Nursing

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist - Jean Liddell

Contact Information


liddeje@auburn.edu[1]

334/844-1797

RBD Library, 2nd Floor, North Annex


Office Hours by appointment

Reference Desk:

Mon 5-9 PM
Tues 1-3 PM
Wed 9-11 AM
Thurs 1-3 PM

[edit] Databases

CINAHL

Authoritative coverage of the literature for nursing and allied health fields including from 1982 - Present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over 1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Includes an electronic version of Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides over 7,000 reports, in every-day language, describing symptoms, treatments, risks and after-effects of a vast array of medical topics and conditions.

Current Contents: Medical Edition

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present.

MEDLINE

Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present.

PsycArticles

A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals. 1985 - Present.

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. 1887 - Present.

SPORTDiscus

Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. 1949 - Present.

PubMed

Provides free access to MEDLINE. Linkages to publishers' sites for full-text journals. Approximately 250 journals available, some by subscription only. Clinical query form with built-in search filters for diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prognosis.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 - Present.

[edit] Reference Tools

Cecil Textbook of Medicine - Desk Ref. RC 46 .C423 2004
Connections: Nursing Research, Theory and Practice - Ref. RT 81.5 .Y68 2001
Dictionary of Nursing - Ref. RT 21 .D538 2003
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary - Desk Ref R 121 .D73 2000 & Vet Med Lib 2003
Legal and Ethical Issues - Ref RT 85 .K55 2000
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - Desk Ref RC 55 .M4 1999 & electronic
PDR [Physicians Desk Reference] Nurse's Drug Handbook - Desk Ref. RM 125 .P377 2002
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook - Ref RM 300 .N79 1999
MEDLINEplus Medical Dictionary

[edit] Journals

Nursing Journals
Abbreviations for Medical Journals (PubMed Service -Journals Databases

[edit] Associations, Organizations and Societies

American Association of Colleges of Nursing
“AACN [fosters] quality preparation of clinicians, research scientists, educators, administrators, consultants, and policymakers for leadership and health promotion…”
American Association of Critical Care Nursing
AACN promotes the health and welfare "by advancing the art and science of critical care nursing and promoting environments that facilitate professional nursing practice.”
American College of Nurse Practitioners
“The ACNP is focused on advocacy and keeping NPs current on legislative, regulatory and clinical practice issues that effect NPs in the rapidly changing health care arena.”
American Nurses Association
...the ANA is the strongest voice for the nursing profession with its headquarters in Washington, DC.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
The NCSBN provides an organization for boards of nursing counsel together on matters affecting the public health, safety and welfare, and develop licensing examinations.
National Institute of Nursing Research
The NINR supports research for the care of individuals across the life span: managing patients during illness, promoting healthy lifestyles, and promoting quality of life in those with chronic illness.
National League for Nursing
NLN's purpose is to advance quality nursing education that prepares the nurses for the diverse population in an ever-changing health care environment.”

[edit] Web Sites

CDC Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Prevention
“The Division of STD Prevention… provides national leadership through research, policy development, and support of effective services..."
Combined Health Information Database
CHID provides an index to public health information published by the US Government
Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
“GLMA’s focus is to increase the visibility of the specific health concerns of LGBT patients and offer programs and services that we are in a unique position to provide.”
HealthWeb Nursing
A collection of useful nursing sources from the Taubman Medical Library, the School of Nursing at the University of Michigan, and the HealthWeb project
MEDLINEplus
National Library of Medicine's information pages with information for health questions. Choose Drug Information, Encyclopedia, Dictionary, News or Other Resources
National Guideline Clearinghouse
“The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC™), a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.”
National Women's Health Information
“This website [was] created to provide FREE, reliable health information for women everywhere” with topic areas like heart disease, disabilities and pregnancy.”
PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The WHO is the United Nations specialized agency for health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.

[edit] School of Nursing

AND Program
AND is designed to enable students with degrees in other fields to complete the Professional Nursing curriculum in four consecutive semesters of full-time study.
Professional Program
The basic professional nursing curriculum provides undergraduate education for students wishing to prepare for a career as a professional nurse; ending with a BSN.
MSN Program
Graduates will possess advanced knowledge of educational principles for diverse populations and the roles of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in adult health, gerontology, or pediatrics.