Pharmacy

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist - Jean Liddell

Contact Information


liddeje@auburn.edu[1]

334/844-1797

RBD Library, 2nd Floor, North Annex


Office Hours by appointment

Reference Desk:

Mon 11-1 PM
Tues 3-5 PM
Wed 3-5 AM
Thurs 1-3 PM
Fri 12-2 PM

Pharmacy School Hours:

Tues 1-3 PM
Thurs 3-5 PM


[edit] Databases

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 - Present.

MEDLINE

Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present.

CINAHL

Authoritative coverage of the literature for nursing and allied health fields including from 1982 - Present.

Current Contents: Medical Edition

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over 1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Includes an electronic version of Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Provides over 7,000 reports, in every-day language, describing symptoms, treatments, risks and after-effects of a vast array of medical topics and conditions.

PsycArticles

A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals. 1985 - Present.

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. 1887 - Present.

SPORTDiscus

Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. 1949 - Present.

PubMed

Provides free access to MEDLINE. Linkages to publishers' sites for full-text journals. Approximately 250 journals available, some by subscription only. Clinical query form with built-in search filters for diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prognosis.

[edit] Reference Tools

Cecil Textbook of Medicine - Desk Ref. RC 46 .C423 2004
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary - Desk Ref. R 121 .D73 2000
Drug Facts and Comparison - Ref. RS 250 F33 2000
PDR [Physicians Desk Reference - Desk Ref. RS 75 .P5 2007
MEDLINEplus Medical Dictionary

[edit] Journals

Current Pharmacy Journals

Abbreviations for Medical Journals (PubMed Service -Journals Databases)


[edit] Associations, Organizations and Societies

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

The AACP "is the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education and educators."

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists

The AAPS "provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange of knowledge among scientists to enhance their contributions to public health.”

American Pharmaceutical Association

The APhA "the first-established and largest professional association of pharmacists in the United States... providing professional information and education for pharmacists.”

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

The ASPET "...promotes research funding, holds scientific meetings, publishes scientific journals, and provides a number of services to its members.

Drug Information Association

The DIA provides a platform for the exchange and dissemination of information by providing a neutral forum for all participants and offering quality-driven programming.

National Community Pharmacists Association

The NCPA is "the national pharmacy association representing the professional and proprietary interests of independent community pharmacists."

[edit] Web Sites

CDC Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Prevention

“The Division of STD Prevention… provides national leadership through research, policy development, and support of effective services..."

CenterWatch

A Clinical Trials Listing Service organized by disease and geographic region …

Electronic Orange Book: Approved Drug Products

Searchable database which identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the FDA; includes dates of approval and other information about the drug.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Provides information about programs, research areas and links to databases containing information about complementary and alternative medicine.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

“The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC™), a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.”

National Women's Health Information

“This website [was] created to provide FREE, reliable health information for women everywhere” with topic areas like heart disease, disabilities and pregnancy.”

Medi-Lexicon formerly Pharma-Lexicon

A dictionary of over 200,000 medical, pharmaceutical, biomedical & healthcare acronyms and abbreviations.

RxList

A searchable database of names and information, including reactions, to prescription drugs.

Virtual Library Pharmacy

Links to pharmacy information, including a list of pharmacy schools around the world.

PubMed

A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.

[edit] School of Pharmacy

Department of Pharmacy Practice

The Departmetn of Pharmacy Practice is interested in promoting the safe and effective use of medications, with a goal of improving the health of Alabama citizens.

Department of Pharmacy Care Systems

Pharmacy Care Systems is concerned with the socio-behavioral, economic and administrative sciences in pharmacy.

Department of Pharmacal Science

Pharmacal Science promotes research by faculty assisted by our graduate students, benefits mankind.

Drug Information & Learning Resources Center

DILRC provides unbiased, evidence-based drug information to health care professionals throughout the state of Alabama.