Nutrition
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Library Specialist - Jean Liddell
| Contact Information
334/844-1797 RBD Library, 2nd Floor, North Annex
|
Reference Desk Hours:
|
[edit] War on Hunger
[edit] Databasses
- Agricola
- National Agriculture Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters, agriculture extension bulletins, et cetera. 1970 - Present.
- CAB Abstracts
- CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present
- CINAHL
- Authoritative coverage of the literature for nursing and allied health fields including from 1982 - Present.
- Current Contents: Science Edition
- Provides access to indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials for Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences (AGRI), Clinical Medicine (CLIN), Engineering, Technology & Applied Sciences (TECH), Life Sciences (LIFE), and Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences (PHYS).
- Expanded Academic ASAP (INFOTRAC)
- Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 - Present.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health-related literature. 1970 - Present
- Medline
- Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present.
- PubMed
- Provides free access to MEDLINE. Linkages to publishers' sites for full-text journals. Approximately 250 journals available, some by subscription only. Clinical query form with built-in search filters for diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prognosis.
- SPORTDiscus
- Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. 1949 - Present
[edit] Reference Tools
- Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology 7th ed.-- Ref TX 349 .B4 1999
- CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition -- Ref. QP141 B523 1998
- The Cambridge world history of food -- Ref TX 353 .C255 2000
- Dictionary of food ingredients -- Ref TX 551 .I26 2001
- Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. 3 vol. San Diego: Academic Press -- Ref QP 141 .E526 1999
- Food chemicals codex -- Ref TP 455 .F66 2003
- Nutrition and diet therapy reference dictionary -- Ref RM 217 .L34 2004
- Nutritive value of foods -- Ref A 1.77:72/2002
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology 4 vol 2nd ed -- Ref. TP368.2 E62 2000
[edit] Journals
- Current Nutrition and Food Science Journals
- Abbreviations for Medical Journal (PubMed Service - Journals Databases)
[edit] Associations, Organizations and Societies
- American Dietetic Association (ADA)
- With nearly 65,000 members, the ADA is the nation's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
- American Society for Nutrition (ASCN)
- With 3500+ members ASCN is the premier research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
- The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Serving both developed and developing countries, FAO acts as a neutral forum where all nations meet as equals to negotiate agreements and debate policy.
- Institute of Food Science & Technology
- IFST is the independent incorporated professional qualifying body for food scientists and technologists. Its purposes are to advance the standing of food science and technology.
- Institute of Food Technologists
- IFT is a nonprofit scientific society with 27,000 members working in food science, food technology, and related professions in industry, academia and government.
- International Food Information Council (IFIC)
- IFIC's mission is to communicate science-based information on food safety and nutrition to health and nutrition professionals, educators, journalists, government officials and others providing information to consumers.
- International Union of Nutritional Sciences
- The objects of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences are to promote advancement in nutrition science and encourage communication and collaboration among nutrition scientists.
- International Vegetarian Union (IVU)
- The primary purpose is to promote vegetarianism and is governed exclusively by vegetarians.
- Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG)
- The Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public on vegetarianism and the interrelated issues of health, nutrition, ecology, ethics, and world hunger.
- World Health Organization (WHO)
- The WHO is the United Nations specialized agency for health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.
[edit] Web Sites
- FDA
- FDA's job to see that the food we eat is safe and wholesome, the cosmetics we use won't hurt us, the medicines and medical devices we use are safe and effective, and that radiation-emitting products such as microwave ovens won't do us harm.
- Fast Food Facts--Interactive Food Finder
- To help you make fast food choices and be an informed consumer, Fast Food Facts includes the calorie, fat, sodium and cholesterol counts of menu items from popular fast food restaurants, based on the companies' own nutritional analyses.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center
- FNIC's web site provides a directory to credible, accurate, and practical resources for consumers, nutrition and health professionals, educators and government personnel. Visitors can find printable format educational materials, government reports, research papers and more.
- Foodsafe Program
- A database of UC Davis and Cooperative Extension faculty whose work specializes in specific food safety areas.
- Food Safety Research
- A broad range of topic areas in food safety are covered under this section. Most links are PDF documents, and may require the user to install Adobe Acrobat Reader on their computer.
- Functional Foods for Health
- FFH is a program of the University of Illinois and is dedicated to the multi-disciplinary research, education and communication focused on the identification of safe and efficacious foods and other physiologically active natural products which may reduce chronic disease risk or promote optimal health.
- Nutrition Analysis Tool
- The Nutrition Analysis Tool (NAT) is a web based program that allows anyone to analyze the foods they eat for various different nutrients.
- Nutrition Links
- The purpose of this page is to provide links to various sites that focus on nutrition and nutrition-related areas.
- USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory
- USDA NDL presents authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods available in the United States.