Physics Subject Guide
From SubjectGuides
NEW Physics books received this month NEW
Need help? Contact Andrew Wohrley the Subject Specialist Librarian for physics.
Contents |
[edit] Databases
- On-campus and off-campus access to databases is available to Auburn University students, faculty, and staff. For off-campus access, use your Auburn User ID and password.
[edit] Physics
- Inspec http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC
- Abstracts for journals and conference proceedings in physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science, and information technology since 1968.
- Scitation http://scitation.aip.org/
- Search over one hundred AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, and SPIE journals from 1957. Can also search the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database at the same time.
- ArXiv.org http://arxiv.org/
- Preprints server for physics, mathematics, non-linear science, and computer science.
[edit] Other Sciences
- Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE
- Abstracts from engineering journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings since 1970.
- Gmelin http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BSTEINBeilstein & Gmelin Installation
- The most complete collection of structures, property data, and literature references for 2.5 million inorganic and organometallic compounds. See Beilstein & Gmelin Installation to download software needed to run Gmelin. Off-campus and AU Wireless use requires a VPN connection.
- GrayLit Network http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
- Technical reports from U.S. Government Agencies such as Defense, Energy, EPA and NASA.
- Materials Science http://www.lib.auburn.edu/MSC
- Includes METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. Since 1985.
- SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts [1]
- Covers a broad spectrum of the chemistry-related topics, including physical chemistry and spectroscopy, back to 1907. See SciFinder Scholar Getting Started. Started to download software needed to run this database. Off-campus and AU Wireless use requires a VPN connection.
- Science.gov http://www.science.gov
- U.S. government portal for government-supported research.
[edit] Citation Databases
- These databases allow you to find articles that cite a particular article.
- Science Citation Index http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI
- Find journal articles in over 5,700 major science and technology journals that have cited a particular reference since 1945. Large multidisciplinary database includes over 150 scientific disciplines. Covers about 500 chemistry-related journals. Also known as Web of Science.
- SciFinder Scholar SciFinder Scholar Getting Started
- Find articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents that have cited a particular reference since 1997. Covers about 9,000 chemistry-related journals. See SciFinder Scholar Getting Started to download software needed to run this database. Off-campus and AU Wireless use requires a VPN connection.
- Inspec http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC
- Abstracts for journals and conference proceedings in physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science, and information technology since 1968.
[edit] Dissertation Databases
- AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/AUETD
- Provides access to Auburn University theses and dissertations.
- Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA
- Citations for U.S. dissertations since 1861. Dissertations with 350-word abstracts since 1980. Twenty-four page PDF preview for most dissertations since 1996. Master's theses with 150-word abstracts since 1988.
[edit] Current Awareness
- Current Contents / Science Edition http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE
- Browse the table of contents of research journals or keyword search article titles and abstracts. Auburn University faculty and graduate students can contact their library specialist for the special URL needed to set up email notification of new articles.
- Ingenta (Formerly UnCover) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA
- Many articles not owned by AU Libraries can be downloaded by or faxed to AU faculty, graduate students and staff (you must first create an account).
[edit] Finding Journals in the Library Catalog
- Search the Auburn University library cataloag to see if Auburn Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access.
- Journal Abbreviation search in "Basic Search" Type the journal abbreviation in the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage. This works for many, but not all journal abbreviations. If this does not find the journal, you must try method 2 or 4 below before concluding that AU Libraires does not have the journal.
- Journal Title search in "Basic Search" Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By " in a "Basic Search". Type in the unabbreviated name of the journal. Do not include "The" or "A" if these are the first word in the journal title. It may not be necessary to type in the entire title because this search automatically right truncates. For example "chemistry a" will find the record for Chemistry: A European Journal, along with 2 other journal titles. See Mystery Citations (below) to figure out what is the unabbreviated name of a journal.
- Title search in "Keyword Search" Select "Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By" in a "Keyword Search". Type in full words from the journal title or partial words ended with a question mark, such as chem?. This type of search usually finds more titles than just the desired journal. For example, "chemistry european" finds 39 titles, while "chem? eur?" finds 94 titles. Both searches find the desired Chemistry: A European Journal.
- ISSN Number search in "Keyword Search" Every journal is assigned a unique 8-digit number of the form xxxx-xxxx. In a "Keyword Search" select "ISSN" from the pull-down menu for "Search By". Type in the ISSN Number.
- Still can't find the journal in AubieCat for the year(s) you need?
- In most cases, you can get a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan, Ingenta, or the Linda Hall Library. See Delivery Services for more information.
[edit] Lists of journal titles available at AU Libraries
- E-journals at AU Libraries includes all subject areas, not just physics.
- Selected list of physics journals. Last updated in 2001.
- Note: If you don't see a journal you need on these two lists, AU Libraries may still have it. Check the Auburn University library catalog.
[edit] Mystery Citations
- Is there something wrong with your reference? Did Interlibrary Loan return your request because the article or book does not seem to exist? If the advice below does solve the problems, contact the physics librarian or Interlibaray Loan for help.
- Having trouble unravelling an unfamiliar abbreviation to the full journal title? To search for a journal in AubieCat, you need either the full name of the journal or its ISSN number (xxxx-xxxx).
[edit] Online Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Medline and National Library of Medicine Abbreviation
- LocatorPlus http://locatorplus.gov/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First Search on part, or all, of the journal abbreviation.
