Kinesiology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
Education Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Ask A Librarian ~ Chat Email Phone
Spring 2009 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 11 - 1 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 5 - 9 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment

Kinesiology ~ Subject Headings

GV Recreation and Leisure 201-555 561-1198 1580-1799 Physical Education and Training Sports Dancing QH 1-705 Natural History, Biology 505 513 Biophysics Biomechanics QP 1-981 Physiology Human Physiology Musculoskeletal System Mechanics, Kinesiology Other Special Movements RC Internal Medicine Sports Medicine/Physiology RJ Pediatrics Motor Development (Exercise) RM 1-931 Therapeutics Mechanotherapy (Exercise) TA Engineering - General Human Engineering


Keywords for Searching Aeronautics Human Factors Architecture Human Factors Biomechanics Biophysics Exercise Physiological Aspects Exercise Exercise Therapy Human Engineering Human Locomotion Human Mechanics Joints Range Of Motion Kinesiology Motor Ability Movement Education Physical Education and Training Psychophysiology Sports Medicine Sports Physiological Aspects Stretch Physiology

[edit] Indexes & Databases

Biological Abstracts

Provides bibliographic references and abstracts of life science journal literature. The database includes citations to articles about agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Coverage is international and begins in 1980. Updated regularly. Citations Only

ERIC

Provides citations and brief abstracts to a wide range of education related literature including journals, conference proceedings, books, federal and state documents, bibliographies, directories, curriculum guides, instructional resources, and audiovisual media, from 1966 to the present. Some full text links. Updated monthly.

ERIC via Ebsco
Health Source: Nursing

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.

MEDLINE

The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

ScienceDirect

A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries sucbcribe to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.

SPORTDiscus

An international database which contains information on sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. Includes citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, and articles from current journals, magazines, and newsletters.

[edit] Web Sources

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance


American College of Sports Medicine


American Society of Exercise Physiologists


National Athletic Trainers Association


National Collegiate Athletic Association


National Strength and Conditioning Association


Reference Books

Dictionary for Human Factors/Ergonomics. TA166 .S77 1993

Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences. REF GV558 .D53 1991

Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics. REF TA 166 .H275 2006 - 2nd Floor

How Things Work: The Physics of Everyday Life. QC21.2 .B59 1997

International Encyclopedia of Ergonomics and Human Factors. REF TA166 .I556 2001


Oxford Reference Online Premium

Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine (electronic resource)


Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 4th. Ed. A&T REF BF76.7 .P83 1994

Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. A&T REF H61.8 .G3 1999


Electronic Books Search the catalog by performing a Title Search "Net Library" this allows you to search the Net Library electronic book collection, by author/title/subject/keyword.