Fisheries & Allied Aquacultures

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
RBD Library 2nd Floor


[edit] Reference Tools


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Biotechnology from A to Z TP 248.16 B 33 1998
Dictionary of Evolutionary Fish Osteology QL639 R 54 1991
Elsevier's Dictionary of Aquaculture: in Six Languages, English, French,Spanish, German, Italian, and Latin Ref SH 201 E 461991
Elsevier's Dictionary of Fishery, Processing, Fish and Shellfish Namesof the World in Five Languages English, French, Spanish, German, and Latin RefSH 201 E 47 1990
Encyclopedia of Fishes Ref QL 614.7 E 535 1998
Encyclopedia of Marine Animals QL 121 C654 1991
Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary of Aquatic Animals and Plants RefQH 90.2 M 85
Water Encyclopedia Ref TD 351 V 36 1990
World Encyclopedia of Fishes Ref QL 614.7 W48 1985

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Aquaculture Desk Reference Ref SH 135 C 74 1993
Aquaculture Sourcebook: a guide to North American Species SH 33 I 94 1992
Atlas of Distribution of the Freshwater Fish Families of the World RefQL 619 B 47
Catalog of the Genera of Recent Fishes Ref QL 618E 88 1990
Catalogue of Freshwater and Marine Fishes of Alabama RefQL 628 A 2 .B 67 1992
Conservation Directory Ref S 920 C 64
Dr. Axelrod's Atlas of Freshwater Aquarium Fishes RefSF 457 A 89 1986
Dr. Burgess's Atlas of Marine Aquarium Fishes Vet. Med. RefSF 457 B 87 1988
FAO Yearbook: Fishery Statistics Ref SH 1 Y 4
Fish Physiology QL 639.1 H 6
Fisherman's Guide: Fishes of the Southeastern United States Ref SH 464 S 68 .M 36 1984
Fishes of the World Ref QL 618 N 4 1994
Freshwater Fishes of the World Ref QL 624 S 713 1966
International Fisheries: Instruments with Index K 3895 I 6737 1998
Multilingual Illustrated Guide to the World's Commercial Coldwater Fish RefSH 201 F 73 1995
Multilingual Illustrated Guide to the World's Commercial Warmwater Fish RefSH 201 F 74 1995
Smith's Sea Fishes Ref QL 635 S 6 .S 55 1986b
Statistical Record of the Environment Ref GE 150D 67 1995

Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
GB 665 Hydrology.
GB 1601 - GB 1798 Lakes, Limnology.
HD 9450 Aquaculture Industry.
QH 90 Water, Aquatic Biology.
QH 96 - QH 98 Freshwater Biology.
QH 541 - QH 557 Stream Ecology.
QK 105 Freshwater Flora.
QL 614 - QL 639 Fishes.
QR 105 - QR 106 Aquatic Bacteriology.
SH Fish Culture, Fisheries.
TA 760 Dams, Earthworks.
TC 540 - TC 555 Dams, Sluices, Spillways, Wiers.
TD 365 - TD 370 Environmental Technology.


Top of page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Covers worldwide literature on biology, ecology, and management of freshwater and marine environments. 1978-Present (For researching aquatic science and fisheries literature from 1972-1978, consult Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts QH 90 A 64.)

Biological Abstracts

Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present (For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)

Medline(from OVID)

Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research,clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present Public access, OLDMEDLINE (1958-1965) (For researching medical literature from 1941-1959, consult Current List of Medical Literature Z 6660 C 8.)

CABAbstracts

CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present (For researching fisheries literature in CAB before 1973, consult Helminthological Abstracts QL 392 H 4 Nutrition Abstracts & Reviews RM 214 N 8.)

Environmental Sciences

Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energyresources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967. For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.

Agricola

National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, bookchapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1979 - Present Public access (For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)

Chemical Abstracts

Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information includingchemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Onlyavailable on campus. (For researching chemical literature from 1907-1966, consult Chemical Abstracts QD 1 A 51.)

AuburnUniversity Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures Theses and Dissertations

A searchable database of about 500 theses and disserations of AU graduatesfrom the Department of Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures.

Zoological Record

Database covers animal behavior, biochemistry, genetics development, morphology,physiology, parasitology, immunology, and taxonomy. 1993 - Present. (For researching zoological literature from 1864 to1993, consult Zoological Record QL 1 Z 675.)


General Databases

Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and featuresfull text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Expanded Academic ASAP (INFOTRAC)

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articlesin over 500 journals are full text. 1980 - Present

Dissertation Abstracts(Digital Dissertations)

1861 - Present. The most current two years are available off campus, butearlier years are only available on campus.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents / Science Edition

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from currentissues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 - Present

Reveal

An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicalsor results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Availableto AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.

Ingenta Uncover Plus

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals covering the years 1945 - Present.


Top of page


[edit] Journals

List of Current Print Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures Journals

E-journals at AU Libraries
This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, please check the library catalog AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in the Basic Search screen of the library catalog, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and a link to an electronic version of the journal to which the library may have a subscription.


Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

Aquatic Animal Health Programs at the Animal Plant Health Inspection Service

APHIS programs currently serve important aspects of both plant and animal aquaculture, especially involving disease, pest prevention, and wildlife damage management

Aquaculture Network Information Center

Gateway to the world's electronic resources for aquaculture

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service

CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.

Envirofacts Data Warehouse

EPA site with environmental data on air quality, water, waste, and more

FAO Fisheries Department
FAO links including recent trends, country profiles, statistics, publications,policies and species identification
Fish FAQ (NEFSC)

Facts and answers to questions about fish, shell fish, other creatures in the sea, and the marine environment

FishBase WWW

Identification and photographs of fish

Ichthyology Web Resources

Online ichthyology resources of scientific and educational value in anorganized directory

Marine biology WEB

Aimed at undergraduates, this site includes guides to literature

National Biological Information Infrastructure

Electronic gateway to biological data and information maintained by federal,state, and local government agencies; private sector organizations; andother partners around the nation and the world

National Marine Fisheries Service

Federal statistics on fisheries with links to other oceanographic sites

National Sea Grant Office
Links to the National Sea-Grant Colleges, including Mississippi-Alabama Sea Grant Consortium & Sea Grant Abstracts
Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia

Site of the Seafood Products Research Center, Center for Food Safety andApplied Nutrition, Food and Drug Administration includes the approved marketnames of fish

Smithsonian Institution

National Museum of Natural History, Fish Division

USDA Economics and Statistics System

Contains reports and datasets, many of which are in spreadsheet formatand include time-series data that are updated yearly

UNESCO-IOC Register of Marine Organisms

A taxonomic database of marine species

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Describes the functions and activities of the FWS with links to the Conservation Library
Web-agri.com

An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages


Top of page


[edit] Research Guides

Encyclopedia of Environmental Information Sources RefTD 170 E 53 1993
A Guide to the Zoological Literature: the Animal Kingdom RefQL 45.2 B 35 1994
Keyguide to Information Sources in Aquaculture RefSH 135 T 87 1989


Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

AFS

American Fisheries Society

ASAE

ASAE: the Society for Engineering in Agricultural, Food, and BiologicalSciences

ASIH

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists

ASLO

American Society of Limnology and Oceanography

NABS

North American Benthological Society

WAS

World Aquaculture Society


Top of page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University

Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.

Subject Specific

Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
BIOSCI/bionet Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology


Top of page


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Departmental and Faculty Web Pages

Department of Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures
FAA theses and dissertations with abstracts
Auburn University Museum Fish Collection
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service: Southeast Region Wildlife and Habitat Management Field Offices

Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Fisheries
Marine Science


Top of page


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: Claudine Jenda