CAS Document Detective Service Title Search
- http://www.cas.org/Support/DDS/ddssearch.html
- Keyword search on journal title words (automatic right truncation on all words). For example Zh Neoorg Khim finds Zhurnal Neorganischeskoi Khimii. But Recl Trav Chim Pays-Bas does not find Recueil des Travaux Chimique des Pays-Bas
JAKE http://www.lib.auburn.edu/jake.html
- Search on part, or all, of the journal abbreviation (automatic right truncation on all words). Only covers journals that appear in database aggregators.
[edit] Print Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) Ref Desk QD 1 .C473
- This is the best resource to convert abbreviations into full titles. Contains most journals, conference proceedings, and book series indexed by Chemical Abstracts.
Periodical Title Abbreviations: By Title Ref Desk Z 6945 .A2 W34 2001
- Less informative than CASSI, but easier to use.
[edit] Reference Books
Located either on the 2nd floor near the reference desk or on the 4th floor with other books. Larger reference works, such as Beilstein and Gmelin, are usually shelved on the 4th floor.
[edit] Finding Aids
There is a great deal of property data that is summarized in books, such as those listed below. These can be especially helpful if you need data on more than just a single compound. Unless you know which books to look in, it can be a challenge to find them without help. Use the three links below to identify books that contain specific types of physical property and spectral data (i.e. dielectric constant, thermal conductivity, crystal structure, etc.). Then check AubieCat to see if Auburn Libraries has a copy of the book.
- Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data (Arizona State University) http://www.asu.edu/lib/noble/chem/property.htm
- Chemical & Physical Properties in the Library (Duke University) http://www.chem.duke.edu/~chemlib/properties.html
- Thermodex (University of Texas)http://thermodex.lib.utexas.edu/
[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- American Institute of Physics Handbook Ref QC 61 .A5
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Physicists QC 15 .B56 1984
- Encyclopedia of Acoustics QC 221.5 .E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics Ref. QC 5 .E543 1991
- Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance  QC 762. E53 1996
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics Ref QC 5 .M424 1997
- PhysicsWeb: Famous Scientists http://physicsweb.org/resources/Reference/Famous_physicists/
[edit] Handbooks and General Reference Books
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref QD 65 .H3
- Handbook of Physical Quantities Ref QC 61 .H36 1997
- Information Sources in Physics Ref QC 21.2 .I535 1994
- VNR Index of Chemical and Physical Data Ref QC 61 .J36 1992
- Thermophysical Properties of Matter QC 173.397 .P87 1970
- Physical Reference Data http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/contents.html
[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers
- Call number ranges for browsing. Also search the library catalog for more books and subjects.
Call Number Subject QB 1-999 Astronomy QB 460-465 Astrophysics QB 520-540 Sun (Solar Physics, etc.) QC 1-999 Physics QC 170-197 Atomic Physics QC 176-177 Solid State Physics QC 220-246 Acoustics, Sound QC 251-338 Heat QC 350-467 Optics, Light QC 450-454 Spectroscopy QC 474-496 Radiation Physics (General) QC 501-766 Electricity and Magnetism QC 717.5-718.8 Plasma Physics QC 770-798 Nuclear and Partical Physics QC 801-809 Geophysics, Cosmic Physics QC 811-849 Geomagnetism QC 851-999 Meteorology, Climatology TK 7800-8360 Electronics TK 7867-7871 Electronic Circuits TK 7871.85-7874.5 Semiconductors, Microelectronics
[edit] Websites
[edit] Miscellaneous Physics Web Sites
How Things Work http://howthingswork.virginia.edu A guide to the physics behind common items.
National Geophysical Data Center http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov NGDC contains comprehensive databases in geology, glaciology, meteorology and geophysics.
NIST Chemistry WebBook http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry Look here first. Physical property data, IR spectra, and mass spectra on 40,000 compounds. Includes references to the original literature. Search by name or formula.
NIST Homepage http://nist.gov The National Institute of Science and Technology website points to chemistry resources and databases, many of which are free to the public.
NSSDC http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov National Space Science Data Center contains the results of NASA's research.
Periodic Table of Elements http://www.periodic.lanl.gov Clickable table made available by the Los Alamos National Laboratory.
Physical Law List http://www.alcyone.com/max/physics/laws/index.html
Superstring Theory Website http://www.superstringtheory.com
Table of the Nuclides http://atom.kaeri.re.kr/ton Chart of nuclides with critical atomic data.
[edit] Societies & Associations
AAS American Astronomical Society http://www.aas.org
AGU American Geophysical Union http://www.agu.org
AIP American Institute of Physics http://www.aip.org
ANS American Nuclear Society http://www.ans.org
APS American Physical Society http://www.aps.org
ASA Acoustical Society of America http://asa.aip.org
DOE Department of Energy http://www.energy.gov
EPS European Physical Society http://www.eps.org
IOP Institute of Physics http://www.iop.org
IAE International Atomic Energy Agency http://www.iaea.org NIST http://physics.nist.gov/lab.html National Institute of Standards and Technology Physics Laboratory
OSA Optical Society of America http://www.osa.org
Questions or comments?
- Andrew Wohrley
- wohrlaj@auburn.edu
- Updated October 2, 2008