Marketing

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact for questions about research:

Amia L. Baker
Business Librarian
RBD Library
334-844-8268


[edit] Directory

Green Book: International Directory of Marketing Research Houses and Services-
"http://www.greenbook.org"


[edit] Consumer Information

Consumer USA HC 101 C744 2008 (2nd floor, Reference shelves)
This book is great for answering questions about sales of consumer products for the past 5 years. BUT, it's even better because it provides forecasts for sales of the same goods for the NEXT 5 years. It also helps answer questions about market share by manufacturers and by brands.


Demographics USA: County Edition HF 5437 .S48 2008 (3rd Floor)
How much do people in a different counties in the U.S. spend on particular retail segments? How much spending power do they have? This book will also rank DMAs (Designated Market Areas) from highest to lowest spending for different types of retail stores, consumer buying power, number of establishments, etc.


Lifestyle Market Analyst HF 5415.33 .U6 L54 (2nd floor, Reference shevles)
Compare US metropolitan cities by demographics and by lifestyle activities. Tells you whether people in a particular city are more or less likely than the rest of the US to participate in an activity, such as boating, gambling, reading books, own a pet, etc.


"World Consumer Lifestyles Databook- Key Trends (Check library catalog for call number)
Lists lifestyle characteristics of people in different countries and allows you to compare data across countries.


Household Spending- Who Spends How Much on What. HC 110 .C6 O34 (2nd floor, Reference shelves)
Find out how much consumers spend on particular items.


Who's Buying..." (Search catalog for specific titles and locations)
This is a series of books on different types of goods. We have currently have Who's Buying at Restaurants & Carryouts; Who's Buying Entertainment; Who's Buying Alcoholic and Non-Alcholic Beverages.

[edit] Industry Information

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Reference Collection – HG 4921. S66


Current Industrial Reports of the U.S. Census Bureau
Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity through timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.


Hoovers Online
More than 14.6 million companies in the US & Canada and more than 1.9 million international companies with important data points such as contact information, industry classification, and annual sales. These profiles, featuring companies with over $1 million in revenue and more than 9 employees, will help you gain broader insight into the global marketplace.


Lexis-Nexis Business
Featuring company financial reports, profiles, directories, EDGAR filings, annual & quarterly reports, and proxy statements. Also included are business articles from several business journals and the ability to compare companies.


Manufacturing & Services Sponsored by the International Trade Administration
This page provides links to ITA web sites which provide coverage of key industrial and services clusters: Technology and Aerospace, Tourism, Basic Industries, Environmental Technologies, Service Industries and Finance, and Textiles-Apparel and Consumer Goods.


Thomas Register of American Manufacturers Industrial Product/Service Search -
The most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.



[edit] Market Share Information

Market Share Reporter
Reference Collection – HF 5410. M35


World Market Share Reporter
Reference Collection – HF 5410. W67

[edit] Marketing Statistics

The National Trade Data Bank
Available on Campus Only (ask Reference to log you in) - Provides economic and industrial data of interest to foreign traders. Among the subfiles are country profiles from the CIA, and estimates of the value of U.S. exports.


Bureau of Economic Analysis
Key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy including the Gross Domestic Product.


Bureau of Labor Statistics
This independent national statistical agency collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data in the broad fields of labor economics and statistics. Includes current data on the Consumer Price Index, Unemployment Rates, Average Hourly Wages, etc.


Business.gov
One of the E-Government initiatives in the President's Management Agenda. It was developed to provide better customer service for small businesses interacting with the Federal Government.


County Business Patterns
The divisions of the economy covered are agricultural services, forestry, and fisheries; mining; contract construction; manufacturing; transportation and other public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services.


FedStats
Compilation of statistical data from over 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government. A great one-stop-shopping site for governmental statistics.


LexisNexis Statistical Universe 
Statistical Universe can be used to find all statistics issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through the American Statistics Index (ASI); some 1,000 of the best statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward through the Statistical Reference Index (SRI); and approximately 2,000 indispensable titles from some 100 international intergovernmental organizations, all published annually since 1983 through the Index to International Statistics (IIS).


Statistical Abstracts of the United States 
An invaluable compilation of statistics mostly provided by governmental agencies. Although it contains more than business statistics, fully two-thirds of the material can be characterized as economic or industrial.


U.S. Census Bureau 
The preeminent collector and provider of timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States.



[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles

All databases are available on campus and remotely (unless otherwise noted). To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID and password.


ABI/INFORM
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation.


Business & Company Resource Center
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.


Business & Industry Database (B&I)
Contains information, facts, and figures dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets for all manufacturing and service industries at an international level.


Business Source Premier
Provides full text from journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Also provides access to company profiles from the Datamonitor Company Profile Authority database.


EconLit
Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.


LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.


Newsbank
Provides hard-to-find local and regional business newspaper articles from over 400 U.S. cities. Covering private and public companies, its monthly updates provide current full-text articles and index citations to specific company and industry issues and events.


Regional Business News
Collection of full text newswires from around the world. Includes information about business, politics, economics, and international news.



[edit] Articles & Journals Not Owned by Auburn University Libraries

Inter-Library Loan 
Request materials owned by other libraries and have them delivered to AU Libraries (main or branches) for pick up or delivered electronically to your email.


Ingenta
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing to articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff (available to AU Faculty, Retired Faculty, Staff & Enrolled Grad/Distance Ed Students only).



[edit] Auburn University Department Pages

College of Business


Department of Marketing


Top of Page


For additional information about Marketing or to comment about this page, please send an email to Amia Baker.