| Contact Information
liddeje@auburn.edu[1]
334/844-1797
RBD Library, 2nd Floor, North Annex
Reference Desk Hours
- Mon 5-9 PM
- Wed 11-1 PM
- Thurs 1-3 PM
| Office Hours by appointment
|
[edit] Databases
CINAHL
- Authoritative coverage of the literature for nursing and allied health fields including from 1982 - Present.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
- Provides over 7,000 reports, in every-day language, describing symptoms, treatments, risks and after-effects of a vast array of medical topics and conditions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over 1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Includes an electronic version of Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 - Present.
MEDLINE
- Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present.
PsycArticles
- A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals. 1985 - Present.
PsycINFO
- Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. 1887 - Present.
PubMed
- Provides free access to MEDLINE. Linkages to publishers' sites for full-text journals. Approximately 250 journals available, some by subscription only. Clinical query form with built-in search filters for diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prognosis.
SPORTDiscus
- Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. 1949 - Present.
[edit] Reference Tools
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - Desk Ref RC 55 .M4 & electronic
- MEDLINEplus Medical Dictionary
[edit] Journals
- Current Pharmacy Journals
- Current Nursing Journals
- Abbreviations for Medical Journals (PubMed Service -Journals Databases
[edit] Associations, Organizations and Societies
American College of Nurse Practitioners
- “The ACNP is focused on advocacy and keeping NPs current on legislative, regulatory and clinical practice issues that effect NPs in the rapidly changing health care arena.”
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
- “AACN [fosters] quality preparation of clinicians, research scientists, educators, administrators, consultants, and policymakers for leadership and health promotion…”
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
- The AACP "is the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education and educators."
American Association of Critical Care Nursing
- AACN promotes the health and welfare "by advancing the art and science of critical care nursing and promoting environments that facilitate professional nursing practice.”
American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
- The AAPS "provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange of knowledge among scientists to enhance their contributions to public health.”
American Nurses Association
- ...the ANA is the strongest voice for the nursing profession with its headquarters in Washington, DC.
American Pharmaceutical Association
- The APhA "the first-established and largest professional association of pharmacists in the United States... providing professional information and education for pharmacists.”
American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
- The ASPET "...promotes research funding, holds scientific meetings, publishes scientific journals, and provides a number of services to its members.
Drug Information Association
- The DIA provides a platform for the exchange and dissemination of information by providing a neutral forum for all participants and offering quality-driven programming.
National Community Pharmacists Association
- The NCPA is "the national pharmacy association representing the professional and proprietary interests of independent community pharmacists."
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
- The NCSBN provides an organization for boards of nursing counsel together on matters affecting the public health, safety and welfare, and develop licensing examinations.
National Institute of Nursing Research
- The NINR supports research for the care of individuals across the life span: managing patients during illness, promoting healthy lifestyles, and promoting quality of life in those with chronic illness.
National League for Nursing
- NLN's purpose is to advance quality nursing education that prepares the nurses for the diverse population in an ever-changing health care environment.”
[edit] Web Sites
CDC Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Prevention
- “The Division of STD Prevention… provides national leadership through research, policy development, and support of effective services..."
CenterWatch
- A Clinical Trials Listing Service organized by disease and geographic region…
Combined Health Information Database
- CHID provides an index to public health information published by the US Government.
Electronic Orange Book: Approved Drug Products
- Searchable database which identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the FDA; includes dates of approval and other information about the drug.
Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
- “GLMA’s focus is to increase the visibility of the specific health concerns of LGBT patients and offer programs and services that we are in a unique position to provide.”
HealthWeb Nursing
- A collection of useful nursing sources from the Taubman Medical Library, the School of Nursing at the University of Michigan, and the HealthWeb project.
Medi-Lexicon formerly Pharma-Lexicon
- A dictionary of over 200,000 medical, pharmaceutical, biomedical & healthcare acronyms and abbreviations.
MEDLINEplus
- National Library of Medicine's information pages with information for health questions. Choose Drug Information, Encyclopedia, Dictionary, News or Other Resources.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Provides information about programs, research areas and links to databases containing information about complementary and alternative medicine.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
- “The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC™), a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.”
National Women's Health Information
- “This website [was] created to provide FREE, reliable health information for women everywhere” with topic areas like heart disease, disabilities and pregnancy.”
PubMed
- A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
RxList
- A searchable database of names and information, including reactions, to prescription drugs.
Virtual Library Pharmacy
- Links to pharmacy information, including a list of pharmacy schools around the world.
World Health Organization (WHO)
- The WHO is the United Nations specialized agency for health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.
|