English Indexes and Databases by Topic

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Contact:

Karen Tatarka
English Language and Literature Librarian
RBD Library 2nd floor
334-844-7681


[edit] Criticism

MLA International Bibliography

Index of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. more

Contemporary Literary Criticism

Full-text database of biographies and criticism of major contemporary works.

Literature Online

Provides access to some full-text journal articles, bibliographic citations from the MLA International Bibliography and ABELL (the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature). more

Project Muse

Offers full text access to journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers, among other fields, literature and criticism. more

JSTOR

Provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the humanities. more

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Iter indexes over 630 scholarly journals, covering articles, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). more

Literature Resource Center

Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's Author Series. more

Literary Index

A master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. more

Dissertations and Theses

The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. more

[edit] Primary Sources

ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century. more

Literature Online

Contains over 210,000 full-texts of English and American poems, plays, and novels including rare texts and all folio versions of Shakespeare's works in fully searchable format. more

LitFinder

Contains Poem finder, an international collection of poetry featuring poems, poem citations, and excerpts; Story finder, an online collection of short stories from the classic to the most contemporary, featuring thousands of full-text short stories, plus explanations of stories; and Essay finder, a collection of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century. more

Early American Imprints

Covering American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century, this database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). more

Women Writers Online

Full text access to texts by pre-Victorian women writers. more

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Over 200 digitally recorded works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and drama from the ancient world to twentieth century classics. Also includes text for selected works. more

[edit] Author Biographies

Literature Online

Draws on a database of authors and author information that grows with every monthly release of the service: currently, over 17,000 authors are included, of over 100 different nationalities. more

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

OXNB is an illustrated collection of 50,000 especially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to 2000. more

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Essays provide biographical information as well as critical response of authors from all eras and genres.

Literature Resource Center

Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's Author Series. more

Literary Index

A master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. more

Contemporary Literary Criticism

Full-text database of biographies and criticism of major contemporary works.

Contemporary Authors

A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.

[edit] Linguistics and Language

MLA International Bibliography

Index of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. more

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Abstracts of articles on linguistics and language from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide. more

[edit] Reference Resources

OED (Oxford English Dictionary)

Contains the complete 2nd ed., its three-volume Additions series, and also draft material from the revision programe, which represents the latest progress towards the 3rd ed. more

Middle English Compendium

Provides access and interconnectivity between the Middle English Dictionary and the HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the bibliographies of the Middle English Dictionary. more

Literature Online

Provides access to the Concise Oxford Dictionary, Webster's Dictionary, Shakespeare Glossary, and the King James Bible. more

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press as well as the Oxford Companions Series in a single cross-searchable resource. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauruses, etc. more

MLA International Bibliography

Lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication. more