English Language and Literature

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact:

Nancy Noe
English Language and Literature Librarian
RBD Library 2nd floor
334-844-1774


[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

A Glossary of Literary Terms (PN 41 .A184 1988)

Middle English Compendium Online

The Oxford English Dictionary (REF PE 1625 .O87 1989)

Oxford English Dictionary

Webster's Third New International Dictionary of the English Language,Unabridged (Ref PE 1625 .W36 1981)

[edit] Handbooks and General Reference Books

The Art of Literary Research (PR 56 .A68 1993)

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online

Literary Research Guide (Ref PR 83 .H37 1989)

A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students : English and AmericanLiterature (PR 56 .B34 1995)

Simple & Direct : A Rhetoric for Writers (PE1408 .B4361985)

Writing About Literature: Aims and Process (PE 1479.C7 M33 1987)

[edit] Library of Congress Subject Profile Call Numbers

PN Literature (General Works - History and Collections)

PQ Romance Literature

PR English Literature

PS American Literature

PT Teutonic (German) Literature

PZ Fiction and Juvenile Literature

[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access remotely, type in your university ID and password when prompted.

Subject Databases

MLA Bibliography

Literature Online (Includes ABELL, MLA and several full-text collections)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

JSTOR

Project Muse

Women Writers Online

Dissertations and Thesis

LitFinder (Find full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays)

Contemporary Authors

Scribner Writers Series

Twayne Authors Series

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

[edit] Journals

English Journals at AU

For a comprehensive holdings list, search the library's online catalog by journal title.

[edit] Web Sites

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Victorian Studies Online Teaching Anthology

Victorian Literary Studies Archives - HyperConcordance

[edit] Research Guides

Book Reviews

Literary Criticism

Linguistics Sources

Nineteenth-Century British Women Poets

Victorian Periodicals

[edit] Associations and Societies

Association of Departments of English

A division of the Modern Language Association, this organization lists member information as well as reports and ADE guidelines for member programs and teacher workloads.

Jack London Society

An international non-profit organization that promotes study of the life and work of Jack London, was founded in 1990 as an author society affiliated with the American Literature Association, a coalition of author societies. It numbers over 300 members and continues to grow each year. Membership is open to anyone interested in London.

Modern Language Association

Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy.

New Chaucer Society

The purpose of The New Chaucer Society is to provide a forum for teachers and scholars of Geoffrey Chaucer and his age. To advance such study, the Society organizes biennial international congresses of Chaucerians,publishes the annual Studies in the Age of Chaucer and a semiannual newsletter, and supports such important projects as the Variorum Chaucer, the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography (an electronic version of which is available on-line), and the Middle English Dictionary Project. Participation in NCS congresses is restricted to active members of the Society.

[edit] Auburn University Department of English Web Pages

Auburn University Department of English

The English Channel:Department of English Newsletter