Philosophy
From SubjectGuides
|
Contents |
[edit] Reference Tools
Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection (near the Reference Desk -- 2nd floor, RBD Library) or in the general collection. (Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.)
[edit] Print Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- The Encyclopedia of Philosophy (8 vols.)
- Reference Collection: B 41 .E5 1972
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Supplement (1 vol.)
- Reference Collection: B 41 .E5 1996
- The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 51 .C58 2005
- Encyclopedia of Ethics (3 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BJ 63 .E45 2001
- Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (4 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BJ 63 .E44 1998
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 vols.)
- Reference Collection QH 332 .EH2 1995
- Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics (13 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 31 .E4
- International Encyclopedia of Ethics
- Reference Collection: BJ 63 .I55 1995
- World Philosophy: Essay-reviews of 225 Major Works (5 vols.; ed. Magill)
- 2nd Floor: B 21 .W6 1982
- The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
- 2nd Floor: B 791 .E35 1999
- Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
- 2nd Floor: B 163 .E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (4 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BH 56 .E53 1998
- Hypatia’s Daughters: Fifteen Hundred Years of Women Philosophers
- 2nd Floor: B 105 .W6 H97 1996
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 41. C35 1999
- Greek Philosophical Terms: A Historical Lexicon
- 2nd Floor: B 49 .P4
[edit] Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
[edit] Library of Congress Subject Profile
Call number ranges for browsing.
- Philosophy (General) B 1-5802
- Ancient Philosophy (600 BC – 430 AD) B 108-708
- Medieval Philosophy (430 AD–1450 AD) B 720-765
- Renaissance Philosophy B 770-785
- Modern Philosophy (1450 AD – present) B 790-5802
- Logic BC 1-199
- Speculative philosophy BD 10-701
- Metaphysics BD 95-131
- Epistemology. Theory of knowledge BD 143-237
- Speculative philosophy -- Methodology BD 240-260
- Ontology (including being, the soul, life, death) BD 300-450
- Cosmology (including teleology, space and time, structure of matter, plurality of worlds) BD 493-701
- Aesthetics BH 1-301
- Ethics BJ 1-1725
[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles
All databases are available both on and off-campus unless otherwise noted. To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID (i.e., the first part of your AU email address), and your password.
[edit] Subject Databases
- Philosopher's Index
- The premier international bibliographic resource in philosophy. Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Click here for a list of journals indexed by this database.
- Coverage: 1940-present Scope: 570 journals/43 countries.
- Business Source Premier
- Indexes several journals and books that focus on business ethics, including Journal of Business Ethics, Business Ethics Quarterly, Business Ethics: A European Review, Ethics of Competition (Book), Ethics and the Future of Capitalism- Praxiology (Book), Business & Professional Ethics Journal, Business Students Focus on Ethics-Praxiology (Book), Companion to Business Ethics (Book), Employee Responsibilities & Rights Journal, Social Choice & Welfare.
- Coverage: 1985-present
- MEDLINE
- The premier bibliographic resource for biomedical literature. Includes coverage of the humanities as they relate to medicine and health care. You may limit your search to journals in bioethics.
- Coverage: 1966-present
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Indexes over 630 scholarly journals, covering articles, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason. You may limit your search to the subject areas of philosophy and religion.
- Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans
- Covers American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century. This database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period. Browsable subject categories include religion and philosophy.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Indexes critical scholarship in philosophy as it relates to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.
- Coverage: 1963-present
[edit] General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 scholarly journals. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- Coverage: 1975-present
- Academic OneFile
- A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Coverage: 1980-present
- JSTOR
- A full-text database covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR provides access to the back files of hundreds of scholarly periodicals, starting with the first issues. Supports full-text and cross-disciplinary searching.Click here for a list of philosophy journals available for browsing:
- Coverage:Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Project Muse
- Provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The collection may be searched collectively or individually. Click here for a list of philosophy journal available for browsing.
- Coverage: 1990-present
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
- The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Over 100,00 titles are available full-text.
[edit] Citation Database
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
[edit] Current Awareness Database
- Ingenta
- A general database of article information taken from over 20,000 journals. Allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. You will need to set up an account first. Call 844-1745 for instructions or see Ingenta Search Guide.
- Document Delivery Ariel address: 131.204.73.106.
- **Available to AU faculty and graduate students only.**
- Coverage: 1988-present
- For other document delivery options, see Request Materials
[edit] Finding Journals in the Library Catalog
Search the AU Library Catalog to see if AU Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access. To search for journal articles, see the "Databases for Finding Journal Articles" section of this guide.
- "Basic Search" in the library catalog: Click on the Basic Search tab. Select "Journal Title" from the "Search By" menu. Type in the name of the journal. Do not include "The" or "A" if either is the first word in the journal title.
- Journal title search on library homepage: You may also use the search box on the library homepage to search for journals. Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu.
Lists of selected journal titles available at AU Libraries
- E-journals at AU Libraries includes all subject areas, not just philosophy. You may select Philosophy and Religion from the subject category pull-down menu.
- Selected list of Philosophy Journals available in paper/print format. Call Numbers are included. Last updated in 2006.
Still can't find the journal in the AU Library Catalog for the year(s) you need? In most cases, you can obtain a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan. See Delivery Services for more information.
[edit] Web Sites
[edit] Philosophy Portals
- Noesis: Philosophical Research On-line
- "... a limited area search engine for open access, academic philosophy on the Internet" (website). Funded by the Digital Humanities Initiative of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
[edit] Ethics Websites
- Ethics Updates
- A subject guide to resources in ethics. Topics listed under Ethical Theory include: ethical relativism, utilitarianism, contemporary anti-theory, race, ethnicity and moral theory, rights theories, gender and moral theory, Kant and deontology, and Aristotle and virtue ethics. The Applied Ethics section addresses abortion, reproductive technologies, euthanasia, punishment and the death penalty, race and ethnicity, gender and sexism, poverty and welfare, animal rights, and environmental ethics.
[edit] Digital Collections
- Digital Text Projects
- A collection of full-text primary sources in the areas of philosophy and classical studies.
- The Online Books Page (University of Pennsylvania Library)
- Searchable by title or author. Or browse by subject.
- Electronic Texts (maintained by EpistemeLinks.com)
- Searchable by philosopher name, topic area, or title keyword.
- The Perseus Digital Library
- A digital library of ancient Greece and Rome (and much more). Includes primary texts in ancient philosophy, as well as Greek and Latin lexicons.
[edit] Associations and Societies
- Auburn Philosophical Society
- See web site for current schedule of speakers and topics.
- Alabama Philosophical Society
- Includes a list of upcoming events in the Alabama area.
- Philosophy Organizations (Episteme.com list)
- Search by name, topic, or philosopher.
[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups
- Online Philosophy Discussions (EpistemeLinks.com list)
- Arranged by subject area and philosopher name
- Ask a Philosopher
- Panelists include professional philosophers
[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages
AU Philosophy Department Homepage
- Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387