Hotel and Restaurant Management

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact for questions about research:

Amia L. Baker
Business Librarian
RBD Library
334-844-8268


[edit] Reference Sources (2nd Floor)

Congress, Convention and Exhibition Facilities: Planning, Design and Management, Architectural Press Planning and Design Series –
NA 6880 .L383 2000


Design and Equipment for Restaurants and Food Service: A Management View –
TX 911.3 .M27 K395 2006


Meetings, expositions, Events, and Conventions: An Introduction to the Industry –
TX 911.2 .F455 2005


Professional Event Coordination –
GT 3405 .S55 2004


Restaurant Operations Management: Principles and Practices –
TX 911.3 .M27 N566 2006


Successful Restaurant Management: From Vision to Execution –
TX 911.3 .M27 .W33 2006


Technology Strategies for the Hospitality Industry –
TX 911.3 .E4 N95 2005


Yearbook of Tourism Statistics –
G 149 .I73



[edit] Other Sources

Annals of Tourism Research –
Periodical- Link to resource in ScienceDirect Database


Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used –
4th floor - TX 551 .B64 1998


The Complete Beverage Dictionary –
4th floor - TP 503 .L56 1996


The Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly –
Periodical - 4th floor - TX 901 .C67 Also available electronically


Dictionary of Travel, Tourism, and Hospitality –
2nd floor - G 155 .A1 M397 1993


A Guide to College Programs in Culinary Arts, Hospitality, & Tourism- Link to Resource in NetLibrary


The International Dictionary of Food & Nutrition–
4th floor - TX 349 .A236 1993 Link to Resource in NetLibrary


International Journal of Hospitality Management –
Periodical – 4th floor - TX 911.3 .M27 I56 Also available electronically


The International Journal of Tourism Research –
Periodical – Link to Resource in Wiley Interscience Database


Journal of Vacation Marketing –
Periodical- Link to Resource in ABI/Inform Database


Oxford Companion to Food–
4th floor - TX 349 .D38 1999


Restaurant Industry Operations Report –
4th floor - TX 909 .A1 R47


Tourism Management –
Periodical – Link to resource in ScienceDirect


The Travel Dictionary –
2nd floor - G 155 .A1 D47 1990



[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles

All databases are available on campus and remotely (unless otherwise noted). To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID and password.


Business Source Premier
Provides full text from journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Also provides access to company profiles from the Datamonitor Company Profile Authority database.


ABI/INFORM
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation.


Business & Company Resource Center
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.


LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.


Newsbank
Provides hard-to-find local and regional business newspaper articles from over 400 U.S. cities. Covering private and public companies, its monthly updates provide current full-text articles and index citations to specific company and industry issues and events.


Regional Business News
Collection of full text newswires from around the world. Includes information about business, politics, economics, and international news.



[edit] Articles & Journals Not Owned by Auburn University Libraries

Inter-Library Loan
Request materials owned by other libraries and have them delivered to AU Libraries (main or branches) for pick up or delivered electronically to your email.


Ingenta
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing to articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff (available to AU Faculty, Retired Faculty, Staff & Enrolled Grad/Distance Ed Students only).



[edit] Hotel & Restaurant Management Websites

American Hotel and Lodging Association-
Official page of the American Hotel and Lodging Association provides notices of conventions and meetings, and links to legislative sites.


Epicurious Food Recipe Collection-
Provides a variety of recipes, etiquette guide and expert advice.


The Food Institute Online (FI)-
Provides access to current new articles related to the food industry.


Foodservice.com-
Provides information on food safety, industry news and editorials, market reports, and employment opportunities.


Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI)-
Provides information on professional development, industry news, and industry links.


Hospitality Jobs Online-
Provides listings of job opportunities in hotels, restaurants, casinos, cruise lines, country clubs, and convention centers.


Hospitality Net-
Includes industry news items, job opportunities and industry events.


PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Research on Hospitality and Leisure-
Provides an overview of the Hospitality & Leisure industry. Has short synopsis for sectors of the industry such as travel/tourism, gaming, food & beverage, spas, etc. Check out the publications section for more free reports and surveys.


MeatAMI.Com-
Sponsored by the American Meat Institute serves as the online resource for food safety in the meat and poultry industry.


National Restaurant Association-
Includes news items, research briefs, trade show announcements, and information on food borne illnesses, and articles from Restaurants USA, and links to state restaurant organizations.


Restaurant Report-
Provides industry articles, top 100 hospitality sites, and ongoing hospitality discussions.


Virtual Clubhouse-
Provides information for club industry professionals, including recent articles from Club Management.


World Tourism Organization-
Statistical tables on international travel and tourism.



[edit] Auburn University Department Pages

Hotel & Restaurant Management Program


College of Business


Top of Page


For additional information about Hotel and Restaurant Management or to comment about this page, please send an email to Amia Baker.