Geography
From SubjectGuides
|
|
First and foremost: to find library resources (books and journals) you must search the title (or journal title) in the library catalog. The record in the catalog will include links for electronic access and a call number for print sources.
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely. To access a resource from off-campus, you will need to type your Auburn University user ID (i.e., the first part of your email address), and password.
[edit] Broad, Sweeping Coverage
Google Scholar Searching Google Scholar in the Advanced Search mode has become the preferred method of searching for articles and books in many disciplines. Sometimes our full-text journals can be linked directly from Google Scholar (such as the Science Direct journals) and other times you'll need to search the journal title, or book title, in our catalog to gain electronic (or paper) access.
[edit] Multi-disciplinary Journal Databases
Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Academic OneFile A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Ingenta A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows some full-text access and some full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. Document Delivery Ariel address: 131.204.73.106.
CAB Abstracts A bibliographic database compiled by CAB International which covers literature in agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Substanial coverage of geography literatuare. 1973- Present.
Web of Science, 1945 - aka Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index aka Web of Knowledge. Indexes the most-cited journals in the world. All subjects. See who has cited an article or book.
[edit] Scientific Journals Full-Text
ScienceDirect A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also, provides full-text access to all the American Psychological Association journals. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation. All the APA journals are included in ScienceDirect.
[edit] Sociology Journal Databases
Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Social Services Abstracts Social Services Abstracts provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
[edit] Newspaper Articles
- Indexes and provides full-text coverage of international, national and local newspapers.
[edit] Geography Specific Databases
Online Geographical Bibliography (GEOBIB) is the online equivalent of the print index, Current Geographical Publications (2nd floor G116. A642). It is a citation database covering scholarly literature on physical and human geography. This online database goes from 1985 through 2005 and contains citations to books, journals, government documents, maps and atlases. Before 1985 use the print edition of Current Geographical Publications.
[edit] Dissertation Databases
Dissertations and Theses Citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 through present. Full text Auburn University dissertations and theses going back to the 1990's through present.
AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations Full text of Auburn University dissertations and theses from 2006 through present.
[edit] Books
Books owned by Auburn University Libraries can be discovered by searching our catalog.
WorldCat OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Use this database to verify book citations, government and agency reports not owned by our library.
[edit] Citation Resources
Web of Science By searching both the Sciences Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index you will be covering a mulititude of journals across displines. Indexes thousands of journals spanning many disciplines and provides a method to find out which articles have cited other, previous articles.
[edit] Geography Journals held by Auburn University
Auburn University Libraries Geography Journals Lists those geography journals held by Auburn University Libraries. Always search the library catalogfor the journal title to find out if we have electronic access or the call number!
[edit] E-mailing scanned journal articles and book chapters to you
Electronic and Departmental Delivery Have articles and book chapters delivered to you electronically from materials located in the AU Libraries. This service is not for materials we have electronic access to. Articles & chapters must be under 50 pages and held in print format only for scanning. We will also deliver books to your office on campus.
[edit] Access to Journals not owned by our library
Ingenta A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. Document Delivery Ariel address: 131.204.73.106. If our library doesn't subscribe to a journal, try searching the Ingenta database.
[edit] Journal Abbreviation Assistance
When your journal title is abbreviated, you will need to decipher the abbreviation in order to search the journal title in AUBIECat. These online sources will frequently translate the journal abbreviation into a full journal title.
[edit] Reference Tools
[edit] Electronic Atlases
Terra-Server USA View maps and aerial photos of various parts of the Earth.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Includes a significant digitized historical map collection
Library Of Congress Map Collections 1500-2003
USGS Geography provides scientific information to describe and interpret America's landscape by mapping the terrain, monitoring changes over time, and analyzing how and why these changes have occurred.
USGS map locator and downloader
National Geographic Map Machine Printable maps. Physical and Political maps of countries of the world.
GoogleEarth Download this amazing World mapping resource onto your computer.
[edit] Library Atlases
Our library purchases the most current editions of the following:
Britannica Atlas - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
National Geographic Atlas of the World - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
New York Times Atlas of the World - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
Rand McNally Cosmopolitan World Atlas - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
Rand McNally Road Atlas Deluxe Edition - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
The Times Atlas of the World - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
World Book Atlas - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
Historical Atlas of the United States Congressional Districts 1789-1983 - 2nd Floor Atlas stand (next to reference desk)
[edit] Reference Books and Key Sources
[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/ CIA World Fact Book] Geographic, political, and economic data on the countries of the world
CountryWatch provides country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world.
The Columbia gazetteer of the world / Edited by Saul B. Cohen. Publication Information: New York : Columbia University Press, c1998. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 103.5 .C65 1998 Available: v. 1-3
Current geographical publications / The American Geographical Society. Publication Information: New York, N. Y. : The Society Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) Call Number: G 116 .A642 Available: v.34 (1971) - v.66 (2003)
A dictionary of geography / Susan Mayhew. Publication Information: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004. 3rd ed. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 63 .M39 2004
The dictionary of human geography / edited by R.J. Johnston ... [et al.] Publication Information: Oxford, UK ; Malden, Mass. : Blackwell Publishers, c2000. 4th ed. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: GF 4 .D52 2000
Encyclopedia of exploration / Carl Waldman and Alan Wexler. Publication Information: New York, NY : Facts On File, c2004. Series: Facts on File library of world history Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 80 .W33 2004 Available: v.1-2
Encyclopedia of human geography / Gerald R. Pitzl. Publication Information: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Pub., 2004. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: GF 4 .P58 2004
The Europa world year book Publication Information: London, England : Europa Publications Limited, c1989- 30th ed. (1989)- Frequency: Annual. Previous Title: Europa year book, Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: D 2 .E823 Notes: Standing Order. Available: 30th (1989)-Present
Guide to places of the world / Reader’s Digest. Publication Information: London ; New York : Reader’s Digest Association, c1995. 2nd ed. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 63 .G85 1995
A modern dictionary of geography / John Small, Michael Witherick. Publication Information: London ; New York : E. Arnold, 1995. 3rd ed. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 63 .S53 1995
The Penguin dictionary of geography / Audrey N. Clark. Publication Information: London, England ; New York, N.Y., USA : Penguin Books, 1998. 2nd ed., New ed. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 63 .C562 1998
Statistical abstract of the United States / U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census. Publication Information: Lanham, Md. : Bernan Press, 1992- 112th ed. (1992)- Frequency: Annual Enlarged print ed. Notes: Near exact reprint of: Statistical abstract of the United States. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Desk Call Number: HA 202 .S7
Wikipedia - Free Internet Encyclopedia
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life / Timothy L. Gall, editor. Publication Information: Detroit : Gale, c1998. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: GN 333 .W67 1998 Available: v.1-4
World desk reference. Publication Information: New York, N.Y. : Dorling Kindersley, 2000. 3rd ed., rev. 2000. Library: Auburn University Libraries Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: G 1021 .D63 1996
[edit] Physical Geography Web Sites
NCDC National Climatic Data Center. The world's largest active archive of weather data.
NOAA National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. National Weather Service
[edit] Geographic Information Systems
[edit] Society & Association Web Sites
Association of American Geographers
International Geographical Union
National Council for Geographic Education
National Geographic Society (United States)
Royal Geographic Society (Great Britain)
[edit] Department of Geology and Geography at Auburn University
Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849
Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387