Patents & Trademarks

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Auburn University Libraries Patents & Trademarks


The patent databases listed below complement the services offered by Auburn University, a Patent and Trademark Depository Library.


Contents

[edit] Major Patent Databases

U.S. Patents http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html

The United States Patent Office Database.

The European Patent Database http://ep.espacenet.com/

Information about European and world patents.

Patent Abstracts of Japan Database http://www.ipdl.inpit.go.jp/homepg_e.ipdl

Bibliographic Index to recent Japanese patents.

World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Cooperation Treaty PatentScope Portal http://www.wipo.int/pctdb/en/search-adv.jsp

Archive of the most recent years of International patents.

Google Patents http://www.google.com/patents/

Beta database of full-images of all available US Patents.

Boliven Patents http://www.boliven.com

Patent searching of international patents available for free.

DEPATISnet http://depatisnet.dpma.de/DepatisNet/

Basically the same data as the Esp@cenet database, only results are displayed in a spreadsheet. Languages are German and English.

FreePatentsOnline http://www.freepatentsonline.com/

US patents available for free, but added features require registration, and some features cost. In the premium service searching patents by chemical structure is supported.

Patent Lens http://www.patentlens.com/

Searches patent family trees.

[edit] Other Patent Databases

Patents at the British Library http://www.bl.uk/collections/patents.html

Links to global information sources on patents.

United States Patent Office Electronic Official Gazette http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/patog/

The Electronic version of the Official Gazette.

Delphion Intellectual Property Network http://www.delphion.com/

Bibliographic database that includes front pages and full-images of US, World Intellectual Property Organization, Japanese Patent Office and European Patent Office patents.

MicroPatent Web Services http://www.micropat.com/static/index.htm

Requires registration. Provides most recent patents by keyword or classification, and older patents by patent number.

Plant Variety Protection Office Public Access Databases http://www.ams.usda.gov/science/PVPO/CertificatesDB.htm

The PVP is not a true patent but does protect intellectual property in sexually reproduced plants.

QPAT-U.S. Welcome Page http://www.qpat.com/index.htm

Requires registration. Database extends back to 1974.

Canadian Patents Database http://patents1.ic.gc.ca/intro-e.html

Canadian Patent database from 1989-present.

Pat2PDF http://www.pat2pdf.org/

Commercial patent database that allows users to print the full patent in PDF.

FreePatentsOnline.com http://freepatentsonline.com/search.html

Prints patents in HTML without graphics.

Historic U.S. Patents Index http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/m/mdp/mb?a=listis;c=503653486

Published by the Hathi Trust Digital Library

Wall Street Journal Patent Scorecard http://www.wsj.com

Found under (Market Data/Calendars & Economy)

[edit] Information About Patenting Inventions

How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search: A Step by Step Strategy http://www.uspto.gov/go/ptdl/CBT/

Explains the patent process and prior art searches to inventors.

Invention Promotion Firms http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/products/pro21.shtm

Offers information to inventors on detecting and avoiding fraudulent invention promotion scams.

National Inventor Fraud Center http://www.inventorfraud.com/

An informative site that lists invention promotion firms that are to be avoided.

IP Webguide http://www.epo.org/focus/ip-webguide.html

UK Patent Office http://www.ipo.gov.uk/

World Intellectual Property Organization http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en

[edit] Patent-related Organizations

AIPLA http://www.aipla.org/

American Intellectual Property Law Association

Thomson CompuMark http://www.thomson-thomson.com/jsp/index.jsp

Describes CompuMark's products and services and provides links to further intellectual property resources.

NAPP http://www.napp.org/

National Association of Patent Practitioners

PIUG http://www.piug.org/

Patent Information Users Group

SPI http://www.spi.org/

Software Patent Institute


[edit] Trademarks

USPTO Web Trademark Database http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=login&p_lang=english&p_d=trmk

Listings of USPTO Registered and Pending Trademarks with drawings.


[edit] Copyright

Copyright Office http://www.copyright.gov


[edit] Fun with Patents

invention at play http://www.inventionatplay.org/

USPTO Kid's Pages http://www.uspto.gov/go/kids/

If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: wohrlaj@auburn.edu