International Statistics

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Quick Stats

Country at Glance (UN)

The World Factbook (CIA)

A comprehensive database that contains statistical data for each country of the world.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

[edit] Demographics

World Development Indicators (WDI) (AU only)

WDI (World development indicators) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development; provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to present.

World Population Information (U.S. Census)

World population totals, historical population totals, population estimates until 2050, trends, population by age and sex.

International Data Base

The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic data for 228 countries and areas of the world. The IDB combines data from country sources (especially censuses and surveys) with IPC's estimates and projections to provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050. Population by age and sex; Vital rates, infant mortality, and life expectancy; Fertility; Marital status; and Family planning.

EuroStat

A comprehensive selection of statistical data on the European Union, its Member States and candidate countries. Most data cover the period 1995-2005 and some data include other countries such as the USA and Japan.

Country Profiles Published by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) (AU only)

Available via Business Source Premier database. In-depth country reports that include information on population, education, health, politics, economy, and infrastructure.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (AU only -- ask at the Reference Desk to be connected to this resource)

MBS Online presents data on more than 50 indicators covering the subject matter areas of population, production and price indices, employment and earnings and unemployment, energy, mining and manufacturing commodities production, transport, construction, international merchandise trade and finance.

[edit] Comparative Statistics

UNdata

Covers global indicators along with agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, gender, industry, national accounts, population, trade, and tourism statistics.

United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)

UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.

Infonation (UN)

Link for Mac users.

World Data Analyst (Encyclopaedia Britannica) (AU only)

This database lets researchers analyze countries and regions at a glance. It offers detailed statistical comparisons for more than 200 countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Researchers can create tables, charts, and export the information to a spreadsheet.

TradeStats Express

National trade data and state export data.

[edit] Statistical Agencies

International Statistical Agencies (U.S. Census)

A comprehensive listing of statistical agencies from governments around the world.

International Statistical Agencies(University of Wisconsin-Madison DISC:Internet Crossroads)


[edit] Other Resources

IPUMS-International

IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons. Registration required: users must submit abstract of research project when registering for IPUMS-I approval.

International Data Resource Center (IDRC) (AU only)

The IDRC acts as a clearinghouse for international data housed at ICPSR.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research(ICPSR) (AU only)

This web page provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Requires knowledge of a statistical package.