Journalism

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

CMJN Library Stuff

Barbara A. Bishop

Second Floor, Reference
RBD Library
334-844-1690

Desk Hours:

By appointment

[edit] Reference Tools

The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law (Ref PN 4783 .A79 2007)

The Encyclopedia of American Journalism (Ref PN 4855.P26 1983)

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information, (Ref P 87.5 .E53 2001)

Cates, Jo A. Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature 3rd edition. (PN 4731.C 38 2004)

[edit] Subject Databases

ComAbstracts:

Part of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, ComAbstracts (for a listing indexing coverage go to CIOS about page) gives access to primary scholary literature of the communication field including journalism. You will need to download the free DejaVu plugin to view contents on CIOS.

Communication & Mass Media Complete:

This database not only replaces NCA's CommSearch and Penn State's Media Articles Index but expands coverage to include indexing and abstracting of over 300 journals along with fulltext for nearly 200 journals, some beginning as early as 1915. The indexing includes selected volumes of Gale's Dictionary of Literary Biography and Greenwood Press' Historical Guides to the World's Periodicals and Newspapers.

Communication Abstracts, (2nd floor Index Shelves; P 87. C58)

Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts from 1977, it is international in scope including books, major periodical articles and reports.

Lexis-Nexis Academic,

Indexes newspapers, business, legal, and medical resources.

NewsBank Access World News,

A full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from over 500 U.S. and Canadian newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. More than 70,000 articles selected annually provide regional, national and international perspectives and in-depth coverage of the arts, people, and professions.

Newspaper Source,

Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.

Ethnic NewsWatch,

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Academic Search Premier,

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Expanded Academic ASAP,

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present.

[edit] Web Sites

[edit] Newspapers in the AU Libraries

Newspapers

Alabama Newspapers

US Newspapers

[edit] Advertising

Ad*Access Project

Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

The Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920

A selection of images from the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History

The Internet Archive: Movie Archive

Includes documentaries, commercials, and civil defense films from 1916 through the present.

[edit] Ethics

Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)

FAIR is the national media watch group that offers well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship.

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

"A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists"


[edit] Government

FedStats

More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.

Stateline.org

Stateline.org covers selected topics regarding innovative public policies. The topics covered include: welfare reform, utility deregulation, taxes and budgets, healthcare (especially as it relates to children and the right to die), and education (especially the manner in which public schools are financed).

Foreign Governments

[edit] Research

Center for Investigative Reporting

Information and resources on "hidden, hard-to-tell stories" that in reports that serve the public interest.

PowerReporting

Find people and companies, data, check facts, new search tools, and plan newsroom training.

Poynter Online

"Poynter.org exists to help journalists do their jobs better and to serve their communities. Updated daily, it provides journalists with reliable information, useful tools, and provocative suggestions. The site advances the goals of The Poynter Institute by making accessible worldwide our teaching, expertise, and research."

[edit] Speech

Douglass Archives of American Public Address

An electronic archive of American oratory and related documents produced for use at Northwestern. Searchable by speaker, title, date, or subject.

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States

Addresses beginning with Washington.

Speech and Transcript Center (George Washington University)

Includes both transcripts and/or audio business, television/radio programs, government officials, organizations, and historical speeches.

[edit] Associations and Societies

[edit] Regional & State

Alabama Press Association

State Press Associations

Regional Newspaper Association

[edit] National & International

American Society of Newspaper Editors

American Amateur Press Association

American Communication Association

American Copy Editors Society

Broadcast Education Association

F-Pro: Freelance Professionals

International Federation of Journalists

International Center for Journalists

Internet Press Guild

Investigative Reporters & Editors

Journalism Education Association

National Association of Black Journalists

National Association of Hispanic Journalists

National Conference of Editorial Writers

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association

National Press Club

National Press Foundation

National Press Photographers Association

National Writers Union

Organization of News Ombudsmen

PEN American Center

Radio-Television News Directors Association

Society for Newspaper Design

Society of Professional Journalists

Society of Publication Designers

Writers' Guild of America

World Association of Newspapers