Locating Dissertations and Theses

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Indexes to Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses

The most comprehensive index to dissertations and theses, covering the years from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published from 1980 forward contain abstracts and many have a 24-page preview. Auburn dissertations and theses may be downloaded for free when available.
Abstracts for older dissertations (pre-1980) may be found in Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI), the precursor to the online index. The volumes are shelved at Z 5055 .U5 D5 on the 2nd floor by the Reference Desk.

ERIC

ERIC, a major source of education materials, also contains a small number of dissertations, theses, and practicum papers. Many of the citations link to the full text. To limit searches, choose Dissertations/Theses (All) under Publication Type.

Music Index Online

Music Index Online indexes dissertations and reviews of dissertations. No full text here, though. By clicking on the Choose Databases tab, you can search Music Index, ERIC, and PsycINFO simultaneously.
For older dissertations (1949-1976), the paper version of Music Index is shelved on the 3rd floor at ML 118 .M84.

PsycINFO

Indexes dissertations in psychology, but also contains a number of music dissertations.

[edit] Getting a Copy of a Thesis or Dissertation

[edit] Auburn University Dissertations

Online Auburn University dissertations from Fall 2005 to the present.

[edit] Dissertations from other Universities

  • Search AubieCat for a copy.
  • Try looking for an online copy. Many universities are putting their dissertations online. Here are some good sites to try:
Scientific Commons
Theses Canada
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  • Try an internet search.
Sometimes a title search will bring up an electronic copy.
  • Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
Click on the Request Materials link on the Libraries' homepage and follow the links. You'll need to log into ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system) with your global ID and password. A few tips for successful ILL requests:
Fill out the ILL request form as completely as possible.
Unless you want microfiche, put the following message in the Notes field: No microforms, please. If you still receive microfiche, contact ILL and ask them for a paper copy. Sometimes only the microfiche is available, though.
The library will buy up to 10 dissertations a year for you. These include dissertations that are not available on ILL and those that you request we purchase. If possible, please try to borrow a copy first. If you find you need a copy for an extended period of time, then ask that we purchase it. If you would like us to purchase a dissertation for you, please put the following in the Notes field of the ILL request: Please purchase.

Unfortunately, ILL cannot borrow or purchase some dissertations. In this case, please contact Liza Weisbrod for assistance.