Music

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
120px-Music_toolbar_2.jpg


Online Scores

Digital scores available for free online.

LilyPond: Music notation for everyone

Liza Weisbrod
Music Librarian
Microforms & Government Documents Unit
1st floor, Ralph Brown Draughon Library
8 am - 3 pm, Monday - Friday
Phone:334-844-0954, FAX: 334-844-4461




[edit] Looking for free online scores? Try the new digital score search!


[edit] Reference

[edit] General Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.
Also in paper at Ref. ML 100.N48 2000
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
ML 100.M92
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Ref. ML 105.B16 2001

[edit] Specialized Music Encyclopedias

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
Ref. ML 101.U6 N48 1986
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Also in paper at Ref. ML 102.J3 N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Ref. ML 102.I5 N48 1984
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Also in paper at Ref. ML 102.O6 N5 1992
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
Ref. ML 105.N38 1995

[edit] Music Bibliographies

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography
Ref. ML 113.D83 1997. Also known as 'Duckles.'

[edit] Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Auburn user ID and password.

Music Index Online
Indexes music periodicals from 1975 to the present.
Music Index--ML 118 .M84
Indexes music periodicals from 1949 to 1999.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature-- ML 118 .I58
Indexes and abstracts international scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. 1967-1994
ERIC
Indexes documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Education Research Complete
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citations for journals in education.
PsycARTICLES
Provides fulltext articles in psychology.
PsycINFO
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology.
Academic Search Premier
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citations for journals in nearly every academic field, including music.
InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citations for journals in nearly every academic field, including music.
CPANDA: Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive
An archive of data on the arts and cultural policy in the U.S., available for research and statistical analysis, with data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture.
Ingenta
Provides articles from academic journals not owned by AU Libraries.
Dissertations & Theses
Includes citations and abstracts for dissertations from 1861 to the present. Need help finding a dissertation or thesis? Try Locating Dissertations and Theses.
WorldCat
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes books, scores, recordings, and electronic resources. Useful for identifying sources not held by Auburn University Libraries.
Web of Science
Formerly known as the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, this database provides access to bibliographic information and cited references from arts and humanities journals.
Naxos Music Library
A streaming database of classical, jazz, and world music from the Naxos recording catalogue.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
A streaming database of jazz from the Naxos Jazz and Fantasy Jazz labels.

[edit] Journals

Selected Electronic Music Journals at AU Libraries
[There is also a comprehensive list of E-journals at AU Libraries; this E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just music.]
Selected Paper Music Journals at AU Libraries
These are selected titles to which the RBD Library is currently subscribing. Call numbers are included.

[edit] Research Guides

[edit] General

Library Materials for Distance Education Students
Locating Dissertations and Theses
Finding Music and Sound Recordings in AubieCat
Music at the Library
Services available to faculty, staff, and students at Auburn Libraries.
Program Notes
Music Copyright
Sheet Music on the Web

[edit] Vocal Music

Musical Theatre Resources
Resources for Singers

[edit] Music Theory

Musical Analysis and Music Theory
Online Theory Exercises

[edit] AU Department Pages

Auburn University Department of Music
Music Education
Music Distance Education

If you have any comments about this page, please contact:
weisbel@auburn.edu