Multicultural Education

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
Education Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Summer 2008 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 5 - 9 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 11 - 1 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment



Contents

[edit] Indexes & Databases

Academic One File

Academic One File A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.


EdITLib Digital Library

EdITLib Digital Library The EdITLib Digital Library focuses on publishing the latest research in educational technology and computers and learning.


EdResearch Online

EdResearch Online Australian Council for Educational Research's database; includes more than 12,000 research documents and articles Covers much of what is indexed in the Australian Education Index (AEI) 9,000 freely available in full text, mostly post-1996. Remainder available for a fee ($22 Australian).


Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals.


ERIC~ Education Resources Information Center.

ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.2 million articles and documents from 1966 onward. ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is a digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal and non-journal literature. Currently, more than 650 journals are indexed in ERIC. In addition, ERIC displays more than 100,000 full-text materials (Eric Documents) in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. ERIC Search Terms: cultural background multicultural education cultural pluralism multiculturalism ethnicity pluralismUpdated Weekly.


ERIC (via EBSCO)

Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. Updated Monthly.


Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.


Professional Collection

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour online access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator.


Professional Development Collection

Provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.


PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports.Covers nearly 2000 periodicals in over 25 languages.


Psych Articles

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.


Social Sciences Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.


Social Sciences Full Text

Indexes, abstracts and full-text from periodicals covers areas that include addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, policy sciences, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies.


Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.


SPORTDiscus

Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment.


Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

[edit] Print Reference Materials

  • Encyclopedia of educational research. V. 1-4 LB 15 .E48 1992 3RD FLOOR
  • A multicultural dictionary of literary terms. PN41 .C28 3RD FLOOR 1999
  • Multicultural literature for children and young adults: reflections on critical issues. PN 1009 .A1 C29 2002 3RD FLOOR
  • The multicultural dictionary of proverbs: over 20,000 adages from more than 120 languages, nationalities and ethnic groups.
  • Language and communication: a cross-cultural encyclopedia. P29 .F47 1998 3rd FLOOR
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. E 184 .A1 G15 1999 (2000 E-BOOK)
  • Dictionary of Multicultural Education. LC 1099 .D53 1997
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors - RBD Library 14h ed. Reference Z696.1 .E3 T47 2001
  • International Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed. Oxford, England: LB 2822.75 .I57 1990
  • Marketing in a multicultural world: ethnicity, nationalism, and cultural identity.
HF 5415.122 .M424 1995
  • Educational research, methodology and measurement an international handbook.
LB 1028 .E3184 1997
  • World Education Encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide. LB 15 .W87 2002
  • Our family, our friends, our world: an annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and teenagers. PN 1009 .A1 M48 1992
  • Global voices, global visions: a core collection of multicultural books. HM 101 .M554 1995
  • Key words in multicultural interventions: a dictionary. BF 637 .C6 K493
  • Encyclopedia of multicultural education. LC 1099.3 .M58 & E-BOOK
  • Multicultural student's guide to colleges: what every African-American, Asian-American,Hispanic, and Native American applicant needs to know about America's top schools. L901 .M58
  • Multicultural Education: a source book. LC1099.3 .R35 1989
  • Handbook of research on the education of young children. LB 1119 .H25 2006

[edit] Selected Journals

The following journal list reflects important titles identified by the College of Education for research in Multicultural/ESOL Education. Please check the online catalog for specific holdings and location information at http://www.lib.auburn.edu.

Applied Linguistics *
Applied Language Learning *
Bilingual Research Journal *
Bilingualism: Language and Cognition *
CIES Newsletter
Cultural Circles (this titles continues Journal of Educational Issues of Language Minority Students)
Educational Studies in Mathematics
English Language Teaching (ELT Journal) 1946-current *
Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences *
Journal of Child Language *
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology *
Journal of Education
Journal of Educational Psychology *
Journal of Educational Research *
Journal of Linguistics *

Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
Electronic Resource (Articles & Databases/Databases by Title/K/Kraus)
Language & Education: An International Journal *
Electronic Access 2003 - current
Language Learning *
Language Teaching
Multicultural Education
Multicultural Education & Technology
Multicultural Review: Dedicated to a Better Understanding of Ethnic, Racial, and Religious Diversity.
NABE News - National Association for Bilingual Education
Phi Delta Kappan
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Teaching Tolerance
TESOL Journal - Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages *
TESOL Matters. Alexandria, VA: Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages.
TESOL Quarterly. Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages *
* Peer Reviewed/Refereed

[edit] Subject Headings

The following is a short list of suggested subject headings for use in searching your library catalog for materials associated with Multicultural and/or ESOL Education.

Acculturation, intelligence tests, social aspects, Americanization, international education, bilingualism, language and education, cross-cultural counseling, minorities—education, multi ethnic schools, culture, study and teaching, minority students, Rating of education, bilingual, ESOL, multicultural education, educational anthropology, multiculturalism, educational equalization, pluralism, multicultural education “series”, educational sociology, ESOL Education, test bias, issues and perspectives.


[edit] Additional keywords:

cross cultural studies, international education,cultural pluralism, minorities study and teaching, diversity, multicultural education, education humanistic multiculturalism, ethnology study and teaching

[edit] Web Sites

Alabama Virtual Library
Alabama Arise
Alabama Best Practices Center
The Alabama Best Practices Center resources area provides hundreds of links in many different categories.
Multicultural Education Internet Resource Guide
GSED - Global Studies in Education Digest
National Library of Education
TESL/TEFL/TESOL/ESL/EFL/ESOL
Students & Teachers of English as a Second Language

[edit] International Education

International Education
OECD This website offers good monographic publications (print or electronic (Source OECD))of educationalconcerns in OECD members countries.

ED352378 - The OECD International Education Indicators: A Framework for Analysis. http://eric.ed.gov/]