Plant Pathology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
Reference Department



[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Gardening Ref SB 450.95 D 53 1992
Dictionary of Plant Pathology Ref SB 728 H 65 1998
Dictionary of Plant Virology Ref QR 351 B 64 1991
Elsevier's Dictionary of Horticultural and Agricultural Plant Production:In Ten Languages, English, Dutch, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Italian,Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin Ref SB 45 E 42 1990
Encyclopedia of Plant Physiology QK 711.2 E 5
Glossary of Crop Science Terms Ref SB 45 G 57 1992
Multilingual Dictionary of Agronomic Plants Ref SB45.5 M 85 1994


Handbooks and General Reference

European Handbook of Plant Diseases Ref SB 655 E97 1988
Fungi on Plants and Plant Products in the United States RefSB 733 F 86 1989
Index of Garden Plants Ref SB 407 G 75 1994
Handbook of Plant Virus Diseases SB 736 S 836 1999
Organic Gardener's Handbook of Natural Insect and Disease Control: aComplete Problem-Solving Guide to Keeping your Garden & Yard Healthywithout Chemicals SB 974 O 72
Pesticide Manual: a World Compendium: Incorporating the AgrochemicalsHandbook Ref SB 951 P 434 1994
Pests of Landscape Trees and Shrubs: An Integrated Pest Management Guide SB763 C 2 .D 74 1994
Plant Diseases of International Importance SB 731P 67 1992
Tree Diseases and Disorders Ref SB 764 E 85 B 87131995


Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
QK Botany.
SB Plant Culture.
SB 599 - SB 989 Pests and Diseases.
SB 610 - SB 615 Weeds, Parasitic Plants, etc.
SB 621 - SB 795 Plant Pathology.
SB 950 - SB 989 Pest Control and Treatment of Diseases.
TP 963 Manufacture, Fertilizers.


Top of page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

Agricola

National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1979 - Present Public access (For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)

CABAbstracts

CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present For researching plant pathology literature before 1973, consult Helminthological Abstracts. Series B, Plant Nematology SB 998 N 4 .H 45, Review of Applied Mycology SB 599 R 4.)

Biological Abstracts

Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present (For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)

Medline(from OVID)

Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research,clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present Public access, OLDMEDLINE (1958-1965) (For researching medical literature from 1941-1959, consult Current List of Medical Literature Z 6660 C 8.)

Chemical Abstracts

Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus. (For researching chemical literature from 1907-1966, consult Chemical Abstracts QD 1 A 51.)

Environmental Sciences

Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967. For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.


General Databases

Academic Search Fulltext Elite

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded AcademicASAP

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 - Present.

Dissertation Abstracts

1861 - Present. The most current two years are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 - Present.

Reveal

An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicals or results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.

Ingenta Uncover Plus

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.


Citation Database

Science Citation Index

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1984 - Present. (For researching citation literature from 1961-1983, consult Science Citation Index Ref Q 1 S 3693.)


Top of page


[edit] Journals

List of Current Print Plant Pathology Journals


E-journalsat AU Libraries

This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Plant Pathology.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

To search for articles, see the Indexes and Databases section of this guide


Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

All the virology on the WWW

Comprehensive site which includes plant viruses

Biological Control Virtual Information Center

The Biological Control Virtual Information Center is part of the NationalIPM Network and is maintained by the NSF Center for Integrated Pest Managementand the Consortium for International Crop Protection

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service

CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.

Crop-net

Feature stories from CPM, the online magazine of crop protection

PAN Pesticide Database

The PAN Pesticide Database is the largest and most comprehensive online collection of pesticide data in the world, providing detailed information (at no cost to the user) for about 5,400 pesticide active ingredients, breakdown products, and related chemicals.

The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book

The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book is a subject oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology, and all related fields

Plant Viruses Online

Australian Center for International Agricultural Research

Texas Plant Diseases Handbook

Plant Pathology Guide

Web-agri.com

An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages


Top of page


[edit] Research Guides

Guide to Information Sources in Botanical Sciences RefQK 45.2 D 38 1996

Reference Sources in Science, Engineering, Medicine, and Agriculture RefQ 158.5 M 278


Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

APSnet (American Phytopathological Society)
BSPP (British Society for Plant Pathology)
ISMPMIne (International Society for Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions)


Top of page


[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University

Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.


Subject Specific

Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
BIOSCI/bionet Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology


Top of page


[edit] AuburnUniversity Department and Course Pages

Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology
Biological Control Institute


Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Plant Pathology


Top of page


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: Claudine Jenda