Polymer and Fiber Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Andrew Wohrley:

wohrlaj@auburn.edu

334-844-1768

[edit] Reference Tools

[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Complete Textile Encyclopaedia TS1309 .B37

Encyclopedia of Textiles Ref TS 1309 J 47 1992

Encyclopedia of Textiles, Fibers, and Nonwoven Fabrics TS1309 .E53 1984

Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles Ref. TS 1309 F 34 1996

Modern Textile and Apparel Dictionary TS 1309 L 743 1973

Handbooks and General Reference Books

AATCC Technical Manual Ref. TP 890 .A5 [workstation]

British Textile Machinery Association Directory: Members and their Products TS 1525 .B7

Handbook of Textile Processing Chemicals TS 1510 .A8 2001

INDA Standard Test Methods TS 1828 .I537

Lockwood-Post's Directory of the Pulp, Paper, and Allied Trades Ref TS 1088 .L83

Wellington Sears Handbook of Industrial Textiles Ref TS 1770 .I53 1995

World Fibres Book TS 1312 L 46



[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
HA 29-HA 40.I6 Statistics, Industrial Statistical Data
HD 9850-HD 9969 Economic History - Textile Industry
HF 5415 Marketing
HF 5549 Personnel Management
HF 5686.T4 Accounting - Textile Industry
QA 76-QA 76.8 Computer Science
QC 494-QC 496 Color
QD 320- QD 327 Organic Chemistry - Carbohydrates and Starches
QD 380- QD 388 Polymers - Organic Chemistry
SB 241- SB 261 Textile and Fiber Plants
T57-T 60 Industrial Engineering - Applied Mathematics
TA 174 (CAD) Engineering Design
TA 401 - TA 418.9 Materials of Engineering and Construction
TD 899.T4 Textile Waste Treatment
TH 2449 Construction - Textile Roofing
TJ 212-TJ 225 Control Engineering - Automatic Control Systems
TK 4035.T4 Electrical Engineering - Textile Factories
TP 156.P6 Polymerization
TP 267 Fireproofing of Fabrics
TP 890-TP 932.5 Textile Bleaching, Dyeing, Printing
TP 1180 Polymer Manufacture Special Plastics
TS 156-TS 157 Process Control, Quality Control, Barcoding
TS 1300-TS 1865 Textile Industries
TT 490-TT 695 Clothing Manufacture, Garment Industry
TT 697-TT 910 Home Arts, Textile Arts and Crafts


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.


[edit] Subject Databases

Chemical Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCIFI

(Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus.)

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

Materials Science http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

(Includes METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)

Textile Technology Digest http://www.lib.auburn.edu/TEXTILE

Textile Technology Digest is only available on workstations behind the main Library's second floor reference desk.

[edit] General Databases

Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/

1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Science.gov http://www.science.gov/

Comprehensive list of US government index to research publications.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present

[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide.

Lists of journal titles:

Selected electronic Organic Chemistry journals at AU Libraries [There is also a comprehensive list of E-journals at AU Libraries; this E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Textile Engineering.]

Selected paper Polymer & Fiber Engineering Journals at AU Libraries [These are selected titles that we are currently subscribing to in paper format in the library; call numbers are included.]

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

[edit] Associations and Societies

AATCC http://www.aatcc.org/

American Textile Manufacturers Institute http://www.atmi.org/

Carpet and Rug Institute http://www.carpet-rug.com/

Cotton Inc. http://www.cottoninc.com/

The Fiber Society http://fs.tx.ncsu.edu/

INDA http://www.inda.org/

Industrial Fabrics Association International http://www.ifai.org

International Cotton Advisory Committee http://www.icac.org/

Institute of Textile Technology http://www.itt.edu/



[edit] Web Sites

National Textile Center http://www.ntcresearch.org/

OTEXA http://otexa.ita.doc.gov/

Scirus http://www.scirus.com/



[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Department of Polymer & Fiber Engineering

http://eng.auburn.edu/programs/pfen/index.html


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: wohrlaj@auburn.edu

Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849

Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387