Genealogy
From SubjectGuides
Library Specialist
Joyce Hicks
Hicksjo@auburn.edu
(334) 844-1700
[edit] Getting Started
[edit] Identify what you know about your family.
- Gather information about family members by using family Bibles, journals, letters, newspapers, obituaries and ask relatives.
- Write what you know about your ancestors on a pedigree chart. Start with yourself as # 1.
- Write "surname" in all caps.
- List the dates: i.e. (08 Mar 1895) instead of 3/8/1895.
- Write places in order: City/Township/County/State
[edit] Decide what you need to learn.
- Born?
- Place?
- Married?
- Place?
- Died?
- Place?
Pick one of your ancestors and try to identify needed information (document pertinent information on other relatives as you find it).
[edit] Select records to search.
- There are two types of genealogical records.
- Compiled Records: These records have already been researched by others, such as biographies, family histories.
- Original Records: Records that were created at or near the time of an event, such as; birth, marriage, death or census records.
- Be sure to check computer resources that are available.
4. Obtain & search record:
- Many local libraries have good genealogical materials, especially for the surrounding areas of the library's location. Check Family History Centers, they are an excellent place to obtain records.
- Look at a broad time period. Check for spelling variations, write down your results, document your source, even if you come up empty-handed (it will keep you from checking the same source again).
5. Use your information.
- Evaluate what you've found. Did you find the information that you were looking for? Is that information complete?
- Copy the information to family group sheets and pedigree charts.
- Organize the information. Use a system that works for you, i.e.: cards, notebooks, or computer.
- Share your information with interested family members.
- Many local libraries have good genealogical materials, especially for the surrounding areas of the library's location. Check Family History Centers, they are an excellent place to obtain records.
[edit] Toolbox
[edit] Charts & forms:
[edit] Social Security Death Index
[edit] Soundex Machine---United States Federal Census
[edit] Family name migration
[edit] Abbreviations used
[edit] Information Gathered in Census
[edit] Native American Research How-to
[edit] African American Research How-to
[edit] Chart for determining relationships
[edit] Civil War soldiers & sailors
[edit] Census Information
[edit] Alabama
- Census Indexes: 1820-1870
- Slave Schedules: 1850 -1860
- Microfilm: 1830-1920 (1890 - limited information)
- Soundex: 1880, 1900-1910 Census of Confederate Veterans Residing in Alabama in 1907--A E548 .J65 1998
Alabama 1855 Census Index--A F325 .J334 1981
Alabama 1850 Mortality Schedule--A F325 .J3335 1984
Alabama 1860 Mortality--A F325 .J345 1987
Alabama 1811-1819 Decennary Census Index--A F325 .J33 1983
Alabama 1821-1829 Decennary Census Index--A F325 .J332 1983
Alabama 1831-1839 Decennary Census Index--A F325 .J333 1983
[edit] Georgia
- Census Indexes: 1820-1860
- Slave Schedules: 1850
- Microfilm: 1820-70, 1900-1901
- Soundex: 1900-1910North Carolina:
- Census Indexes: 1800-1870
- Slave Schedules: 1850
- Microfilm: 1790-1830, 1890-limited informationSouth Carolina:
- Census Indexes: 1800-1870
- Slave Schedules: 1850
- Microfilm: 1790-1830, 1850-60, 1890-limited informationVirginia:
- Census Indexes: 1810-1850
- Slave Schedules: 1850
- Microfilm: 1790-1850
Microfilm: Census roll, 1835, of the Cherokee Indians East of the Mississippi River, roll #3792 1832 Census of Creek Indians--A E99 .C9 P37
[edit] Journals
Alabama Records--A F325 .G22
Alabama Soldiers--A F325 .G23
Deep South Genealogical Quarterly--A folio F325 .D43
Everton's Genealogical Helper--Gen CS1 .G38
Mayflower Quarterly--Gen F68 .S64
Settlers of Northeast Alabama--A folio 325 .S4
Tap Roots--A F325 .T3 (Genealogical Society of East Alabama)
Valley Leaves--A folio F325 .V3'''Books:Cherokee By Blood--Gen E99 .C5 J63
Colonial Families of the United States--Gen CS61 .M22
County Courthouse Book--Gen KF8700 .A19 B46 1990
Ethnic Genealogy--Gen CS49 .E83 1983
Germans to America--Gen E184 .G3 G38 1988
Handy Book for Genealogists--Gen CS16 .E85 1981
Historical Southern Families--Gen CS69 .B58
Index to Revolutionary War Service Records--Gen E255 .W56 1995
North Carolina Troops--Gen E573.3 .M4
Owen's History of Alabama & Dictionary of Alabama Biography--A F326 .O9
Passenger & Immigration Lists Index--Gen CS68. P363
Roster of the Confederate Soldiers of Georgia, 1861-1865--Gen E559 .A5
Searching for Your Ancestors--Gen CS16.D6 1992
The Genealogists Address Book--Gen CS 44 .G55
The Roster of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865--Gen E548 .H4 1995
The Source--Gen CS49 .S65 1997
Virtual Roots--Gen CS21 .K46 1997
Vital Records Handbook--Gen CS42.7 .K46 1990
[edit] Associations and Societies
[edit] Alabama Genealogical Society, Inc.
Samford University Library, Special Collections Department
Phone: (205) 870-2749
[edit] Central Alabama Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 125, Selma, AL 36702-0125
[edit] The Genealogical Society of East Alabama, Inc.
P.O. Box 2892, Opelika, AL 36803
[edit] Mobile Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 6224, Mobile, AL 36606
http://www.siteone.com/clubs/mgs/
[edit] Montgomery Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 230194, Montgomery, AL 36123-0194
[edit] Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 674, Gadsden, AL 35902
[edit] Pike County Historical and Genealogical Society
Rt.2, Box 272, Goshen, AL 36035
[edit] Southeast Alabama Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 143, Dothan, AL 36302
[edit] Tennessee Valley Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1568, Huntsville, AL 35807
http://www.tvgs.org
[edit] Georgia Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 54575, Atlanta, GA 30308-0575
http://www.gagensociety.org/links.htm
[edit] Muscogee Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 761, Columbus, GA 31902
http://www.muscogeegenealogy.com/
[edit] National Genealogical Society
[edit] Websites
- Algenweb
- Alabama Department of Archives & History
- Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy
- Bureau of Land Management
- Cyndi's Genealogy Page
- Georgia Department of Archives & History
- Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild
- National Archives & Records Administration
- North Carolina Division of Archives & History
- South Carolina Department of Archives & History
- Tennessee State Library & Archives
- Virginia Archives & Manuscript Repositories
- The National Archives
- In Motion
- Bahamas National Archive
- African American Cemeteries
- Caribbean Island GenWeb
- Newspaper Obituaries, Genealogy, Obituary, Funeral Resources