Mechanical Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
334-844-1768


[edit] Recent Publications by AU Mechanical Engineering Faculty

The publications below are part of an RSS Feed from our Engineering Village Database. Follow the links to see more information about the articles and to find the full-text, when available. (Must be a current AU student, faculty or staff member to access)

[edit] Scanning magnetoresistance microscopy for imaging magnetically labeled DNA microarrays




[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering Ref TJ 9 .N28

International Encyclopedia of Heat & Mass Transfer Ref TJ 260 .I579 1997

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Annual Book of ASTM Standards Ref TA 401 .A 653

ASME Handbook Ref TJ 233 .A57

ASME Steam Tables Ref TJ 270 .A4

The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Ref TJ 15 .C73

Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations Ref TJ 151 .H327

Machinery's Handbook Ref TJ151 .M3

Maintenance Engineering Handbook TS 192 .M335

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers Ref TJ 151 .M37

Mechanical Design Handbook Ref TJ 230 .M43

Mechanical Engineer's Data Handbook Ref TJ 151 .C36

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook TJ 151 .M395

Mechanical Engineer's Reference Book Ref TJ 151 .C335

The Mechatronic Handbook Ref TJ 163.12 .M433

Piping Handbook TJ 415 .P54

Standard Handbook of Plant Engineering TS 184 .S7


[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
QA 76 - QA 76.8 Electronic Computers
QA 402 Systems Analysis
QA 641 - QA 660 Differential Geometry
QA 808.2 Continuum Mechanics
QA 911- QA 939 Fluid Dynamics and Hydrodynamics
QB 531 Solar Astronomy
QC 133 - QC 168 Dynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Fluid Dynamics, Gases
QC 295 Specific Heat of Solids and Liquids
QC 311 - QC 338 Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer
QC 475 Solids - Effects of Radiation
QC 482 X-rays - Diffraction
QC 911 Solar Radiation
QC 974 Solids - Effects of Radiation
QD 482 X-rays - Crystallography
QH 219 Scanning Electron Microscopy
T 5155 Computer Aided Design
TA 168 Systems Engineering
TA 174 Computer Aided Design
TA 347 .C3 Calculus of Variations
TA 352 - TA 359 Applied Dynamics. Applied Fluid Mechanics
TA 404 - TA 492 Materials of Engineering and Construction
TA 648 - TA 660 Structural Analysis. Structural Design
TH 4581 Power Plants
TH 7413 Solar Heating
TH 7687 Air Conditioning
TJ Mechanical Engineering
TK 2931 Fuel Cells
TN 672 - TN 799 Metallurgy
TP 1081 - TP 1185 Polymers and Polymer Manufacturing
TP 315 - TP 365 Chemical Technology - Fuel - By-Products of Combustion
TP 480 - TP 482 Low Temperature Engineering
TS 277 Welding Technology
TT 211 Metal Working - Welding


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.

[edit] Subject Databases

ASME Journals http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASME

Links to the full-text of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers' journals. Articles are available in PDF, HTML and other formats. Check individual journals for full-text availability.

Chemical Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCIFI

(Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus.)

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

Materials Science http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

(Includes METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)

SAE Digital Library http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SAE

The Society of Automotive Engineers Digital Library indexes all the literature published by the society plus includes selective indexing of other literature. The full-text is to SAE papers, reports and standards from 1998-Present.

[edit] General Databases

Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA

1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.

Science.gov http://www.science.gov/

Comprehensive list of US government index to research publications.

Scitopia http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/search.html

Index to publications of engineering professional societies.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.


Citation Database

Science Citation Index http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present

[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide.

Selected paper Mechanical Engineering Journals at AU Libraries, or Selected Electronic Mechanical Engineering Journals.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

[edit] Associations and Societies

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

http://www.asme.org

Institution of Mechanical Engineers

http://www.imeche.org.uk/

SAE International

http://www.sae.org/



[edit] Web Sites

IQS Directory

http://www.iqsdirectory.com/

Scirus

http://www.scirus.com/

ThomasNet

http://www.thomasnet.com

United States Patent and Trademark Office

http://www.uspto.gov/


Auburn University Department of Mechanical Engineering

http://www.eng.auburn.edu/mech/


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: wohrlaj@auburn.edu

Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849

Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387