrieve articles in campus newspapers (such as the Auburn Plainsman).
[edit] Library Session One
The databases listed below are accessible from the library's homepage (http://lib.auburn.edu) under Find--> Articles and Databases--> Databases by Title
CQ Researcher features reports on a variety of topics. This is a good place to start if you are brainstorming topics or looking for background information on your topic. Type in "sustainability" into the search box, for example, and take a look at the search results.
LexisNexis Academic is an excellent place to look for newspaper articles. Select the "News" tab at the top of the database search page. You may select "University Wires" from the "Sources" drop-down menu. This will enable you to retrieve articles in campus newspapers (such as the Auburn Plainsman).
Academic Search Premier indexes articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals. Many articles are available full-text online. Multi-disciplinary coverage.
The sample search illustrated below would retrieve magazine and journal articles that discuss the marketing of "green" products.
