From SubjectGuides
|
| Barbara A. Bishop
- Second Floor, Reference
- RBD Library
- 334-844-1690
Desk Hours:
- Monday: 3 - 5 pm
- Tuesday: 1 - 3 pm
- Wednesday: 5 - 9 pm
- Thursday: 3 - 5 pm
- other times by appointment
|
[edit] Library Catalog Searches
[edit] Keyword Searches
- Health Communication (as a phrase).
- (health? OR medic?) AND communicat? (Keyword anywhere)
[edit] Subject Searches
- Medicine in Communication
- Communication in Nursing
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to use your University Global ID and Password.
[edit] Communication
- Communication & Mass Media Complete(AU only)
- Communication Abstracts (AU only)
- ComAbstracts(AU only)
- Science Direct (AU only)
- A good way to get into Science Direct is to search it using the SCIRUS interface that searches selected web pages as well as scholarly articles.
[edit] Health Communication
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (AU only)
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (AU only)
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) (AU only)
- Medline (from OVID) (AU only)
- Clinical Pharmacology (AU only)
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts (AU only)
- Social Services Abstracts (AU only)
[edit] Psychology and Sociology
- PsycInfo(AU only)
- PsycArticles(AU only)
- PsychiatryOnline (AU only)
- Sociological Abstracts(AU only)
- Encyclopedia of Associations (AU only)
- This is part of Thomson/Gale's Business & Company Research Center; it is also available in print under the call number: Ref AS 22 .E5.
- ERIC(AU only)
- ERC: Education Research Complete (AU only)
- Ethnic NewsWatch(AU only)
- Gender Watch(AU only)
[edit] Internet Resources
[edit] Search Engines
- ACHOO Gateway to Healthcare
- "Achoo acts as a jump point and information resource for the medical community and all other Internet users interested in healthcare information."
- Find Articles
- Free access to articles published in over 300 newsstand magazines and journals back to 1998. This site would include articles written for general public about health topics.
- Google
- Google U.S. Government Search
- Limits search to .gov and .mil websites.
- SCIRUS
- Concentrates on scientific content only and searches both Web and ScienceDirect fulltext content.
[edit] Websites
- Health.gov
- A portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and other Federal departments and agencies.
- Medlineplus Health Information
- Health information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links for health topics, drugs, dictionaries, and associations.
- Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
- The Family Foundation is an independent organization that focuses on major health care issues including: Health Policy, Media and Public Education, and Health and Development in South Africa.
- NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
- "...a unique responsible and authoritative bilingual health information site, dedicated to an underserved population of health consumers, many of whom are also Spanish speaking."
[edit] Statistical Sources
- National Center for Health Statistics
- Part of the CDC, the NCHS compiles statistical information from documenting the health status of the population to evaluating the impact of health policies and programs.
- State Health Facts Online
- Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
- Globalhealthfacts.org
- Another Kaiser Family Foundation site. Includes over 50 indicators as well as interactive map.